Just My Luck - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Just My Luck Reviews

May 20, 2006
... a variation on Freaky Friday buffed with a bit of 13 Going on 30's yuppie-career-princess gloss.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
May 17, 2006
A lazy spitballing session of karmic humor, hinged on the sort of generic rom-com contrivances that keep movies like these from ending at a reasonable time.
Read More | Original Score: D
May 16, 2006
... a real piece of junk.
May 13, 2006
It's safe, competent and bland.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 13, 2006
From my perspective, it's watchable, but barely, and nothing I would go out of my way to locate, even if going 'out of my way' represents using a remote control to change TV channels.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 12, 2006
Word on the street -- we're not sure which street -- has it that Just My Luck is Lindsay Lohan's final teen comedy. If so, the timing couldn't be better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 12, 2006
If Just My Luck was intended to showcase a more grown-up Lohan (she'll soon be 20), it fails -- but it gives hints of the fine screwball comedian she's already becoming.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 12, 2006
Lohan shows signs that she might really be an actress. Maybe a good one. But to say the least, Just My Luck is not a flattering showcase.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 12, 2006
I liked the film's idea that luck is like love -- something that diminishes when you hoard it and multiplies when you share it.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 12, 2006
Just My Luck runs out of luck long before it runs out of film.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 12, 2006
Lindsay Lohan may be all grown up in the tabloids, but her latest movie doesn't reflect any newfound maturity.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 12, 2006
An appallingly unfunny and unromantic romantic comedy starring tabloid bait Lindsay Lohan.
Read More | Original Score: 0/4
May 12, 2006
The new Lindsay Lohan romantic comedy, Just My Luck, needs more than just luck to overcome an achingly stupid script. It needs a miracle.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 12, 2006
A romantic comedy even more idiotic than its embarrassing (and somewhat creepy) poster would indicate.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 12, 2006
Just my luck that the movie is directed by Donald Petrie, who made the a similar Manhattan-set How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, though this time it's vaguely crossed with the magic plot of 13 Going on 30.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 12, 2006
In the end, Just My Luck is light, fluffy and as quickly forgettable as a tossed-aside horoscope.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 12, 2006
The screenplay for Just My Luck is credited to five writers, all of whom relied on their DVD collections for inspiration.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 12, 2006
The movie tries to adopt a breezy attitude toward life in New York. But you have to be in a bubble-gum frame of mind to buy into anything that's being sold here.
May 12, 2006
Just My Luck is a safe teen movie that teens will actually like, and there are far worse things than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 12, 2006
Why [Lindsay Lohan] agreed to front a movie tailor-made for Hilary Duff or the Olsens is a mystery.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 11, 2006
I can't think of a movie that matters less than Just My Luck. It's just negligible.
May 11, 2006
Just My Luck is a fortune cookie of a movie, without the fortune: The outside looks sweet and tasty, the inside is hollow and dry.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 11, 2006
The assumption must be that those who see this PG-13 movie have been raised on a diet of bathroom-humor comedies and are not quite ready to let that go.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 11, 2006
Just My Luck is a bit of lukewarm cappuccino froth confected to float Lindsay Lohan to the next stage of her career.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 11, 2006
As disposable as a broken mirror, Just My Luck plays like a focus-group compilation of everything a 12-year-old girl could want in a Lindsay Lohan movie.
May 11, 2006
Lindsay Lohan and Chris Pine make a charming star-crossed couple, and tweens and teens will find enough plot reversals to keep them hooked.
May 11, 2006
Throw in a hot new British bubblegum band, McFly, a bit of magic, romance, humor and a happy ending, and you've got a good, old-fashioned escapist popcorn flick.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 11, 2006
Looking tired and sallow and drained of her customary glow, Lindsay Lohan marches grimly through this mechanical tween comedy as if it were a particularly tedious homework assignment.
May 11, 2006
Both a goofy little sugar-high of a comedy and a canny bit of image rehabilitation for the tabloid-tarnished starlet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 11, 2006
It's a thin premise stretched paper thin into a feature-length romantic comedy.
Read More | Original Score: C+
May 11, 2006
A dispiriting piece of consumerist comedy in which it's not the jokes that are priceless, but having the right credit card, the right outfit and the right boyfriend. It's a lose-lose.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
May 11, 2006
Her every faux pas comes across as rank humiliation and it can only be entertaining for sadistic mall rats who get their jollies seeing Miss Budding Superstar wallow in grime and slip on soap.
Read More | Original Score: 0.5/4
May 11, 2006
Presumably, this movie was designed to be a fun romp, and in that it fails.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 10, 2006
Just My Luck is the worst kind of comedy -- one that assumes the audience can't think for itself, and therefore feels the need to punctuate each sight gag with obnoxiously jaunty music.