Judy Moody and the NOT Bummer Summer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Judy Moody and the NOT Bummer Summer Reviews

Page 3 of 4
June 10, 2011
Decent without being memorable or funny.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 10, 2011
"Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer" isn't just "Rare!," as its title heroine would say - it's a seriously perfect vacation destination.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 10, 2011
"Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer" is sure to appeal to kids of all ages from 6 to 9 who are female and have no taste or sense of humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
June 9, 2011
Maybe I'm getting too old, but Judy Moody and the NOT Bummer Summer is a movie that I cannot understand how anyone of any age would ever choose to get behind.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 9, 2011
Adults will be hoping for more substance, but they won't get it as the skinny plot devotes all its time to frivolous play and increasingly tired slapstick humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 9, 2011
It's super-awful-crapadelic!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
June 9, 2011
Were parents ever this indulgent? Were guardians ever this permissive? Were childhood summers ever this carefree? No, no and no.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 9, 2011
Though the lead actress, newcomer Jordana Beatty, gives a spunky performance as third-grader Judy, her character's borderline bratty charm wears thin fast. Mostly it's undercut by the movie's irritatingly antic slapstick style.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 9, 2011
I know I probably shouldn't have liked it as much as I did, but I have to admit I enjoyed its colorful, chaotic goofiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 9, 2011
Got a restless preadolescent daughter around the house? An air-conditioned theater and this breathless kaleidoscope of a movie might be the answer.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 9, 2011
Something got sooo totally lost in the translation from page to screen -- like humor and charm.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
June 9, 2011
[A] canned piece of so-called family entertainment, which slathers on the bright colors and peppy eccentricity but fails to capture the books' childlike voice and essential, grumbling charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 9, 2011
For those sighing about why they don't make more movies like last year's Ramona and Beezus, based on the book series by Beverly Cleary, they just did.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 9, 2011
A film that's energetic but not entirely engaging, fun but never truly funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 9, 2011
A film that little kids might find perfectly acceptable. Little, little, little kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 9, 2011
The bar for kiddie entertainment gets ever lower with this excessively loud effort.
June 9, 2011
Even for sugary neon fluff, it's awfully lightweight.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 9, 2011
Some movies make you remember being a child. Some movies treat you like one. "Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer'' does both.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 9, 2011
The move is just begging the audience to think of it as cool and falls as flat as hearing your parents sing along to songs you like on the radio.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 9, 2011
Never before in the history of cinema has a movie been so purposefully micromanaged toward a specific sub-subsection of the demographic
| Original Score: 3/5
Page 3 of 4