Johnny Mad Dog - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Johnny Mad Dog Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 1, 2015
This is a drama war movie and it seemed pretty interesting at first when i read about it. But when i watched the flick i felt it kinda pointless time to time. The story follows basically a bunch of kids/teenagers and they fights a war somewhere in Africa. Not much of a development in the story aswell as the characters i thought. The main focus of this movie is to show child soldiers brutal life / acting to sum it up. Anyway i liked the powerful movie City of God alot more but thats my opinion and they are very similar movies in a way.
January 26, 2014
Dramatization of African Politics turns this in to a basic popcorn drama.

25/01/2014
May 25, 2013
Orrible kids on the rampage, doing horrible things that include killing and rape. Very real grim stuff. During the movie i was trying to guess which country this was set in and guess Liberia
October 7, 2012
Very powerful and sad movie about child soldiers in Liberia during a war. This movie was really filmed in war torn Liberia so it had the look and feel of a bloody tribal war.
½ September 9, 2012
I'm not at all sure how to give this film a star rating. I think it fits into the 'one-timer' category. It's an important piece of work that I admire and appreciate, but I certainly don't want to see it again.

Brutal and kinetic from the opening seconds, it follows a platoon of mostly child soldiers in an unnamed West African state as they maraude through the countryside, villages and take on the capital in their bid to... well, that's never really understood.

The cast seem to be mainly 'non-actors' and their natural performances are all the more chilling as they brutalise, rape, humiliate and murder virtually everyone they come across. Screaming savage chants it's as though they have been drugged, and all vestiges of their previous childhood have been excised from their souls.

Swarming down shattered streets in all manner of looted and pillaged costumes, jewellery and adornments (but with automatic weapons almost as big as they are) they look like a twisted bunch of trick or treaters.

There's no easy ending here, no hint of redemption or hope for anyone. Everyone is dehumanised, broken and left to scavenge for their life. The UN are virtually absent, meekly defending a hospital where they can, but even within refugee camps the atmosphere is scarcely any better than mob rule. It doesn't make any explicit political comment, but surely any human being watching this can only find it shocking and wrong in every way possible.
August 12, 2012
I don't know what to say. I'd have to see it to believe it...
½ June 7, 2012
It's a scramble of destruction and inhumanity, but it shows what state these child soldiers have to get their minds into in order to kill at will. The haphazard way of filming emphasises the reality of war. It's messy, it isn't a clear picture, it is brutal and leaves you trying to catch a breath and catch up with what is happening. The unnamed African country seems to be Liberia, but so easily could be Ivory Coast, Uganda, Congo or similar.
March 25, 2012
Hard movie to digest.
December 5, 2011
It puts you directly in the front lines of destroying our child like innocence and finding redemption.
November 28, 2011
Picture hell and a thousand little Hitlers running about and you have this film.
November 27, 2011
Cuanto dolor en la Tierra... Este filme habla de la tragedia de los ninyos soldado (como otras peliculas que se sumergen en nuestro mundo real de secuestros, torturas, enfermedades incomprensibles, accidentes, hambre, violencia, carcel...), y por eso, por ser necesaria, por ser cuasi-documental y vibrar los corazones con lagrimas autenticas, es una cinco estrellas, y, francamente, no siento que importe mucho el "rating" a nivel estrictamente cinematografico...

El quid de la cuestion en esta en concreto es como todo el mundo es victima: el pueblo que bastante tiene con buscar para comer... pero tambien (y esto el lo importante de esta cinta), estos ninyos atrapados en el "juego-locura" de la guerra, sin escapatoria, sin medios, sin suerte, con mas que una tragedia a sus espaldas y que, maldita sea, tienen el mismo derecho que yo, que escribo esta critica, a la educacion, la salud, en fin...

Un mundo sin sentido? Puede... O puede que no: la pelicula tiene la enorme virtud de sacar la esperanza en una chispa elegante en un final enorme, no con enganyos o manejos edulcorados, sino mostrando la realidad plena de esa esperanza, la de los dos encuentros de los dos protagonistas, la de por que en el primero guardan silencio y el segundo es de palabras... ambos de plena comunicacion humana.
November 13, 2011
A very disturbing film, once again highlighting the wests failure to act when they stand nothing to gain. Johnny Mad Dog is a story of humanity gone insane. An army of child soldiers, more brutal and cold than their grown up counter parts. I don't really understand what the point of the film was, other than to show the depravity and brutality of a rebel army. Not a film for everyone, but all the same it was worth the watch.
½ July 23, 2011
very intense and extremely brutal....a very realistic view on child soldiers..
July 15, 2011
this looks really cool
April 28, 2011
One of the best movies I have ever seen. Period.
½ April 8, 2011
This is one of those films that hits a little to close to home for some people. No one wants to make a documentary about drugged up child soldiers raping and pillaging their way across a country, so for now this film will have to suffice.
The film makes no attempt to spare the viewer from the world in which these characters live, in fact some of the actors were child soldiers themselves.
We all know that west Africa is in effect a total war zone, and if you are in the mood to really see how life for the child soldiers is then this film is what you should watch.
March 31, 2011
"If you don't wanna die.....don't be born".
March 30, 2011
Cannot recommend this enough. Brutal and beautiful all at the same time.
Page 1 of 8