Kika - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kika Reviews

Page 2 of 12
May 25, 2011
Light, wacky and completely outrageous in the best sense of the word.
May 15, 2011
Con respecto a Almódovar, soy tremendamente fácil. Kika es una exagerada comedia, que tiene cosas muy divertidas, con el peculiar humor y toque de Almodovar, y hay que tener un humor peculiar para que la escena mas chistosa en tu pelicula, sea una violacion. Kika es otro ejemplo de los fenomenales ojo y pluma de Almodovar.

Veronica Forque hace una gran Kika, ella se gana el corazon del espectador, uno ve el personaje con compasicion, aun en sus errores, uno la ve humana; y es que una de las genialidades de Almodovar es escribir personajes femeninos, el realmente conoce a las mujeres, no importa que tan raros sean los personajes, uno encuentra similitudes con las mujeres que rodean nuestra realidad. La pelicula no es perfecta, tiene sus baches, pero se recupera y encuentra su rumbo.
April 24, 2011
Es un thriller con toques de comedia. Buena.
½ April 13, 2011
Monday, April 11, 2011

(1993) Kika
(In Spanish with English subtitles)
DRAMA/ COMEDY/ MYSTERY

The name "Kika" is a name of a kooky female hair dresser who seems to get in the middle of some crazy situations such as murder suicide, book writings, media exposures, peepings and cover ups! As in most of director Pedro Aldomovar films, I don't find them to be funny, even though some are intended to be comedies, but what stand out the most are the twists and turns as well as the most bizarre of situations that don't happen to our everyday lives but do happen here and it works, in this case as well as most othersof Aldomovar films things begin to unravel until after the first hour, and start to make sense! This is no soap opera and viewers should also expect to see the most strangest and the most oddest circumstances that wouldn't happen to most normal citizens!

3 out of 4
March 5, 2011
A maquiadora Kika (Veronica Forqué) é chamada para maquiar um defunto, Ramon, na mansão de Nicholas (Peter Coyote). Chegando lá, ela descobre que ele está vivo, e os dois acabam se apaixonando e vão morar juntos. Logo é formada uma rede de intrigas e mistérios em relação à morte de da mãe de Ramon.
½ January 16, 2011
loo quee maas me gusta de Almodovar es todo el color que tienen sus películas
½ January 13, 2011
Comedia de humor negro, divertida si no te pones exigente con las incoherencias y localismos españoles.

Hay momentos donde parece un sketch cómico de programa nocturno.
November 13, 2010
A bit different Almodóvar. Silly, outrageous and actually funny. All in all not a masterpiece by any standards but certainly one of the better Almodóvars.
September 22, 2010
Film bello e divertente, nonostante la storia e il finale ti lascia proprio col sorriso in faccia.
KIKA! Che personaggio da parte di Almodovar, non so, mi sembra che sia un personaggio che impersonifica la libertà...

Carino carino carino.
September 6, 2010
Mér fannst hún nú bara ágæt - þrátt fyrir alræmda nauðgunaratriðið
½ August 18, 2010
Sitting down to an Almodovar film, I always assume that the film will be brilliant; filled with bright colours, powerful Spanish women, and a plethora of perverse themes. While this is generally a safe assumption, watching Kika last night revealed to me that even Pedro is prone to the occasional slip-up.

Kika (Veronica Forque) is a cosmetologist who is invited by American author Nicholas (Peter Coyote) to apply make-up to the dead body of his step-son, Ramon. Ramon wakes up while this is happening and Kika immediately jumps into a relationship with him ? while also bedding Nicholas on the side. Meanwhile, Andrea (Victoria Abril) is the host of a TV show that captures live killings, conducts interviews with relations of murder victims, and other morbid subject matter. She begins following Nicholas around (wearing a ridiculous camera-helmet) as she suspects he may be a murderer, having killed Ramon's mother among other women. Throw into this a supporting cast of incestous siblings - one a lesbian, one a rapist porn-star ? and you have the typical Almodoverian formula.

The film starts off intriguingly. The dynamic between Nicholas and Ramon is a cauldron of repressed emotions, as both characters seem to respectfully resent each other. However, the titular character Kika is the weakest Almodovar protagonist I've seen; she's squeaky, irritating, and the only thing that gives her any solidity is her simplicity. While Almodovar intended this to an extent, using her as a counterpoint to all the perverts and psychopaths that populate the film, she simply lacks the magnetic presence of other Almodovar heroines.

Almodovar's themes of voyeurism and death-obsession are present in Kika, but they fail to truly pervade the film. Ramon's camera-obsession doesn't do justice to the killer in Peeping Tom, which Kika references. Likewise, Nicholas' fascination with killing without consequence doesn't come across as the all-consuming impulse that the viewer would expect Almodovar to convey (see Matador for a better exploration of death and desire). In fact, the most driven and perverse character in the film is Andrea, who's willing to do literally anything to ensure the success of her TV show.

Kika is an empty shell of an Almodovar film. The eye for colour and imaginative framing is there, the storyline is there, but it just isn't filled with any of the usual sexy, perverse substance. Almodovar's always been good at the comical, but here he takes it a step too far which trivialises his fascination with provocative themes. The rape scene best sums this up, as it goes from being darkly comical, to downright banal after an exhausting 10 minutes.

For me, seeing Almodovar go wrong just this once puts into perspective the genius at work in most of his other films. That being said, Kika showcases very little of what Almodovar has to offer as a filmmaker and shouldn't be put forward to the uninitiated as an example of his works.
½ August 13, 2010
Kinda frustrating in its inconsistency, Almodovar obviously hadn't learnt how to blend comedy and violence to be able to make this work. It really does feel like Kika is wandering around in the wrong film. And Coyote's dubbing is extremely distracting, I couldn't concentrate on anything else when he was speaking.
½ July 1, 2010
You really need some time to get into this one. The first 30 minutes I found it boring and not very funny. But once I realized the humor of this film, I was laughing on the floor. The whole rape sequence is among the best bits of film I've ever seen. In that scene everything works out perfectly: the actors are great, the humor is just on spot and acceptably provoking.
Unfortunately, the rest of the movie (especially the way over the top ending) couldn't keep up with that scene.
June 30, 2010
A hillarious Satire i laughed my Head off all the Time every Scene and Line is do damn funny my Favourite Scene was the Rape Scene it goes on and on and this Stupid Cops when they try to bring him down and the Woman talk with the Rapist just like they working together or something overall these People are like the Inhabtians of a Sick & Twisted World but for this People this is normal this Characters are so Grotueske Kika, the Portugese Sex Maniac, the Woman Murdering Writer, the Lesbian, Kika's covering Boyfriend and of course the ruthless Reporter with the Scarface defently one of my Favourite Movies
May 8, 2010
Likeable Almodovar black comedy, that gets away with a lot.
½ May 3, 2010
No my bag, doesn't like this at all.
Where does all the E.T ' s ( Extra-Terrestrial ) person's come from ? in Almodovar's film's, i mean look at for one the person, that Victoria Abril play's ... LoL ...
Tiresome.
April 30, 2010
Veronica Forque is hilarious.
April 27, 2010
Funny, bizarre, quirky and quite entertaining even though not the most known of Almodovar's movies.
½ April 24, 2010
après une demi-heure j'ai arrêté ce film ni queue ni tête, floue dans sa narration et avec un personnage principal insupportable! Almodovar s'est nettement amélioré par la suite...
½ April 13, 2010
Pedro Almod-var's trend of sex and comedy combined is not everyone's fun, but I found this one cheeky and more original than most.
Page 2 of 12