Kick-Ass 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kick-Ass 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 231
November 18, 2017
While i have problems with the first movie because of the difference on the tone between the first and second half of the movie,this movie commits completely to not be a realistic take, what actually serve well the history,but, in the other side some of the character are not as memorable or compelling, with two main exceptions, that are ChloŽ Grace Moretz , hit girl, and Jim Carrey, colonel; Hit girl has a very good, search for identity, kind of arc, and Colonel serve as a very interesting mentor figure. Another difference to the first movie was the approach to the villains, while in the first one you have a very threatening figure on Frank D'Amico, here you have the mother f., that was well use for what it was, the character has an ok arc and work well in the movie but wasn't espectacular. In the end i believe that i can say, that i like this movie as much as the first one but for very different reasons.
½ November 17, 2017
Even though this film is fun and entertaining, but it doesn't have the feeling and the violents of the first film but overall what a fun and good film I like it.
October 14, 2017
Do you know that feeling wen you saw a movie that you liked OK but you much more interest in a sequel and how the story continues. So you think about all the possibilities which comes after some years, you got the idea to write a fan fiction.

Then you go to the cinema to see the sequel and it's your story just dumb and boring.
I just saw Kick-Ass 2 and that is exactly that happened to me but with a much worse end.
And this movie is a bit more tamed unfortunately.
½ October 12, 2017
Sequels like "Ouija: Origin of Evil" and "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" managed to do something rare, they built and elevated the potentiality that their predecessor had, which was wasted. Well, in "Kick-Ass ", the situation is exactly the opposite. The first "Kick-Ass" was awesome, a greatly developed universe and a hell of revisionist an action movie. "Kick-Ass 2" gives the characters and the new plot completely away and gives a boring, illogical, sometimes rushed, sometimes lazy, generic story, which excluded everything good in the first movie.
½ October 7, 2017
R-rated comic book fun, not a masterpiece but a very fun movie! Mother Russia has to be in my top-3 favorite over-the-top characters of all time!
½ October 2, 2017
It's charming and witty when it wants to be, with loads of terrifically intense and comedic scene. Kick-Ass 2 is just about as much fun as its predecessor if you can survive its bloody and ridiculous overall approach.
October 1, 2017
I want to see the movie
½ September 29, 2017
Mathew Vaughn does not seem to be able to keep sequel on the same level as the original film
September 23, 2017
Made me feel more uncomfortable than anything. I like ths first, but this was just... nothing. Matthew Vaughn is not good at making sequels.
August 24, 2017
Tiresome and uninspired follow up to the original. The gulf in quality between the two films is similar to the gulf between the comics and the first film. Go and read it instead.
½ August 18, 2017
SCOTT: (Dr. Scott Allison, Professor of Psychology, University of Richmond) Once again, Greg, we see ordinary people kicking some not-so-ordinary ass.

GREG: (Greg Smith, Founder of Agile Writers of Richmond, VA) It s time for round two of everyman superheroes.

SCOTT: Kick-Ass 2 begins three years after the first installment of the series. Dave (Aaron Taylor-Johnson) is now a high school senior and has retired his superhero persona. Mindy (Chlo Grace Moretz) has grown into a freshman and is still Hit-Girl, although she is careful to conceal this identity from her guardian Marcus (Morris Chestnut). When Marcus discovers that Mindy is still a superhero, he makes her promise to give it up and become a normal teen girl. Inspired by other ordinary citizens becoming superheroes, Dave re-assumes his Kick-Ass identity and joins the Justice Forever team of superheroes. Meanwhile, Chris D Amico (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) seeks to avenge his father s death by vowing to destroy Kick-Ass.

GREG: And we re off 2010 s Kick-Ass was a story about how an ordinary guy had a positive effect on his community by becoming a superhero. It had a nice message: we re already super - costume not needed. This year s Kick-Ass 2 has a bit of a confused message. Mindy attempts to give up her Hit-Girl persona and become a typical high school teen. In fact, this thread of the story looks a lot like 2004 s Mean Girls. The popular girls adopt Mindy and just as quickly turn on her leaving Mindy to wonder who she really is. Meanwhile, Dave (as Kick-Ass) joins a burgeoning group of superhero do-gooders led by Captain Stars and Stripes (Jim Carrey). The Capn gives the team their moral core and acts as a mentor. This team of masked misfits goes around town performing community service and busting up child pornography rings. Things are going pretty well until D Amico decides to create his own group of super-villains from the ranks of the city s worst criminals. That s when the tides turn and being a superhero becomes a risky undertaking.

SCOTT: Earlier this summer, when reviewing Red 2, I noted how difficult it is for a sequel to re-capture the charm of the original film. Kick-Ass 2 is no exception. The filmmakers know that we want to see the same characters recreate the former magic, but that s a tall order when Aaron Taylor-Johnson, cast as Dave, is obviously far too old to play a high school student but must play one anyway if we are to have a sequel. Kick-Ass 2 is a darker film than its predecessor, with even more stabbings, dismemberments, and decapitations than the original. In addition, the emphasis has changed from Kick-Ass as the lead character to Mindy, who is caught in the moral dilemma of either honoring her commitment to Marcus or honoring her true self. Mindy s inner struggle is central to the movie, and an argument could be made that while this is a buddy-hero story, she may actually be the main hero here.

