Junebug - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Junebug Reviews

Page 1 of 7
September 1, 2005
Despite the best of intentions, Junebug never quite comes together.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 28, 2007
To get a good idea of what to expect, think Hee Haw presented as a Shakespearean melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 5, 2005
Merely being different doesn't always equal good.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
August 11, 2005
A dreary, stagnant story about people who make no effort to think or grow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 12, 2005
Junebug is a textbook case of filmmakers who can't make up their minds about their characters; it's a failure of nerve disguised as dramatic ambiguity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 4, 2005
A quirky, moderately entertaining, mildly depressing, altogether frustrating work...Too artsy by half.
August 4, 2005
The balancing act of character contradictions ultimately becomes more about itself than true human behavior.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 24, 2005
Sort of a Meet the Parents for the Sundance set, director Phil Morrison's bizarrely overpraised Junebug is one of this year's vaguest, most listless oddities.
September 27, 2005
What's abundantly clear is that Adams steals the film as the irrepressible Ashley.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 19, 2005
Junebug has delightful moments, but much of it is a Southern-fried drag.
September 2, 2005
A cool delight when it sticks to comic observation. It only starts to crawl when Morrison shifts his blue-gray medley to darker tones.
September 26, 2009
Junebug annoyed me while in the theater, and annoys me even more as I write about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 26/100
December 6, 2005
Junebug is an admirable film, but its charms will be visible only to the most patient filmgoers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 7, 2005
The many well-drawn characters, make Junebug a pleasure to watch, but the plotting is dull, and the script leaves too many questions.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
August 3, 2005
How slow can we go?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 28, 2005
I found most of the characters to be either uninteresting or annoying.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 19, 2005
Thanks to newfangled things like TV and the Internet, small-town folks aren't as uniformly insulated as director Phil Morrison and screenwriter Angus McLachlan would have us believe.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 10, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
September 2, 2005
The adult tensions and the tone take us to a place remembered so vividly that even if we don't know this corner of the South, we've somehow lived there or at least passed through.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 19, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 7