Killing Me Softly - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Killing Me Softly Reviews

Page 1 of 21
½ October 14, 2016
Heather Graham is Hot.
½ August 29, 2016
OK, Heather Graham is excellent
January 20, 2016
Good one, I knew the twist before it happened (afterall I'm a Bollywood man) but didn't like how it happened.
November 19, 2015
Besides Heather Graham's body, this is perhaps the worst movie I have ever seen.
August 29, 2015
Killing Me Softly is a goofy, unintentionally funny, and oddly stylish erotic thriller. In the tradition of other goofy erotic/thriller films like Sliver, Color Of Night, Basic Instinct 1 & 2, In The Cut, and Passion (The 2012 Brian De Palma version), comes a film no fan of camp should miss out on. It is a gleefully stupid and hilarious film that is waiting to be discovered as the next camp classic. Marvel at the terrible script, gloriously awful dialogue, campy acting, jaw-droppingly awful plot twists, and artsy direction to complement the cheesy tone of the film, and you've got a howler of a film.

The film focuses on a woman named Alice who is a web designer from Illinois who is now living and working in London who enjoys her job and is even in a long-term relationship with a boyfriend whom she is living with. Still, something seems to be missing in her life.

That all changes during a chance encounter on the street with a man named Adam Tallis. During that chance meeting, there is an instant spark between the two, which results in an intense sexual encounter before they end up parting ways.

This one moment causes a massive shift in Alice's life, and she pursues the man who is named Adam, who is struggling with the guilt from a mountain climbing accident which cost the lives of all the members of his mountain climbing team, including his fiance at the time.

Alice ends up leaving her boyfriend and moves in with Adam, which soon results in a marriage proposal, which she is ecstatic about. But in the midst of such happiness, Alice begins to receive mysterious letters and phone calls warning her about Adam's past, which she blows off, going forward with the wedding plans (As well as more intense sexual encounters). But as the letters and warnings continue, a seed of doubt is planted in her mind, and she is determined to get to the bottom of the potential mystery at hand, unearthing shocking secrets that threaten her life.

The story has a lot of interesting ideas, but they are lost in a sea of cheesy character development, an abundance of trashy sex scenes, and plot twists that will have you simultaneously laughing and scratching your head as they unfold. The story is ultimately a mess of romance, thriller, eroticism, and other elements, culminating in many moments worthy of chuckles or outbursts of full blown laughter because of how utterly ridiculous they are. The story is only entertaining on a trashy, campy sort of level. However, I was legitimately compelled during the first 30 minutes of the film before it suddenly derailed into madness and hilarity. While I enjoyed the campy qualities quite thoroughly as a lover of B-movies, it's a shame that a promising start fell apart.

The actors try their hardest and I really can't fault them. It's the fault of a shoddy the script that ultimately dooms them, because they really do try to make the material work. I do have to compliment them for being able to retain a straight face, even during the particularly ludicrous moments of the film (Especially the last 15 or so minutes which produce some of the biggest gut-busting moments in the film). But I will legitimately compliment the performances of the leads, Heather Graham and Ralph Fiennes, because I do feel they did a solid job, even with all the ridiculous shit going on in the film.

Oh man, for entertainment, if you like thrillers filled with gaping plot holes, cheesy characters, and howlers for plot twists, you're in for a real treat, B-movie fan. If you come to watch this film looking for a legitimately good erotic thriller, you will hate it, and your head will probably explode trying to rationalize all the ridiculous things you are seeing.

Killing Me Softly is a glorious trainwreck for an erotic thriller. It's a B-movie classic that is waiting to be discovered by connoisseurs of crap because it offers so much entertainment value. Unless you are a B-movie fanatic, stay the hell away from this film.
April 11, 2015
I like this movie, but I can't ignore the fact that is always looking for a situation to show us a sex scene, and that's quite ridiculous. Joseph Phiennes was a rising star in those years but his performance in this film is very low. Near the end the writers realized that they were doing the screenplay for a film and made a desperate attempt to make the story interesting, but that didn't work. 2/10
½ January 17, 2015
25%
Saw this on 17/1/15
Predictable even miles away from it's narrative, Killing me softly is a poorly made film which can't even be suggested for it's erotic nature as even the sex scenes are tasteless. The performances are bad and except for a view of people falling down from a mountain towards the end, there's no well shot scene here. A point less waste of time, but still towards it's middle, it delivers so tension.
September 12, 2014
The only movie that I can think of off the top of my head that has gotten a 0% rating from Rotten Tomatoes. I don't think it deserves such a dismal rating as it is well cast (fans of Joseph Fiennes and Heather Graham may be disappointed but both have been in worse), and fairly sexy in a supposed "50 Shades" sort of way.
August 16, 2014
shema kraj,kolku predvidlivo...Joseph Fiennes losho glumi,za Heather nema potreba da se kazuva,taa sekogas losho glumi...sakale da napravat nesto ali ova e teska utka
½ July 31, 2014
Although I did not have high expectations for Killing Me Softly, I can't pass up a chance to see Heather Gragam naked on screen.

