Kidnapped - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kidnapped Reviews

Page 2 of 9
May 30, 2013
a real thought provoking gut punching film
April 3, 2013
More interesting as a technical achievement than as a suspense/horror film, but still also not even really that effective on a technical side either since this type of thing, a movie put together from a limited amount of very long takes, has been done better before (Irreversible, Rope). I thought the daughter was good, but the whimpering got to be a bit much during the last twenty minutes or so. The opening of the film didn't tie in very well, too much guesswork has to be done to even imagine how it fits, also...nobody actually gets kidnapped as far as the standard definition of the word goes. I was surprised by how long and standard this hour and twenty minutes felt.
½ March 17, 2013
I'm giving it a good score for the direction, editing, and overall technical goodness. It loses points for devolving into dumbass horror victim territory. I found most of the characters' actions to be believable, but there was one point that nearly undid all the immersion for me.

Spoiler: If the father had just put a bullet in the head of the criminal AFTER HE KNOCKED HIM UNCONSCIOUS FOR MINUTES, a guy he knew had no compunctions about slaughtering his family, everyone would have lived. How dumb can you get? God that pissed me off.
March 14, 2013
I really wish I had had the option of watching this with subtitles, rather than dubbed. That was really distracting, because it was quite emotionless and didn't jive well with the disturbing content of the film. But the plot is good, although a bit too harsh at times. For the most part this is a well-made film, I would just have much rather read subtitles than listened to the English dub.
½ March 13, 2013
Hiszpa?skie kino jest naprawd?... specyficzne. I bardzo, bardzo brutalne!
½ February 16, 2013
The plot looks familiar and uninteresting ....sadistic torture movie,that very well reminded me of Jodie Foster's 'The Panic Room' which was really gripping
½ December 9, 2012
Silly but watchable home invasion horror flick from Spain that was remade into an English language comedy starring Nicolas Cage and Nicole Kidman.
½ December 9, 2012
Silly but watchable home invasion horror flick from Spain that was remade into an English language comedy starring Nicolas Cage and Nicole Kidman.
November 26, 2012
After getting over the initial shock of taking in the final 10 minutes, I have the strength to write this review. Over the top realism within every realm of the film, shocking moments left and right, as a horror film lover I have never jumped as badly as i did within the few jump scares within the film. As much as i was hooked onto the screen, it was hard to watch the intense violence. This film is in
NO way for the faint of heart. Jaw dropping moments abound within this film, and you care so much for these people, their faults aside (trust me, at one point you'll hate one of the protagonists for being a total ditz, but hey, you can't avoid that, its a horror thriller). Easily one of the scariest films i have ever had the privilege of seeing, and it's definitely an experience worth enduring if you're a fan of the genre.
October 18, 2012
I was expecting something more from Cayo!!!!
October 12, 2012
my gosh... shut up and get a bat!
September 23, 2012
Kinda accidentally caught this on Netflix. It's horrible in every sense of the word. I could review the film making and make a strong case for why none of the actions and reactions make any sense or are in any way believable, but that's not the point. This is torture porn pure and simple. I'm hoping someday our world will move beyond finding joy in watching other people suffer horribly. You should be ashamed, Netflix. And knock it off.
September 14, 2012
Interesting, intriguing, engaging. The plot initially seems similar to Michael Haneke's "Funny Games", but any similarities are only at the most basic plot levels. (By the way, the original (German/Austrian) Funny Games was superb, but the US remake, also directed by Michael Haneke, was crap). Kidnapped has the same uncompromising grit and lack of Hollywood happy ending (a very good thing), that Funny Games had.

Good performances all round.
September 11, 2012
Do not watch the dubbed english version. This was a freaking great story & filmed with precision
½ September 6, 2012
El verdadero terror ya no se encuentra en vampiros, fantasmas y monstruos. Ahora se encuentra en la puerta de la casa. El director Miguel Angel Vivas, siguiendo la tradicion de la traumatizante "Funny Games" de Michael Haneke, nos presenta la cinta "Solos en la oscuridad", que cuenta la historia de una familia (padre, madre e hija adolescente) que ven violada la seguridad de su hogar al ser invadidos por tres despiadados ladrones profesionales. Esta es una experiencia que lo dejara sin poder dormir durante varios dias.
September 5, 2012
This was such a good movie to watch. Hopelessness, brutality, and intensity. One of my favorites for sure. For any of the critics to pan this, although I agree that you have the right to not like this, you're foolishly out of touch. No wonder we have lackluster movies in the States and countless remakes. Pat on the back there, boys and girls, your sense of taste is underwhelming. This movie did not disappoint.
August 30, 2012
A shocking Spanish film in the same realm as Michael Heneke's "Funny Games", but a LOT more shocking!
August 12, 2012
Secuestrados may not be original but it knows exactly how to fry your nerves and leave you in state of shock. Great cinematography. It will definitely terrify you.
½ August 11, 2012
definitely not an American movie. brutal, in fact. I liked it
Page 2 of 9