Kill and Kill Again - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kill and Kill Again Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ December 3, 2018
The second of 2 movies directed by Ivan Hall starring James Ryan as Steve Chase
May 6, 2017
A megalomaniac kidnaps a Nobel-prize winning chemist, drugs a village, and trains them into army of martial artists, as this evil mastermind plans to infect the world's water supply with the same serum that bends these people to his will. The government hires Steve Chase, multi-time world-champion martial artist, who gathers out of retirement his four friends (each with his own unique talent and charm) to rescue the chemist and foil this sinister plot. This film is one of my all-time favorite guilty pleasures: if you enjoy cheese and truly gifted martial artists, you will fall in love with this film. You will smile, wince, and laugh at this B-movie gem. I've seen this film 100 times, and would cheerfully watch it another 100!
½ September 8, 2016
Before watching Kill And Kill Again, the sequel to Kill Or Be Killed (which I haven't seen), I'd suffered through three productions by Edward Montoro: Day Of The Animals, Grizzly, and Mutant. Each film left me with that unpleasant feeling in the pit of my stomach that started cropping up sometime in my late twenties: the knowledge that I'm definitely going to die one day, that feeling that life is short, and the suspicion that - partially because of movies like the three aforementioned - I've all but wasted my allotted span hitherto.

So it's not difficult to imagine my mindset when Kill And Kill Again's opening credits rolled, and there was Montoro's name plastered across the screen. I'd already paid good money for the thing, which represents work and arguably falls into that time-wasted category. Then again, if I watched what I was sure would be an atrocious movie, that would be another couple hours of my inevitable race to the grave spent on yet another horrendous Montoro film. Do I cut my losses now, or truly shame myself by letting Montoro fool me a fourth time?

Obviously I chose to watch it. Buried beneath my existential nihilism is, in fact, an optimist. My findings?

You heard it here first: Kill And Kill Again is kung-fu gold.

Well, ok, silver. But for Monotoro it might as well be platinum.

It's obvious he missed his calling: after watching three of the worst horrors ever shot on film, I watched Kill And Kill Again, an eighties kung-fu flick, and realized Montoro as a producer missed his calling. Don't get me wrong, 'derivative' still (as always) applies, and I can't judge whether Montoro's was intentionally satirical - maybe my modern sensibilities mistook an actually genuine attempt at a serious kung-fu movie for a tongue-in-cheek romp - but maybe, just maybe, Montoro (without a miraculous accident) actually turned out exactly the sort of film he wanted to make, and it was actually good.

James Ryan stars as Steve Chase, a world-renowned martial artist who (presumably in the first film) is no stranger to getting dragged into contests of a nature that's decidedly more lethal than your average cage-match. Model/beauty-queen Anneline Kriel plays Kandy Kane - I swear this isn't a skin-flick - who drags Chase on a quest to save her father, who's been abducted by the evil genius Marduk. Together they assemble an A-Team style crew of the usual typecast-oddballs and token-whatever's, who set out to karate-chop and roundhouse-kick their way to Dr. Kane.

Marduk - who's as comically villainous as you'd expect with a comic-book name like that - kidnapped Dr. Kane to work on his latest mastermind scheme for world domination. He's cooked up a potato-based obedience serum, and needs Dr. Kane to perfect it. Seriously, he's taking over the world with potatoes, and if that isn't intentional comedy I don't know what to call it. Marduk's got an entire campus full of brainwashed youths already on the drug, who he's raising as his personal karate army. Once Marduk's plan ripens (heh, get it, because potatoes?) he'll enthrall the entire world, assuming Chase, Kane and their sidekicks don't stop him.

Nothing about this movie, when viewed superficially, should have been enjoyable. It's got a white South African, James Ryan, all but parodying Bruce Lee (I could never figure out whether I was supposed to believe Ryan was actually Asian). The voice-acting sounds like a racist's interpretation of Native American mannerisms. Sexism is blatant, even for an eighties movie, although I'll give Montoro this: Kandy Kane is a far more active heroine than any of his others female leads. She'd critical to the plot, in fact, and gets in a few badass moments herself.

