Kika - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kika Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Super Reviewer
January 27, 2016
For me, Kika represents the last of the trashy Almodóvar films that I think maybe he did to death. Granted there is enough of his signature humour and strong female performances to like but personally, I really tired of the tasteless 'rape humour'. I liked the character of Kika but after a good start, it just went downhill, only peaking in the last minute, albeit a bit too late to save it.
½ May 22, 2015
A silly and perverse exorcise from Almodovar that entertains despite itself.
August 31, 2014
To me, the best Almodovar's movie. He's at the highest level of his typically dirty sexy image (not only the women, everything), abandoned only with Talk to Her. All great characters, but, of course, Kika is the best, a wonderfully peculiar (highly!) sensible and realistic woman.
November 28, 2013
Loca, divertida y absurda. Kika no sera de lo mejor de Almodovar pero vale mucho la pena. (La escena de la violacion es de las escenas mas graciosas que he visto, y mira que para hacer de una violacion algo de que reirse solo Pedro A. lo puede lograr. Tiene una narrativa muy revoltosa y confusa y no tendra mucho sentido pero la actuacion de Veronica F. como Kika es espectacular.
Super Reviewer
February 8, 2013
Very colourful, and very dark, but also very average for Almodovar
Super Reviewer
October 12, 2012
A mixed success, "Kika" juggles an erratic batch of characters and barely keeps its balls in the air. It's so confused that even the central role is disputable -- is it Kika or her boyfriend Ramon? Perhaps writer/director Pedro Almodovar decided putting Kika's name in the title was a necessary clarification.

Kika is an effervescent makeup artist who pretties up the dead for funerals. She is summoned to work on the recently departed Ramon ("He'll turn green soon...get rid of the pallor before we take him to the morgue") but, surprise! He's merely having a cataleptic seizure. After he revives, he and Kika begin living together. But she's also having a casual affair with his stepfather Nicholas. Who is suspected of killing Ramon's mother years ago, even though her death was ruled a suicide. Nicholas is also pursued by Andrea, a scar-faced tabloid reporter who dresses like a dominatrix and wears a ridiculous helmet rigged with a TV camera. To complicate matters, she is his ex-girlfriend and also Ramon's ex-psychologist. Meanwhile, Kika and Ramon have a hatchet-faced maid whose brother is a former porn actor newly escaped from jail.

Wow.

Not even Almodovar can give this mess a coherent dramatic shape, though he gives himself a break by writing the maid and her brother out of the story early (but not before using the latter for what could be the funniest rape scene in film history). Veronica Forque and Victoria Abril offer gutsy, uninhibited performances as the brazen Kika and Andrea, and Peter Coyote (Nicholas) gives Americans a familiar face to follow.
September 6, 2012
By the early 1990's, Pedro Almodóvar had become a favourite in world cinema, making diverse yet beautifully looking and critically acclaimed films. As his follow up to High Heels (1991), he made a sort of retreat into the campy outrageousness of his early films, a satire on the intrusive nature of the media. Some of it works, some of it doesn't, but it has some good performances and some other-worldly costumes by Jean Paul Gaultier. Kika (Veronica Forquà (C)) is a make-up artist who aspires to be an actress, who ends up involved with American writer Nicholas Pierce (Peter Coyote), and his stepson Ramón (Alex Casanovas). Ramón went into a state of catatonia after his mother died, but Kika seems to have brought him out of it, and they both move in together, however Kika also ends up having an affair with Nicholas as well. This captures the attention of trashy tabloid TV presenter Andrea Caracortada (Victoria Abril), who goes around with a video camera on her head filming grieving people and aftermaths of violent encounters. After Kika has a traumatic incident, Andrea Caracortada won't leave her alone. This film has a rape scene played for laughs, it shouldn't work, but it does, sort of. But, the film on a whole if kind of like someone you found funny when you were younger, but they're trying to be funny and wacky years later, and it looks embarrassing. It does look good mind, but even Almodóvar later said the film was a let down.
½ September 3, 2012
As it provocative and avanguard for the time it was made it's good example how thing can be show completely different. For example death. excellent cinematography.
½ July 29, 2012
Perhaps it's caught me at the right mood, but this was a riot of over-the-top, crazy people, bound by the sticky web of... sex. Bizarre, disturbing, hilarious, surreal: has to be watched to be believed.
June 2, 2012
Once again almodovar is taking us into his mad world of crazy characters & situations! some parts are really funny, especially when the police officers are desperatly trying to get the rapist off the poor woman! A top comic scene! The cast is great as always, the storyline pretty intense but interesting as always. A good one definitely!
May 29, 2012
That rape scene is just too overwhelming. A playful work from Almodovar. The ending is just too explosive for me.
½ February 8, 2012
Before "Todo Sobre Mi Madre," this was, by far and away, my favorite Almodovar film, despite the polarizingly mixed reviews by film critics. I absolutely loved the main character's joy and optimism, even in the most harrowing of circumstances. Truly hilarious and outrageous from start to finish! I'm still at odds as to whether I like this one over the far more serious and critically acclaimed "Habla con Elle".... Whatever the case, it's definitely one of my top three all-time Almodovar faves!
January 15, 2012
Ok, it's not a novelty for Almodovar not to make sense, but this was beyond imagination... From the beginning till the end (and especially in the end) I found it impossible to follow the story. But that's not a problem, in fact it was rather fun now and then. But I didn't find it so interesting. Kika herself was hilarious (the rape scene can only be discribed as: what the hell?!) but Abril's character should have been killed off way before, I just couldn't stand her.
½ January 2, 2012
Sólo un genio como Almodóvar es capaz de convertir una historia sobre asesinos seriales, violadores, y voyeur en una hilarante sátira sobre la prensa roja, y que pese a los dramáticos eventos que suceden, no pares de reír desde el inicio hasta el final.
½ January 1, 2012
Only Almodovar can make a rape scene so damn funny
January 1, 2012
As dramatic and absurd as always, Almodovar's masterful character-piece follows the rumbustious Kika, an outrageously positive force, giggling and smiling wonderfully through everything her life throws at her in this incredibly camp satire.
November 18, 2011
Ótimo filme que levei alguns anos pra assistir.
½ November 1, 2011
Overflowing with ideas and creativity, it's a shame Almodovar didn't opt to hone his creativity down and focus on expanding his more brilliant ideas more fully, because Kika is all over the place. With legs akimbo this film shows Almodovar at his most erratic, skipping from scene to scene, never entirely making sense and bombarding the viewer with increasingly more surreal scenarios. Admittedly when it works, there are flashes of outrageous brilliance, such as a 10 minute rape scene shockingly played for laughs, and the costumes courtesy of Jean-Paul Gaultiere are fantastic. But ultimately its not enough; for me this is Almodovar's least satisfying film.
October 19, 2011
Loved it, amazing, LIVE, provocative, non sense in a good way!
May 30, 2011
Verónica Forqué is amazing and Kika is another wild and great movie by the spanish director.
Page 1 of 12