Kadosh - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kadosh Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 21, 2014
A very good film giving much insight into the traditions and customs with which so many are still subject to and faced with even in such modern times.
January 16, 2013
A moving window into lives of a particular group of people; an emotionally riveting documentary.
December 27, 2012
As a person who is living in Israel, I found too many religious mistakes inside the movie.
August 9, 2012
Yet another reason I'm glad I'm not religious.
February 22, 2012
..."je remercie Dieu de ne pas m'avoir fait femme"...?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
October 24, 2011
Well, how can movies about love in the Orthodox world not be sad?
A good portrait of life in the Jewish Orthodox community, if one is not familiar with it, they can treat it as a semi-documentary.
April 23, 2011
It is a sad movie. :(
iLeo
Super Reviewer
½ February 13, 2011
Set in Jerusalem, Meir and Rivka are married and in love. They have been trying to have a child for years, but are unable to conceive. Meir receives constant pressure from his father to leave his wife, and marry a young woman whose purportedly 'fertile'. Meanwhile, Rivka's sister is in love with an outcast but is set to marry another. Malka hopes that her beloved Yaakov will be accepted before her arranged marriage, but is slowly realizing that it will not happen. As Rivka and Malka sadly brace themselves for the brunt of their troubles, their directions in life takes a sudden change for the worst.
YaŽl Abecassis, Yoram Hattab, Meital Barda, Uri Ran Klauzner, Yussuf Abu-Warda, and Sami Hori stars. Worthy!
January 10, 2011
I felt that it was slanted to show and say things to only prove their point of view. I was not sure if it was true.
Super Reviewer
December 15, 2010
An ultimately sad film, highlighting the subjugation of women within a certain Hassidic enclave in Jerusalem. The film itself is very slow, dark, and quiet. There are scenes of immense tenderness, particularly those between a childless husband and wife, deeply in love, but forced by their community to separate so that the husband can re-marry in an attempt to produce children. But, there are also scenes of fierce brutality and blatant ignorance dictated by an incomplete understanding of the purpose, and intent, of God's Laws. This is not easy to watch, and the sense of sadness that pervades never relents, but it is still fascinating.
½ August 22, 2010
An open window to the intimate world of an orthodox Hasidic community in Israel. As it is expected, within this patriarchal community, women are second class citizens, whose only purpose is to serve their husbands by having as many sons as possible. The story is largely shown with the eyes of women who try to resist as much as they can, religious rules picked out of the Torah. While women are not allowed to read the Torah, they suspect there must be an alternative interpretation to the limited rules prescribed for them.
July 14, 2010
I would have liked this movie more if there was less to watch. The story is good as it takes a look at Haredi life (howbeit a slice). The pacing was off from the start. Some scenes went on way too long.

But I did like how the movie demonstrated tradition was valued more than what Torah says. All I could think of were the words of Jesus as he tells the religious leaders, "Thus you nullify the word of God for the sake of your tradition." I understood what frustrated him.

Very gritty and almost pornographic. I say almost because the dialog provided enough sex talk to substitute for pictures. Skip it if you are squeamish with graphic talk about sex. Also,there's one rape scene. You can learn about Orthodox Jewish living in Israel in better films.
Super Reviewer
May 12, 2010
An ultimately sad film, highlighting the subjugation of women within a certain Hassidic enclave in Jerusalem. While maybe less than authentic, (how many Hassidic actors are there, and how many of them would agree to portray the intimate scenes depicted here?) the message that women are second-class citizens with no voice within their community is valid and bears investigation. The film itself is very slow, dark, and quiet. There are scenes of immense tenderness, particularly those between Meir (Yoram Hattab) and Rivka (Yael Abecassis), a husband and wife, deeply in love, but forced by their community to separate so that Meir can re-marry in an attempt to produce children. But, there are also scenes of fierce brutality and blatant ignorance dictated by an incomplete understanding of the purpose and intent of God's Laws. This is not easy to watch, and the sense of sadness that pervades never relents, but it is still fascinating.
Super Reviewer
February 16, 2010
Perhaps another example of a film being completely beyond my comprehension being a goy. I didn't enjoy it.
January 28, 2010
interesting slice of tradional jewish living in old jerusalem.. saw it after I returned from my visit to israel
½ April 29, 2009
This film's biggest asset is its cinematography; long unbroken camera shots and a dark, grainy tone through much of the film go a long way to capture the suffocation of its characters and environment. Though the acting is adequate, the cinematography and the script (its pacing, not the average writing) are the elements that allow the film to accomplish its subtle anger. It's a brutally honest and illuminating piece, though the dialogue and ending are noticeably below the quality of the rest of the film.
March 3, 2009
slt m hattab brabim cava
February 26, 2009
Rivka: I remember outside was raining but appeared a stubborn ray of sun.
Meir: Do you remember what I said to you?
Rivka: You said you would be, forever, with me.
Meir: It's true.
Rivka: ..but i didn't know if you mean all (that) time long or forever..
November 14, 2008
I really was intrigued by this film. It was an extremely well-acted and well-filmed portrayal of the danger and ultimate tragedy of extreme religion. It was an exceptionally critical look at Orthodox Judaism, and the relationship/dialogue between the two female leads was at the core of the issue. I thought that the story itself was well-written, but the dialogue could have been a little bit more engaging. All in all, a really interesting film with an outstanding ending.
August 10, 2008
Love the fleeting use of Galliano-Portal in this. Demonstrates the sad end of those who cling too tightly to tradition, even if that tradition is "G-d Wrestling".
Page 1 of 3