Juarez - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Juarez Reviews

Page 1 of 1
August 5, 2014
awesome historical bio-pic
July 27, 2014
Paul Muni successfully not looking good :D
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ September 11, 2013
Well appointed but lumbering, miscast drama. Bette is fine, all spit and fire but John Garfield, who was embarrassed by his forced casting, is completely out of place as Porfirio Diaz with his New York accent still firmly in place. Paul Muni, a very fine actor in modern dress roles, does what he always does when heavily made up he lets the makeup do the acting for him. A good try but stodgy.
March 2, 2013
Everything was just OK except that I had no interest in the story or the characters.
January 15, 2012
This is a very good film with excellent dialogue and several very memorable scenes. Empress Carlota's fury against Napoleon III's desertion of her husband and Emperor Maximilian's poignant request that the Mexican song "La Paloma" be played at his execution, are two examples.
When I visited the Hofburg Palace in Vienna in 2008, I saw a dinner service made for the Mexican Imperial Family, which was fascinating. Maximilian was something of a dupe and didn't deserve his grisly end in 1867. Empress Carlota lived on in Belgium till 1927, outliving her husband by sixty years.
½ August 26, 2011
A film whose title is Juarez and which main character is Maximilien is not a good movie; sorry, but no. Historically, it's a pretty bad adaptation that doesn't depict either the french intentions with colonizing Mexico or the true spirit mexican people had with supporting Juarez. It's true that Juarez admired Lincoln and they way pretty similar in their politics and way of thinking, but it doesn't seem possible he had a photo of the american president behind his desk, it makes Juarez look as a traitor. The chemistry between Maximilien and Carlota is very cold in the scenes they play together, then when Carlota gets mad, it looks very unconvincing. The character they invented, Alejandro Uradi, was just a useless distractor they could have avoided and use those minutes reinforcing the story. It's clear John Huston didn't feel comfortable writing about a topic he knew too little about. Bette Davis was beautiful but this a very minor role in her career, very supportive role. Paul Muni's makeup is amazing but this is not the Benito Juarez I would have expected, Maximilien was fine but the actor that played him didn't deserve an Oscar nomination, it should have gone to Muni instead. I don't recommend it, I would like to see a modern adaptation about Benito Juarez where he really can have the starring role.
½ April 23, 2011
Meticulously researched, lusciously designed historical drama about the eponymous first Mexican President, the Emperor falsely installed by Napoleon III to keep him out of power, and his wife, Belgian princess 'Carlotta'.

Despite the sky-high production values and the effort to be faithful to the truth (Muni spent 3 hours applying masks & prosthetics to look like Juarez, causing Warner to exclaim: you mean we're paying Muni all that dough and you can't even recognize him??), Juarez is a long, rambling and very incoherent film. Gliding from throne room to council room with few scenes in between, and those oddly disjointed and almost random, it is very static. Fine acting from Muni & Aherne, very fine, but they have little more to do than soliloquise endlessly. Bette Davis is window dressing for much of the film, though she delivers one of the (few) fiery scenes when she confronts Napoleon and goes stark raving mad. Garfield plays one of the most New York sounding Mexicans ever, which is unintentionally hilarious, I'm afraid. Gale Sondergaard has only two scenes, and she's still more memorable than most of the men in the cast, which shows how disjointed the film really is.

Next to Davis' big descent into madness, one other scene, of Juarez confronting his treacherous vice-president, is vivid and memorable, but these two scenes combined only serve to high-light how terribly static the rest of the film is.
½ April 10, 2010
3.5/5.0. A fine film, but it lacks that something extra to make it great. It is notable for the fact that Bette Davis' character is rather subdued, something she is not known for. It's also uncommon to have other stars outshine her - Paul Muni as always is terrific, John Garfield and Claude Rains are great and Brian Aherne turns in the best performance of them all. It starts out better than it finishes. Great production values.
½ April 10, 2010
77/100. A fine film, but it lacks that something extra to make it great. It is notable for the fact that Bette davis' character is rather subdued, something she is not known for. It's also uncommon to have other stars outshine her - Paul Muni as always is terrific, John Garfield and Claude Rains are great and Brian Aherne turns in the best performance of them all. It starts out better than it finishes. Great production values.
March 15, 2010
Well-acted and reasonably factual historical drama not only of Juarez but more so the life and times of Emperor Maximilian and his wife Carlotta. For fans of Mexican history, also watch the portrayal of Porfirio Diaz. Reflects the US political climate and debates of the time, but also captures the difficult political upheavals of Mexico from the time of Juarez through Maximillian's reign and downfall.
August 23, 2009
This movie started out pretty bad, but it got better as it went along. The thing I liked about it most was the fact that you hardly got to know Paul Muni's character and spent more time with Brian Aherne's character. Bette Davis was also good in this film. I thought the movie was good but not the greatest I've ever seen.
August 21, 2009
Bette has a cameo, and the movie suffers.
½ October 28, 2008
this movie is fun only because of bette davis' cameo length slash across the screen in the role of empress carlota of mexico. otherwise, it's a numbing bore of a film. and i'm sure that it does no favor to mexicans depicting a telling moment in their history.
August 29, 2008
One the most historically accurate Hollywood films ever with some acceptable simplifications. Splendid cast and performances as well. Strangely, the film did not seem as good as on my first viewing specially with (Juarez) Paul Muni's wooden acting at times. Still an excellent supporting performance by Claude Rains as Napoleon III, however. Bette Davis (Carlotta) and Brian Aherne (Maximilian) are quite the "doomed by politic powerplays" couple.
½ July 20, 2008
Davis is fab in this. Playing "desdent to her mental breakpoint" very well....not on dvd so I've seen it on VHS...Wdil period of Hystory, HAVE to see it again....Much more if they portray her madness in the Vatican where it actually started...
½ December 8, 2007
This movie kicked ass on so many levels, from Bette Davis going completely freaking insane to watching Maximillian get ruined by Juarez. Highly recommended.
Page 1 of 1