Just My Luck - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Just My Luck Reviews

Page 3 of 6
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
May 12, 2006
Lohan shows signs that she might really be an actress. Maybe a good one. But to say the least, Just My Luck is not a flattering showcase.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Carla Meyer
Sacramento Bee
May 12, 2006
Judging by her first grown-up romantic comedy, Lindsay Lohan won't usurp Julia Roberts or Reese Witherspoon's place in Hollywood any time soon. Just My Luck is just OK, when it isn't labored.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jack Garner
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
May 12, 2006
Lohan has expressed the hope that Just My Luck will display her aptitude for adult roles. But the adolescent energy and all-round over-acting belie that hope.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Pam Grady
Reel.com
May 12, 2006
To call it fluff is being charitable. It's cotton candy: overly sweet and full of empty calories, except instead of causing tooth decay, it rots the brain.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 12, 2006
I liked the film's idea that luck is like love -- something that diminishes when you hoard it and multiplies when you share it.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
May 12, 2006
A romantic gimmick comedy that stands out as hackneyed even in this tired genre.
| Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 12, 2006
Just My Luck runs out of luck long before it runs out of film.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Lisa Rose
Newark Star-Ledger
May 12, 2006
Lindsay Lohan may be all grown up in the tabloids, but her latest movie doesn't reflect any newfound maturity.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
May 12, 2006
An appallingly unfunny and unromantic romantic comedy starring tabloid bait Lindsay Lohan.
| Original Score: 0/4
Top Critic
Jami Bernard
New York Daily News
May 12, 2006
The new Lindsay Lohan romantic comedy, Just My Luck, needs more than just luck to overcome an achingly stupid script. It needs a miracle.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Sue Pierman
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
May 12, 2006
It turns out Lohan isn't the one with the bad luck; the audience is.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
May 12, 2006
A romantic comedy even more idiotic than its embarrassing (and somewhat creepy) poster would indicate.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Bob Strauss
Los Angeles Daily News
May 12, 2006
Good as Lohan is, she's better with interesting material.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Louis B. Hobson
Jam! Movies
May 12, 2006
Lindsay Lohan's new romantic comedy, Just My Luck, is strictly for tweens.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Loey Lockerby
Kansas City Star
May 12, 2006
Just My Luck is a cute idea with nowhere to go after the first hour.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
May 12, 2006
Just My Luck is a vehicle for Lohan, and not much more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
May 12, 2006
Just my luck that the movie is directed by Donald Petrie, who made the a similar Manhattan-set How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, though this time it's vaguely crossed with the magic plot of 13 Going on 30.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Adam Graham
Detroit News
May 12, 2006
In the end, Just My Luck is light, fluffy and as quickly forgettable as a tossed-aside horoscope.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
May 12, 2006
The screenplay for Just My Luck is credited to five writers, all of whom relied on their DVD collections for inspiration.
| Original Score: 2/4
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
May 12, 2006
With any luck, Just My Luck will disappear quickly, before it can do any real damage to Lindsay Lohan's movie career.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 3 of 6