Katy Perry: Part of Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Katy Perry: Part of Me Reviews

Page 3 of 5
July 5, 2012
What is worth seeing - and shelling out the 3-D premium for - is Perry's eye-popping showmanship.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 5, 2012
Katy Perry's sugary sweet wonderland is a hit with her fans, but it also makes for an inspiring movie for those who might have never heard her music.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 5, 2012
Fun, revealing doc about one pop sensation who has truly earned her place in the sun, although the 3D is wholly unnecessary.
July 5, 2012
Unfortunately, as sweet as Perry come across, the product as a whole is mastabatory, jarring and ultimately pretty dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 5, 2012
Perry is no dancer and not much of a mover; she's a more mannequin-ish presence, but an energizer mannequin, expressive and ever connecting.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 5, 2012
Footage from Perry's elaborate stage show, which hit Xcel Energy Center last August, is so energetic and fizzy that the blandly catchy songs feel like just a small and not unpleasant piece of the puzzle.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2012
Personally, I prefer Adele. But teens who adore Perry should be satisfied with the colourful on-stage stuff.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 5, 2012
I gained respect for Perry, her work ethic and personal rediscovery.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 5, 2012
Even if you had front row tickets at one of Perry's concerts, you haven't had a visual experience like this with the singer. (Full Content Review for Parents also available)
July 5, 2012
I'm willing to believe Perry is everything "Part of Me" says she is: kind, smart, talented, hardworking, deserving of success. I just wish the movie trusted me to decide for myself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 5, 2012
Part of Me works hard to prove it's more than a glorified infomercial, and one reason it is more is that Perry has a startling story to tell.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 5, 2012
Surely there are more interesting subjects, but Perry manages to pull it off here, coming off completely likable and real, never insufferable and fake.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2012
[It] goes a bit beyond the usual music documentaries, which rarely document anything beyond how beloved their stars are.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2012
Perry herself, while clearly driven and ambitious, comes across as hugely likeable and witty - the consummate professional whose personal life is in a tailspin.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 5, 2012
Ever the professional, the pop star has surrounded herself with people who know how to make a tour work - but none of them seem well-equipped to give a heartbroken 27-year-old girl a much needed hug.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2012
I'm not sure what I was expecting from "Katy Perry: Part of Me," but I know it wasn't this: a pleasant surprise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 5, 2012
You realize the main drama of the movie - and Perry's career - is not that she has any special artistic talent, but rather the drive to take on an insane workload and see it through to the bitter end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 5, 2012
Any self-produced documentary about oneself is bound to be a propaganda film, but "Katy Perry: Part of Me" is a good one, and a persuasive one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2012
It's difficult to assess the authenticity of Perry's big-screen portrait, shaped by handlers, friends, family and gushing Katy Kats. But her zeal, geeky enthusiasm and generous spirit feel genuine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 4, 2012
As one record executive put it, for too long the industry tried to make Katy Perry into something or someone else. The secret, which "Part of Me" captures quite nicely, was to just let her be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 3 of 5