The Kid Stays in the Picture - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Kid Stays in the Picture Reviews

Page 2 of 14
May 30, 2012
A fascinating look into one of the seminal movie executives of the late 20th century. His candor and honesty - and even a hint of humility - provides insight beyond the normal self-agrandizing documentaries of most industry players.
½ April 21, 2012
Well crafted doco on an interesting life.
½ April 17, 2012
I was under the impression that Evans' life was a lot crazier than this tepid narration. Maybe the book's better.
½ March 23, 2012
Extremely inventive way of telling a story of a man. Pity I find it so hard to like Robert Evans and it makes Steve Mcqueen look like a jackass....which is odd.
½ February 5, 2012
Brilliant documentary detailing the extraordinary life and times of one of Hollywood's biggest movie producers. Evans' hard-boiled narration is both tough and heart-warming as he climbs to the top only to have the love of his life run off with the world' biggest movie star. Footage and animated photographs of the period only heighten the glamorous, sleazy and captivating world of the 60s and 70s. Recommended. .
January 23, 2012
If we were making a Mt. Rushmore of Colossal Blowhards, Bob Evans would be the Abraham Lincoln of that monument. A supremely entertaining look inside one of the biggest players in the Hollywood scene in the 70s and 80s, it runs the gamut of the human emotional roller coaster, and gives insider information about the production of some of the biggest and best movies of all time.
½ December 18, 2011
The life story of film producer Bob Evans is really fascinating.
December 18, 2011
48. The Kid Stays in the Picture
December 12, 2011
i've watched quite a few documentarys, and this one i'd say is right up there with the best. Take a look inside the real Hollywood.......lots of great stories from the last days of when Hollywood was great ie the 1970's. Hollywood needs another Robert Evans!!!1
½ December 1, 2011
The biggest Hollywood icon nobody has ever heard of. For people interested in classic film history only.
November 7, 2011
A documentary about a producer? Yes please. A fascinating look at an actor turned producer/studio executive at Paramount.
½ November 6, 2011
This is a very interesting documentary on Legendary film Producer Robert Evans who is responsible for making some of the biggest classics of the 70'2 including The Godfather, Chinatown and Love Story. This is a must for film loves...check it out!
October 1, 2011
it's free on netflix, and it's good.
September 25, 2011
An interesting and well made Documentary of a life that started out with a series of coincidences before Evans took the life he wanted with brass balls. He gambled, he won, but then came the downfall due to some questionable choices. I admit this doc is a little self indulging, and i would have liked to see some interviews with some big names and their opinion of the man.
½ September 12, 2011
An extremely enjoy guide to Paramont Picture told from the POV of it's youngest ever Head Cheese Robert Evans.
½ August 19, 2011
this is pretty hilarious. the guy has made some great movies and, boy, is he proud of himself!
½ August 16, 2011
A fascinating documentary in terms of both subject matter and style. A must see for film buffs.
August 4, 2011
Fascinating time period in Hollywood.
June 28, 2011
Despite being a little self-serving at times, and despite Evans' mumbling narration, this is an interesting look into one of the most famous movie producers of the modern age. Keep watching the credits at the end to see Dustin Hoffman do a spot-on impression of Evans.
½ May 8, 2011
I dont know what to say. It was kind fo interesting, but the guy did not seem that great. The narration tried to make it more personal, but still wasn't good enough for the movie.
Page 2 of 14