Katy Perry: Part of Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Katy Perry: Part of Me Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 9, 2017
Katy Perry: Part of Me is a commercial, not a diary entry -- and it sticks, far too often, to an already-decided-upon script.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 14, 2016
Works in this genre can be rollercoasters of bliss and sadness and awkwardness and pain. "Katy Perry: Part Of Me" plays more like an infomercial.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 5, 2012
Just like it says, "Part of Me" is one aspect of Perry, but her fans may leave the movie wanting more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 5, 2012
Unfortunately, as sweet as Perry come across, the product as a whole is mastabatory, jarring and ultimately pretty dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 4, 2012
This frothy 3D concert doc often plays like a Perry ad campaign, assuring viewers that their "Teenage Dream" diva is a good, fun-loving person, and that, by God, she's doing fine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 5, 2012
You realize the main drama of the movie - and Perry's career - is not that she has any special artistic talent, but rather the drive to take on an insane workload and see it through to the bitter end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 3, 2012
The trudging devotion to formula would be more forgivable if Part of Me did a better job at capturing what's ostensibly the point of the documentary: Katy Perry's music.
July 3, 2012
The 3-D performance footage is impressively lavish, though the film's unending idolization of the amiable singer will quickly exhaust all but the most devoted fans.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 3, 2012
You never get the sense that the camera was ever allowed to see anything that Perry didn't want it to see.
July 5, 2012
For Perry fans, there's not much more you could ask for - but for non-devotees, it's a lightweight package.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 4, 2012
Part Of Me often feels like the offspring of E! True Hollywood Story and an infomercial for Katy Perry Inc.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 4, 2012
a piece of product that clearly wants to be the modern-day "Truth or Dare" but which winds up coming across as something closer to "Rattle & Hum" without the quiet humility.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 3, 2012
She dresses like an ice cream sundae but never offers more than a sample spoon into her life.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 8, 2012
An inane and boring self-promoting documentary in unneeded 3-D about good girl pop singer Katy Perry.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 5, 2012
I'm willing to believe Perry is everything "Part of Me" says she is: kind, smart, talented, hardworking, deserving of success. I just wish the movie trusted me to decide for myself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 3, 2015
There's only so much formula the filmmakers can shellac over their subject's increasingly obvious heartbreak.
July 6, 2012
We're left with zero sense of what she's really like as a granddaughter, sister, boss, or friend.
July 3, 2012
This supposedly honest behind-the-scenes look at Perry's 2011 world tour often feels more like sharp brand management. (Ex-husband pun slightly intended.)
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 6, 2012
"Part of Me" is more electronic press kit than fly-on-the-wall documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 6, 2012
The whole enterprise is simply another way for the singer to cash in on her stardom.
Page 1 of 5