The Kid & I - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Kid & I Reviews

Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
December 6, 2005
The mesmerizingly awful The Kid & I is a historic first: a comedy about the making of a vanity production that is itself a vanity production.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
December 5, 2005
It's terribly uneven, it's far too corny and it's really not all that great, but it's so strange and so compelling that you have to see it.
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
December 2, 2005
It would be nice to say that The Kid & I delivers a heartwarming message of perseverance while showing a lighter side of Arnold and spotlighting a new star. Unfortunately, it would not be true.
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
December 2, 2005
Tom Arnold does have talent, but some self-defeating streak keeps him from using it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
December 2, 2005
What sets The Kid & I apart from most Hollywood comedies is its restraint, on the part of Arnold, both as writer and actor, as well as Spheeris. Comedy actually grows out of character and situation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
December 2, 2005
This wan attempt at inspirational comedy doesn't bother to look closely at anything.
| Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
December 1, 2005
A chore to watch, The Kid and I is self-congratulatory, excruciatingly sentimental and sloppily written and directed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
John Anderson
Variety
December 1, 2005
A top-shelf director, well-known cast and an upbeat storyline should combine to give the The Kid and I a feel-good ride at the B.O.
Top Critic
Robert K. Elder
Chicago Tribune
December 1, 2005
Though The Kid & I falters as both a comedy and an After School Special, it works as a rather touching episode of This is Your Life, with a parade of cameos from Arnold's career that'll coax a sniffle or two from his family.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
December 1, 2005
The Kid and I is not a great film, but you know what? It achieves what it sets out to achieve, and it isn't boring, and it kept me intrigued and involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
L.A. Weekly
December 1, 2005
Gores certainly seems to be enjoying himself, and diplomacy and plain old good taste prevent one from saying much of anything about his screen performance. Arnold doesn't merit such kindness, nor does producer and director Penelope Spheeris.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
November 30, 2005
A movie with a message as self-congratulatory as it is meta: All problems are surmountable when selfless Hollywooders work extra, extra hard, pulling together 'for the kid.'
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Village Voice
November 29, 2005
The Kid & I qualifies as the most indulgent kind of homemade project, laden with tediously inspirational dialogue and visuals that seem shot through half-fizzled Yuengling.