GREG: And therein lies the confused message. Mindy is struggling with her identity as a crime fighter versus teen girl. While Dave is not struggling at all really. He goes through the hero s journey and in the end it s Mindy who has the revelation. There isn t much interaction between the two heroes in this story and it is like two movies in one. A bit of a retread of Kick-Ass (the first) and Mean Girls (with attitude). We don t really get a good reason for Mindy s conversion to the ordinary life. Marcus tells her to be a good girl and she says Okay. It s not a convincing plot point. Dave has an uncharacteristically savage attack on his father (played good-naturedly by Garrett M. Brown) when he tells him You haven t amounted to anything. Nobody will notice when you re gone. It is an abrupt rebuke when all interactions between the two had been chummy up to that point. These unexpected character eruptions seem trite and contrived.

SCOTT: I agree, Greg. This movie didn t quite know what it wanted to be. Kick-Ass 2 essentially has the same confused identity that Mindy has. But having said that, there is one aspect of the film that I truly liked. The strongest and most competent superhero is a woman, and the strongest and most competent super-villain is also a woman. Female heroes and villains are a rare breed in Hollywood, and so I found this aspect of Kick-Ass 2 to be refreshing. Also, I liked the way that Mindy becomes transformed as a character. She grows to understand that she is in quite a bit of emotional pain, and we witness her becoming aware that as with any superhero, she needs to use that pain to do the right thing. Kick-Ass himself has a far less dramatic transformation; he realizes that people need not don capes and masks to do good. Ordinary citizens just need to make the right choice. A good message, yes, but this is not as psychologically interesting as Mindy s self-insight.

GREG: You make a good point, Scott. We haven t seen such a great female hero since Disney s Brave. I love the scene where Marcus is warning Mindy to be careful on her first date and she reminds him that she knows how to kill a man with his own finger. Awesome. And Olga Kurkulina (the Ukrainian female bodybuilder as Mother Russia) was a fierce villain, in contrast to her lame male counterparts. I m also impressed with your ability to extract those two messages from this film. It wasn t as easy for me. There didn t seem to be a central theme to this film and that left me confused and unsatisfied at the end. For a fun roller-coaster ride with a good bit of action and a decent female hero, I give 3 Reels. But for a confusing hero story I give only 2 Heroes to Kick-Ass 2. Movie: Hero:

SCOTT: I m surprised you gave the film as many as 3 Reels, Greg. If I could give a film two-and-a-half Reels, I would, but since I can t, I ll be a curmudgeon and award Kick-Ass 2 a meager 2 Reels out of 5. The film is a bit of a contradiction in that it is both sweet and endearing yet brutally violent. It is also clear in its message that we should all do the right thing, yet murky in the way it takes us to that message. As for the hero story, I was also disappointed by the film s muddiness. Chlo Grace Moretz is an utter delight in her role as Mindy, and we do witness her evolve nicely as a character. But as you noted, Greg, we aren t really sure who the main hero of the story is, and the hero journeys themselves were a bit muddled. For that reason, I ll be a miser and give the film only 2 Heroes out of 5. Movie: Hero:
August 6, 2017
This film is just like the 1st ....no better, no worse.
Just another dose of Kick Ass and Hit Girl and all those in-between....and for that I loved it, just as I loved number one. It doesn't try to eclipse its predecessor...it just extends the fun. This may be criticized by many, for lack of originality. However...if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Full of great dialogue and fantastic action, these films are blast to watch. The mix of extreme geek, hardcore action and tongue-firmly-in-cheek British humour. Matthew Vaughn's influence is still present (in casting and in tone) and the formula still works. The script is missing Jane Goldman's touch but this is not as detrimental as you would expect. I had a smile all the way through this film...and I hope others do too.
There are some fantastic kills/deaths from both the good guys and the bad (definite points for originality there) and the action constantly treads the line between brutal and hilarious.
Chloe Moretz will be definitely be one to watch in the future. She does very well to carry the film, remaining the centre of story and occasionally sharing the spotlight with Aaron Taylor-Johnson as Kick Ass. Whereas the 1st was very much about Kick Ass's journey, this one concentrates on Hit Girl (seen by many as the true 'star' of the original). It's nice to see Moretz back in the role that shot her to stardom...but this is definitely not all she is about. I implore you to see some other great performances from the rest of her CV.

"Mindy... take care of yourself"
"Please...I can kill a man with his own finger!"
.......and she does

To sum up - go see this... You'll be glad you did.
July 27, 2017
im a big fan of kick ass i got the comic
July 19, 2017
Good sequel in the next installment in the kick a franchise but for some reason people hate this movie and want to destroy it for some reason. But let's keep on going starring the same people from the first movie, the guy from Godzilla and chole what's her face, the girl from Hugo. I found this movie really entertaining, again with me repeating myself, why do people hate this movie, I liked it period end of story.
½ July 9, 2017
Poor sequel to a nice movie
½ July 2, 2017
I normally agree with RT but i dont get the negative ratings. It was exactly what i thought it would be. Amazing? No, but solid? Yes
June 18, 2017
Not nearly as good as the first, but nevertheless still a funny movie with some great action.
June 13, 2017
it good but need more fuck
½ June 11, 2017
Kick Ass 2 isn't as refreshing or as original as the the first, but it still succeeds in delivering lights, entertaining action and a surprising amount of emotion.
June 10, 2017
Utterly fails to recapture the charm of the original. Just offensive and bland.
Page 1 of 231