Kung-fu movies have a reputation for being cheesy and over the top; it's an inverse relationship between the realism of the kung-fu, and the awesomeness of the movie, and Kill And Kill Again wisely doesn't deviate. There's an obvious bit of realism beneath the choreography, but their ultimate goal was entertainment rather than believability. It's got everything we've all come to expect from these sorts of martial-arts movies: spinning kicks, backflipping as a valid means of daily transportation, parkour inspired wall-flips, and outright absurdism when it comes to how many (supposedly well-trained) combatants our heroes can fend off and defeat all on their lonesome.

As a matter of fact, Kill And Kill Again broke new cinematic ground, which isn't something I thought I'd ever say about a Montoro production. My jaw literally dropped a couple inches when I saw it. You'll recall the slow-mo spinning-bullet shots in The Matrix, I'm sure; turns out KAKA was the very first instance of that now iconic shot. Even more impressively, they accomplished it all without the modern technology The Matrix and other imitators relied on. A dolly, a camera, some plexiglass and clever lighting were basically all they used for the setup.

Innovation? Montoro? My core beliefs are thoroughly shaken.

Kill And Kill Again is, slow-mo bullet sequence aside, nothing new. It isn't plowing deep into fresh narrative territory; the minimal character development isn't masking any biting social commentary; the cinematography's impressive, but it's an action movie, so I expect nothing less.

But it's fun. It's enjoyable. You can laugh at the over-the-top kung-fu (or karate, whatever it's supposed be). You can dig the eighties nostalgia which is ultimately the genre's hallmark. You can turn your brain off, kick back, and prepare to be entertained with the comfortable knowledge that Kill And Kill Again won't require an iota of your upper-level cognitive function to fully enjoy what it has to offer.

And, like me, you can say you finally watched an enjoyable Montoro film.
½ August 8, 2015
I will be honest and say that I found this movie to be very entertaining.
James Ryan is very watchable as the Kung Fu master who recruits a team to go save a girl from an evil dictator who wants to enslave the world.
The action is lots of fun and even though the story is little goofy it flows very well.
Though I hadn't seen the first film, this is a sequel to Kill Or Be Killed, it was still good as a stand alone film.
And even though it was PG it was as good as any R rated action film from the time.
Cheesy fun.
December 24, 2014
hilariously bad chop sucky flick
½ October 16, 2013
Sequel to Kill Or Be Killed, although James Ryan's Steve character has a different last name here. Group of martial artists foil a madman's plot of world domination from a mind-control drug extracted from a kidnapped scientist. Cartoonish elements fall flat and are unnecessary.
August 18, 2013
An entertaining, if odd, poorly made, and less than progress picture.
October 27, 2012
Kill or be Killed follow up. Martial arts award winner Steve saves a chemist whose work developing fuel from potatoes produces a mind control drug a man with a bad fake beard uses to create an army of martial artists aimed at world domination.
January 29, 2011
This movie stars me!
April 6, 2010
Kill or be Killed follow up. Martial arts award winner Steve saves a chemist whose work developing fuel from potatoes produces a mind control drug a man with a bad fake beard uses to create an army of martial artists aimed at world domination.
December 23, 2007
This movie is so good, it's horrible.
½ December 4, 2007
A locally produced kung fu movie? Moustaches on every male's face? a turned up nike cap? Bill Flynn? The word kill twice in the title?
Bottom line: You GOtta ?***in See It!!! real shit movie but you'll enjoy each second ;P
September 10, 2007
Killing, killing, and more killing. And potato fuel. And mind controlling drugs.
August 11, 2007
Man, I almost wanna see it on title alone.
June 21, 2007
What are you going to do after you kill?
May 31, 2007
The word kill appears twice in the title of this film. Sometimes I really think 5 stars just isn't enough.
April 25, 2007
Ok, I gotta tell ya that my rating isnt based on the actual merits of this film. In truth, its a turkey but its one of the most enjoyable turkeys of my childhood. Awesome drive in fodder. Anything that involves kung fu and a plot to rule the world with a mind control serum derived from potatoes has my vote.
Page 1 of 1