Rambo (Rambo IV) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rambo (Rambo IV) Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
January 24, 2013
Stallone uses his iconic character here to explore the necessary evils of violence through a brutal pop lens.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Sly may be a crass tyrannosaurus, but he's not a fake
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
August 3, 2009
Light on plot, heavy on violence - Rambo isn't for everyone, however I think it perfectly appeals to the video game crowd.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
October 1, 2008
Straightforward wish fulfillment -- imagine what crimes against humanity we could punish if we had real, indestructible Rambos.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
July 22, 2008
It's not the perfect Rambo film I was hoping for, but it was a pretty entertaining one.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
June 14, 2008
Now we are no longer observing the icon... we are the icon.
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times
May 20, 2008
I know my credibility could take a hit here, but I am man enough to admit that I enjoyed watching Rambo once again don his famous headband and shoot enemies with his trusty bow and arrow.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Mike Sage
Peterborough This Week
April 15, 2008
Luckily, Rambo's years away from war haven't dulled his ability to rip out a man's throat with his bare hands.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
April 9, 2008
'Rambo' is pure adrenaline, a frenzied rush into the heart of a jungle where the prevailing darkness is far more horrific than anything Kurtz could have imagined.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
March 21, 2008
However you parse the character's evolution, Rambo the film shows a peculiar understanding of changes in the industry.
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
February 28, 2008
While Rambo is certainly not for everyone, it succeeds at being exactly what it sets out to be %u2014 a nostalgic, actionpacked, gore-splattered ode to the antihero of a bygone era.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10

The Sun (UK)
February 22, 2008
Makes First Blood look like Bambi.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
February 12, 2008
A neat little farewell to a very silly action hero.
February 10, 2008
An old man and his knife, sweet
| Original Score: 3/4
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
February 4, 2008
Those going in knowing what to expect will likely welcome this send-off
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
February 1, 2008
Like America, it's both excited by and ashamed of its bloodlust.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Victoria Alexander
FilmsInReview.com
January 30, 2008
After lying low for 20 years, Rambo massacres 1000 men. Best sequel of the series. I'm looking forward to Rambo V.
Full Review
Pete Vonder Haar
Film Threat
January 29, 2008
Watching Rambo and Sarah on screen together, one is reminded less of Rick and Ilsa and more of Kong and Ann Darrow.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 8