Jumpin' Jack Flash - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jumpin' Jack Flash Reviews

Page 1 of 40
November 27, 2016
This movie has an incredible cast!
Great story!
Good old fashioned adventure comedy.
Whoopi whoops ass!
Solid 8/10
½ August 18, 2016
Whoopi Goldberg stars in this fun but messy film directorial debut of Penny Marshall. Whoopi is an office worker who gets a request on her computer to help a troubled spy. It's fun and Whoopi does her thing but overall this comedy is just average.
½ June 19, 2016
Office worker helps out spy in trouble in this predictable but often fun comedy starring Whoopi Goldberg in her film debut.
April 6, 2016
Jumpin' Jack Flash stars the beautiful, lovely, and always enjoyable Whoopi Goldberg in one of her early roles who plays an innocent woman sucked into a case filled with mystery and espionage while guided by a secret agent who goes by the name, you guessed it, 'Jumpin' Jack Flash.' Filled with comedy, drama and action; Jumpin' Jack Flash serves as not only a starting vehicle for Mrs. Goldberg here, but also an example of how to balance all three of those aforementioned genres altogether into a well-constructed, very fun film. One of 1986's best films! ?????
½ October 17, 2015
Compared to the non stop crap spewed in theaters and nothing funny for black women leads. This was a funny adventuresome movie and fun vehicle for Whoopi and goofy romance. A Netflix rental fun.
½ August 2, 2015
i liked this kinda chick flick pic
May 25, 2015
Silly, goofy and totally disconnected from any level of reality, Penny Marshall's directorial debut is still a bit of fun thanks to Goldberg who almost manages to make the movie work.
½ March 29, 2015
an 80's movie that i had never seen.
after watching it, i kind of wish i hadn't.
January 24, 2015
The premise of this is so unbelievably bad that it made it impossible for me to like the film A brief chuckle here and there, but mostly...it's a train wreck.
½ November 15, 2014
One of my favorite movies as a child!!!
½ September 10, 2014
Goldberg performed well with good humorous ways while following a nice concept to the spy genre. (B)

(Full review coming soon - with better wording)
August 30, 2014
This is one of my favorite comedies. It's a classic.
½ August 11, 2014
(First and only viewing - 10/26/2008)
½ June 25, 2014
Pour la sc¨ne ou la robe pogne dans la d (C)chicteuse !
June 18, 2014
Yes it is my first time seeing this movie. And I loved it!! Classic Whoppi.
½ April 28, 2014
Directed by Penny Marshall (Big (1988), Awakenings (1990) and The Preacher's Wife (1996)), this spy comedy had a troubled birth, originally conceived as a vehicle for Cheers star Shelley Long, who quit before filming over concerns the script, as did original director Howard Zeiff, who clashed with the producers. Despite this, it's a good film, even if it's a product of it's time. Teresa "Terry" Doolittle (Whoopi Goldberg) works as a data analyst, transferring funds by computer for the First National Bank in Manhattan. Terry has an attitude which goes down well with her co-workers, but not her stuffy boss James Page (Peter Michael Goetz). One day, Terry gets a message by computer from a man claiming to be called Jumping Jack Flash (Jonathan Pryce), who tells Terry he's in trouble. Jack claims to be British Intelligence agent in Eastern Europe, and he needs Terry's help to get home. But, Terry soon finds herself caught up with murderous agents and double crossing, but she won't give in easily. It's a lot better than what the critics at the time made it out to be, and it helped make a star out of Goldberg, who had just made a name for herself in Spielberg's The Color Purple (1985). It's a lot better than most 80's comedies, and it managed to do well, and it predicted a lot of what we do with the internet these days.
½ April 5, 2014
an amazing transition from Miss Celie in The Color Purple to Terri in this movie. terrific acting and laugh out loud hiladious
½ November 4, 2013
Whoopi Goldberg is a computer transaction person at a bank, who gets roped into a spy plot when she is IM'd by some stranger who names himself after Rolling Stones tunes, and asks her to vaguely help him with some problem he may be having. It is a decent concept actually, sort of like a modern (for the 80s) Hitchcock tale, but the problem is that the script has been written to be too comedic, I guess to highlight Whoopi's skills...but she is capable of much more than being a jokester (she has a fucking Oscar)...and there are ons of horribly ADR'd lines that explain in dialogue what we can all easily see on screen. Show not tell jerks! It also goes on long past it's welcome. I was surprised to see this was the directorial debut of Penny Marshall, who directed some pretty good movies in "Big" and "A League of Their Own".
August 9, 2013
It was entertaining. Fun movie with some funny parts. Slow pacing.
½ June 16, 2013
A bank's clerk is humorously involved in international espionage when her computer terminal picks up words sent by electronic mail from a Brit spy trapped into Iron Curtain. The events break her monotony life and boring employment.

The film packs comedy, suspense, tongue in check and lots of amusement. There are still some hilarious pieces, notably the comic tryings to decipher the lyrics to the film title song by famous Rolling Stones, when her dress get caught in a shredder, Whoopi singing at the British Embassy by impersonating Diane Ross and when she's dragged by a tow truck, among others. The picture is a Woopi Goldberg recital, she plays a wacky, foul-mouthed, and wisecracking spinster with no check. This is her first big success in comedy genre, after his known drama 'Purple color' by Steven Spielberg. Abundant secondaries and cameos by noted actors, such as Jim Belushi, Annie Potts, John Wood, Jeroan Krabbe, Roscoe Lee Browne, Sara Bostford, John Lovitz, Phil Hartman, among them. Agreeable musical score, though with abuse synthesizer by Thomas Newman . The motion picture is middling directed by Penny Marshall, in his film debut, but she was unable to control the star's excesses. Later Marshall achieved numerous hits as producer, actress and director, such as 'The Preacher's Wife', 'A League of Their Own' and 'Big'.
Page 1 of 40