Just Like A Woman - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Just Like A Woman Reviews

Page 1 of 1
August 6, 2016
At first glance you'd think this was about 2 very sexy women belly dancing but there's more to it than that. Sienna Miller plays a woman named Marilyn who's interested in belly dancing. After being fired from her job and discovering that her husband is cheating on her, she leaves with her friend Mona to go to Santa Fe to audition for a dance company. Mona is a North African immigrant who leaves her family after accidentally poisoning her mother-in-law. Marilyn is unaware of this at first. Together they drive from Chicago to Santa Fe and have a series of adventures. It reminded me a little bit like the movie Thelma and Louise but with a happy ending.
½ June 23, 2015
sienna miller=kiss of death wish kills this 1 too
½ January 15, 2014
Twenty-three years ago (gulp!) two new names were engraved upon the minds/psyches of American theater audiences across the country that would never be forgotten. Those two names: Thelma and Louise. The only real similarity between T&L and Just Like a Woman is that the story features two women driving cross country in a convertible as they try to outrun a mistake they do not know how to rectify. T&L is a modern classic ... and should be seen. Just Like a Woman is not a classic nor will it ever be one ... and it isn't one I would be overly keen to recommend either as I doubt either woman will be nominated for an Oscar like both Thelma and Louise were! Sienna Miller (Factory Girl, Layer Cake) stars as Marilyn, a woman who decides to finally give in to temptation and enter a belly dance contest ... after she is let go from her job in Chicago and has to no longer be responsible-yet-unhappy. Before even leaving the city, Marilyn finds herself in the company of Mona -- a meek North African immigrant she is acquainted with - who needs to get out of the city. The two ladies come from different backgrounds but their common bonds and womanhood bring them closer together. As Mona's past begins to catch up with them, can their new friendship endure and will Marilyn's dream remain unattainable? The film is hokey and melodramatic but I didn't hate it when I watched it even though it was quite predictable ... although I will spoil the ending: there is no cliff!!
December 15, 2013
A strong dramatic flick about two women that leave there no hope lives for a belly dance adventure. Sienna Miller leaves her dead beat cheating husband after getting fired from her job and coming home and finding him with another women.
Golshifteh Farhani leaves her husband after accidentally killing her mother-in law by pill over does.
After this basically the movie turns into a Thelma and Louise adventure two girls a convertible and the open road going from one belly dance gig to another.
It's kinda a flick that you go and find your true self.
Not sure how to sell this flick to an audience only to say its a real girly flick and can be dry at times cause its more about emotions etc.
The film is not at all for the kiddies .
and ladies maybe the guys would not like this either it would be like a punishment for them so if they ever get into the bad books you can keep this for good measure. lol
Ohh the one element i did enjoy was the music was the Arabian belly dance music that was better than the actual dancing :) lol
Maybe the soundtrack would be good.
½ November 9, 2013
Chicas, Thelma y Louise hay una sola.
½ October 18, 2013
Like belly-dancing itself, this drama is meant for the soul, not the mind - or as Marilyn's instructor commands, "Brains! Stop using them!"
½ September 4, 2013
OMG! such a torture and such a waste of time
½ August 16, 2013
Good movie.. Crazy ass women :P lol
July 25, 2013
Maybe I'm a little biased on this one, because Just Like a Woman features Iranian celebrity Golshifteh Farahani.. but This is by far the weakest film of Rachid Bouchareb.. with a few nice shots and a mysteriously breath taking Arabian Theme..
July 15, 2013
Cute, nothing special
½ July 13, 2013
Actually like the light side of it.. thankfully it wasn't like a typical road trip movie.
½ July 9, 2013
90 minutes of going nowhere. This movie takes you on a road trip with two women but lacks all the excitement and development of a story line as such.
½ July 8, 2013
I like it over-all. I just felt like the movie ended with unfinished story. Good movie for girl friends and bellydance enthusiasts.
June 2, 2013
Very poor script, very lazyyyyy = nice pictures, nice actress, but that's just all folks !
Page 1 of 1