Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 11, 2016
Hart is a great comic - there is no doubt about that - but Let Me Explain reaches a kind of tipping point.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 4, 2013
Kevin Hart is indeed a talented comedian. This is just not his best material.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 2, 2013
A brief, energetic performance of weak material heavily reliant on the Paula Deen word for laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 2, 2013
The film is flat and lazy, and the audio mix is so low it sounds as if the audience is barely laughing. His cable comedy specials have better production values.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 8, 2013
Hart's impressive physicality and the background special effects, which become their own running joke, are a smokescreen disguising how poorly written his rambling gags actually are.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 11, 2013
The Kevin Hart brand is clearly doing well, but Let Me Explain doesn't seem interested in providing anything more than a surface-level presentation of the product.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 11, 2013
Hart nothing but a lightweight.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/4.0
July 2, 2013
His energetic stand-up routine at the Garden can be riotously funny. It also can be frenetic and repetitive. More judicious editing would have showcased his talents better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 5, 2013
On the whole, Hart's material veers toward the lowbrow and doesn't quite hit the heights of cleverness, talent, language, or delivery that predecessors like Richard Pryor, Eddie Murphy, and Chris Rock reached.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 4, 2013
Any comic who can play the Garden must be good, but you wouldn't know it from this jumble of random routines and on-the-bus footage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 9, 2013
Kevin Hart works hard but is only funny with about 50% of his comedy routine.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
July 3, 2013
[Not] as strong as such previous dispatches as "Seriously...Funny."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 11, 2013
Once Hart finally gets onstage his act can barely live up to the hype.
September 2, 2013
I'd rather attend a Norman Wisdom tribute concert in downtown Tirana than see this film again.
July 12, 2013
I so wanted to be moved to genuine laughter, but it came in only fits and starts.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
July 2, 2013
This frantic energy at times touches on genius, at other times suggests desperation. And the directors don't do him any favors by the annoyingly frequent close-ups of audience members in convulsions of laughter.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
July 3, 2013
Let Me Explain finds Hart at the peak of his powers, so the film's long coronation feels justified, if gaudy. Strip away the preamble and just give him a mic, and he'd earn it all the same.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 3, 2013
It's not legendarily brilliant, but it's very funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
July 4, 2013
He is, maybe, a little too frenetic, too frequently at full speed. But when he gets rolling, the laugh lines come quick, one after the other, and he kills.
July 3, 2013
Once Hart is on, he's hilarious; be warned, however, he takes a long time to get under way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 3