Katy Perry: Part of Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Katy Perry: Part of Me Reviews

Page 2 of 5
July 6, 2012
This documentary should really be renamed All Of Me, as pop star Katy opens her backstage dressing room, her wardrobe and her heart for the cameras.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 6, 2012
I saw Katy Perry: Part of Me -- and I liked it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 6, 2012
[It] isn't so much a movie as a canny, inoffensive slice of brand management and marketing. And as such, it's not half bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 6, 2012
It's filled with pizzazz and sparkle, but not enough to distract from the real person under the cupcake skirt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 6, 2012
Like that recent Justin Bieber documentary, Part of Me proves to be a surprisingly digestible entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 6, 2012
Ultimately, while this is a Perry promotional movie, it manages to be a refreshingly honest portrayal of one of music's biggest stars.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 6, 2012
Although there are moments when the filmmakers' fingerprints are nearly visible on the manipulated putty of an audience, the scenes aren't enough to break the fruit-flavored spell.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 6, 2012
"Part of Me" is more electronic press kit than fly-on-the-wall documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 5, 2012
The closer you are to puberty, the more you'll be blown away by "Katy Perry: Part of Me." Just imagine Madonna's "Truth or Dare" (1991), but without the sexual innuendo, glamour, wit, and Warren Beatty.
July 5, 2012
Delivered with infectious energy, Part of Me gives us moments of note mixed in with a gorgeous, immersive concert experience.
July 5, 2012
Entertaining concert film follows pop singer's highs, lows.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 5, 2012
Everything is 'on message' and approved by the star - yet it's as intimate as this kind of film gets.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 5, 2012
As Katy was seen doubling over in pain as she forced the last few tears to fall, clutching the wall for support as she gasped for breath wearing a rotating sparkly bra, I was shocked to discover that my own cheeks were wet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 5, 2012
Has more stand-alone substance and resonance than anticipated.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2012
Packed with high energy, basic morals and an infectious charm, much like Perry herself.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 5, 2012
Just like it says, "Part of Me" is one aspect of Perry, but her fans may leave the movie wanting more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 5, 2012
Although suitably rousing and even somewhat resonant, Katy Perry: Part of Me merely presents the package expected of her sugary stage persona, in following the new music documentary formula.
July 5, 2012
Ultimately, Part of Me is for fans, but it should have interest for people interested in celebrity culture.
July 5, 2012
For Perry fans, there's not much more you could ask for - but for non-devotees, it's a lightweight package.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 5, 2012
'In some ways, I live in a fairy tale,' says Perry, a polychrome Snow White who doesn't just charm the birds out of the trees but sings of being 'a phoenix,' of having a 'hummingbird heart,' of longing for a bold display of 'peacock.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 5