The Killing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Killing Reviews

Page 2 of 63
½ August 7, 2015
This movie is a proof that you don't need a hug budget, not a big production company to make a good movie. Stanley Kubrick has done an amazing job by creating this masterpiece with such a small amount of money.
The dialogues in this movie is such an amazing and so is the acting, which are the two main things you need to take care when creating a movie and both are really well done here. Plus the story line is authentic and well put together. This movie apparently surprised a lot of other movies of it's time.
August 6, 2015
Lá nos anos 50 Kubrick já inovava em modos de contar uma história - e aqui ele faz um dos primeiros exemplos de uma narrativa não-linear de forma brilhante e influenciando gerações de cineastas e roteiristas.
July 7, 2015
Great classic heist movie. Sterling is very good as the main protaganist and the movie is put together very well. Not like any classic Ive seen before. Some of the plot is a bit paper thing but overall its a good classic. Watch it.
July 1, 2015
Maravillosa joya cinematográfica.
½ July 1, 2015
It's definitely a masterpiece, but still too "logical" (not "emotional" enough) for me.
June 22, 2015
Great story, great directing, great ending. But, the acting was pretty poor. A lot of the dialogue was cheesy. But, the ending was very suspenseful and it provided great closure to a complex plot.
½ June 17, 2015
This crime drama, Kubrick's third feature, is far more even and polished than his previous two, it may feel less original and has much less of the director's personal style, but crucially that doesn't affect its effectiveness; it's a much better play on Hitchcockian themes than Killer's Kiss and the way the tense third act builds slowly to the titular 'perfect crime' is elegant and powerful.
½ May 27, 2015
The Killing is classic film noir which is not just Kubrick's first sign of greatness but among his very best. Well-paced with good character development and top-notch suspense throughout as well as subtle humor. The Killing delivers which is among the best film noir/thrillers of all time.
May 19, 2015
Stanley Kubrick had directed two films prior to this, but he considered this his first film and it's likely my all-time favorite heist film. With a script by cult crime author Jim Thompson (though only credited with "additional dialogue," most suspect he wrote a majority of the film) the film just crackles with terse dialogue and tight direction from Kubrick. The film centers around recently released ex-con Sterling Hayden putting together a plan to rob a race track. with the likes of Joe Sawyer, Elisha Cook Jr. and Timothy Carey. There's also Coleen Gray, Vince Edwards and Marie Windsor rounding out a solid cast of character and B-actors. Kubrick makes every frame interesting to look at and Hayden, as always, commands the screen. My only complaint is the unnecessary voiceover, which Kubrick was reportedly made to do by the studio and had little interest in making it work. However, besides that, the film is a flawless caper film and still deserves five stars for all it's positives.
May 8, 2015
Starring Sterling Hayden, Jay C. Flippen, Elisha Cook, Marie Windsor, Vince Edwards and Coleen Gray. Superior heist film stars Hayden as a down-on-his-luck ex-con who assembles a motley crew of men to rob a racetrack, each of which has his own motivation for needing the money. Marie Windsor stands out in a fine supporting cast as Cook's greedy wife. The film's ironic twist ending brings to mind "The Treasure of the Sierra Madre." Directed by Stanley Kubrick.
April 25, 2015
"$2,000,000 Pay-Off? Blood splattered apartment and four dead bodies greeted the police of the 47th Precinct last night. Mass murder took place at 21 Walker Drive and is believed to be tied in with "THE KILLING"!"

These 5 Men Had a $2,000,000 Secret Until One of them told this Woman!

"...In All Its Fury and Violence"

"...Like No Other Picture Since "Scarface" and "Little Caesar"!"


Excellent film from Kubrick starring Hayden, best known to most as Capt Mccluskey in The Godfather. Supposedly was huge influence on Tarantino's Reservoir Dogs.


Rodney Dangerfield reportedly appears as an extra in the racetrack fight scene.

Initial test screenings were poor, citing the non-linear structure as the main problem. Stanley Kubrick was forced to go back and edit the film in a linear fashion, actually making the film even more confusing. In the end, it was released in its original form, and is often cited as being a huge influence on other non-linear films like Reservoir Dogs (1992) and Pulp Fiction (1994).

Stanley Kubrick initially wrote a script outline. He then asked Jim Thompson (writer of The Getaway and The Grifters) to flesh it out with dialog.

Randy Kennan: You jerk, you clown!
[strikes George Peatty]
Randy Kennan: Come on, clown, sing us a chorus from "Pagliacci"!

Johnny Clay: You'd be killing a horse - that's not first degree murder, in fact it's not murder at all, in fact I don't know what it is.

Johnny Clay: A friend of mine will be stopping by tomorrow to drop something off for me. He's a cop.
Joe: A cop? That's a funny kind of a friend.
Johnny Clay: Well, he's a funny kind of a cop.

Johnny Clay: You like money. You've got a great big dollar sign there where most women have a heart.

[last lines]
Fay: Johnny, you've got to run!
Johnny Clay: Eh, what's the difference?
April 3, 2015
An electrifying heist movie from a director who would later become famous for making everyone afraid of classical music and for making the only good screen adaptation of a Stephen King novel. All the actors perform in exaggerated ways. The husband and wife are the most interesting. Their story is funny and tragic. She's a sarcastic and manipulative gold digger who has no respect for her husband, a very timid man who comes off as so desperate for her approval you can't help but sympathize with him, even though he is kind of pathetic. But nothing is played in a mean-spirited way. It's always fun. Even the would be depressing scenes are elevated by the brisk, witty dialogue and perfect timing. It's a movie you could play on the radio. Consistent dialogue, a narrator, a fun soundtrack. The movie rarely stops to catch its breath. I also like how the story flows in a non-linear way. In that sense it's like chapters in a book, where each chapter begins from a different characters perspective.
March 16, 2015
Kubrick's early film draws a lot of comparisons to Tarantino and Nolan. I've never even heard this film mentioned in conversation... but man, good picture, folks.
½ March 11, 2015
the end is soo unmercifully noir and defeatist, almost going out of its way do do this. but it's a very well told story by Kubrick, especially if you've seen reservoir dogs, which is loosely an homage to this film
January 21, 2015
Intriguing, stimulating crime thriller. Not one of my favorite Kubrick films, I prefer the post-Spartacus era. What I loved the most was the story's style of being told, much similarly to Pulp Fiction.
January 20, 2015
Un robo perfectamente planificado, con un final inesperado. Gran film Noir del maestro Kubrick.
January 9, 2015
Anticipacija scenaristickih tehnika 21. veka. O liku poput Fey da i ne govorimo. Uzivancija, svaki put.
½ January 9, 2015
#244 - A Kubrick film that i have to admit, i hadn't even heard of let alone seen. A great tale of a heist that was almost Hitchcockian. It amazes yet again how diverse one director can be.
January 3, 2015
Still slowly chipping away at my Film Noir education, this was a big one to mark off the list. Kubrick really comes correct with a sharply directed film and I will be happy to revisit it in the future.

Recommended.
December 28, 2014
While I seen great 50s movie. This is the one that shocked me the most. It's way a head of it's time. It might be my favorite 50s movie. Even better then On the waterfront. Sucks that this was a box office failure. A very clever, smart, classic
Page 2 of 63