Jumpin' Jack Flash - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jumpin' Jack Flash Reviews

Page 1 of 40
½ December 23, 2017
Disappointing 80s comedy considering the talent involved. Whoopi Goldberg is contacted over a computer and finds herself helping a British spy in this comic action thriller that if it were a better film could have been a modern day "North by Northwest" or even a fun contemporary like "The Man with One Red Shoe," but instead it's a dull story that's only made watchable by a talented cast. That cast includes Jonathan Pryce, Jon Lovitz, Phil Hartman, Michael McKean, Jim Belushi, Paxton Whitehead, Tracey Ullman, Garry Marshall, Carol Kane (looking the most normal and most conventionally attractive I've ever seen her), Annie Potts, Roscoe Lee Browne, Jeroen Krabb, Jamey Sheridan, Stephen Collins, and John Wood (you know, Falken from 'WarGames"). To top off the disappointment factor, this was the directorial debut of Penny Marshall, who'd go on to direct classics like "Big," "A League of Their Own," and "Awakenings." And there's even a nicely 80s score by Thomas Newman. This talent manages to make this dull and unfunny script watchable, but just barely (and the script was by several talented writers who's credits include "Die Hard," "48 Hrs," "The Larry Sanders Show", "Private Benjamin," "Father of the Bride," and even "Gladiator" and "Amistad." Who knows what happened to this movie?
November 23, 2017
Whoopi at her jumping aboot,getting into scrapes finest! ????
September 18, 2017
When Whoopi was funny.
April 6, 2017
Cheesy but charming. I've seen it about 100 times.
November 27, 2016
This movie has an incredible cast!
Great story!
Good old fashioned adventure comedy.
Whoopi whoops ass!
Solid 8/10
½ August 18, 2016
Whoopi Goldberg stars in this fun but messy film directorial debut of Penny Marshall. Whoopi is an office worker who gets a request on her computer to help a troubled spy. It's fun and Whoopi does her thing but overall this comedy is just average.
½ June 19, 2016
Office worker helps out spy in trouble in this predictable but often fun comedy starring Whoopi Goldberg in her film debut.
April 6, 2016
Jumpin' Jack Flash stars the beautiful, lovely, and always enjoyable Whoopi Goldberg in one of her early roles who plays an innocent woman sucked into a case filled with mystery and espionage while guided by a secret agent who goes by the name, you guessed it, 'Jumpin' Jack Flash.' Filled with comedy, drama and action; Jumpin' Jack Flash serves as not only a starting vehicle for Mrs. Goldberg here, but also an example of how to balance all three of those aforementioned genres altogether into a well-constructed, very fun film. One of 1986's best films! ?????
½ October 17, 2015
Compared to the non stop crap spewed in theaters and nothing funny for black women leads. This was a funny adventuresome movie and fun vehicle for Whoopi and goofy romance. A Netflix rental fun.
½ August 2, 2015
i liked this kinda chick flick pic
May 25, 2015
Silly, goofy and totally disconnected from any level of reality, Penny Marshall's directorial debut is still a bit of fun thanks to Goldberg who almost manages to make the movie work.
½ March 29, 2015
an 80's movie that i had never seen.
after watching it, i kind of wish i hadn't.
January 24, 2015
The premise of this is so unbelievably bad that it made it impossible for me to like the film A brief chuckle here and there, but mostly...it's a train wreck.
½ November 15, 2014
One of my favorite movies as a child!!!
½ September 10, 2014
Goldberg performed well with good humorous ways while following a nice concept to the spy genre. (B)

(Full review coming soon - with better wording)
August 30, 2014
This is one of my favorite comedies. It's a classic.
½ August 11, 2014
(First and only viewing - 10/26/2008)
½ June 25, 2014
Pour la sc¨ne ou la robe pogne dans la d (C)chicteuse !
June 18, 2014
Yes it is my first time seeing this movie. And I loved it!! Classic Whoppi.
½ April 28, 2014
Directed by Penny Marshall (Big (1988), Awakenings (1990) and The Preacher's Wife (1996)), this spy comedy had a troubled birth, originally conceived as a vehicle for Cheers star Shelley Long, who quit before filming over concerns the script, as did original director Howard Zeiff, who clashed with the producers. Despite this, it's a good film, even if it's a product of it's time. Teresa "Terry" Doolittle (Whoopi Goldberg) works as a data analyst, transferring funds by computer for the First National Bank in Manhattan. Terry has an attitude which goes down well with her co-workers, but not her stuffy boss James Page (Peter Michael Goetz). One day, Terry gets a message by computer from a man claiming to be called Jumping Jack Flash (Jonathan Pryce), who tells Terry he's in trouble. Jack claims to be British Intelligence agent in Eastern Europe, and he needs Terry's help to get home. But, Terry soon finds herself caught up with murderous agents and double crossing, but she won't give in easily. It's a lot better than what the critics at the time made it out to be, and it helped make a star out of Goldberg, who had just made a name for herself in Spielberg's The Color Purple (1985). It's a lot better than most 80's comedies, and it managed to do well, and it predicted a lot of what we do with the internet these days.
Page 1 of 40