The plot in Killing Me Softly is essentially completely senseless. There essentially is none because there are really no characters in the film, just the hollow shells of talented actors that are wasted on a lacklustre script full of clearly artificial dialogue. The film just charters through a ridiculous plot which makes no sense and makes all kinds of sudden twists and turns without a hint of originality or cleverness in them which really makes you wonder precisely how this film could have gone so wrong. It made literally no sense, and it just went all over the place with random new plot dynamics being thrown in every second to the dismay of the viewer. It is really a challenge to think of anyone enjoying this film because it was not the slightest bit good. It was frankly one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life.
As an erotic thriller, Killing Me Softly deviates between the focus on being romantically themed and being a thriller without ever consistently sticking to one. But either way it fails in bother areas because Killing Me Softly is not appealing for its erotic virtues as the nudity in the film was randomly thrown in for senseless purposes, and it is completely bereft of any thrills. Viewers are going to find themselves unable to be scared by anything in the film because the premise is full of every predictable movie cliche in the book. So Killing Me Softly completely fails in both areas as it is not sexy or thrilling in the slightest, and it takes itself way too seriously to even succeed as a guilty pleasure. The film is ridiculous and it follows a seriously generic style of storytelling and visual style as well so it has no surprises and nothing to set itself apart from the hundreds of other erotic thrillers, essentially all of which are way superior. Killing Me Softly is the worst example of an erotic thriller that I have ever seen because it loses touch with its erotic elements halfway through and always has an atmosphere which is way too light for it to ever be the slightest bit thrilling. I could not believe just how ridiculously off key Killing Me Softly was. I mean, it had the most generic visual style and the most ridiculous story which left it falling flat in every single area. The dialogue in the script was ridiculous and cringe worthy, but I am used to that in films. What I could not tolerate was the story because it had a single intention the whole film and yet had to go through so many ridiculously off key plot dynamics to actually tell it. It went into all kinds of unbelievable directions which sped up the pace and cemented the fact that it would take no time before viewers would lost interest in the film. Killing Me Softly goes off focus so many times and then randomly back onto it that it is just too easy to be worn down by the whole thing. And on top of that, it is just so boring. Killing Me Softly is not even at the right level of negativity to succeed as a guilty pleasure, especially because Heather Graham's nude scenes were senselessly thrown in and do not have the atmosphere which plays them gently into the film and ends up seeming more explotive, and not in a good way whatsoever. Killing Me Softly is a just a truly awful film.
The acting in the film is genuinely bad. All the actors give lacklustre performances, but the main issue is that despite the fact Killing Me Softly is supposed to be an erotic thriller, all the actors are so uninvolved in the atmosphere that they act way too lightly. This applies to every single cast member in the film. Rarely does the performance of every single cast member in a film fail to match up to the film in the slightest, but Killing ME Softly Blew me away with a lack of quality.
I always wondered why Heather Graham never had much of a mainstream career. If it is because she is paying for the sins of her performance in Killing Me Softly then it makes sense because her performance is so uninvolving and uninspiring that it is depressing. Even her nude scenes are brought down by the fact that she puts no charisma into the character, and she just seems so consistently lifeless from start to finish. Heather Graham does not tie herself into the atmosphere of the film well at all, and her performance ends up being potentially the worst of her entire career.
Joesph Fiennes is no better. His performance has him remaining too emotionally subtle and monotonous at the same time as he fails to channel in even a hint of heart to his performance. It is easy for him to mess up because he has literally no character to him, but it is hard to believe that he is at all savage because he is so pathetically shallow in the part that it is depressing to watch. He has literally no charisma and not the slightest bit of spirit in him, so it is easy to see how he has landed fewer and fewer leading roles in mainstream films these years. Killing Me Softly seems to be the film that really killed the talents of everyone involved.

So Killing Me Softly ends up being one of the most misguided and pathetic films in existence. It is not sexy enough to be erotic, not scary enough to be a thriller, not sensible enough in narrative to actually be an even semi decent film and so terrible that it is less likely to hit the viewers' list of guilty pleasures and more likely to strike their list of worst films in the history of cinema.
June 13, 2014
very sexy movie. Acting isn't best at times. But still very sexy story.
May 26, 2014
Here's a movie so rare, so ludicrous, so perfect. A movie like this is the kind I hunger for. I laughed, I cringed, I laughed even more. So charmingly ridiculous a film, so absorbing and ambitious in its over-complexity. I love, love, love this movie.
½ February 26, 2014
Good thriller/Suspense!! not very gd acting but very cool sex scenes!! never forgotten Chen Kaige's name since then.

For those who r interested i hv the VCD
June 30, 2013
Really bad movie with really sexy takes!
June 29, 2013
curious about this adaption as the book was so good.
½ June 3, 2013
Is this even a real movie or a really bad porno without the really graphic nudity? I am very turned on by Heather Graham's hot naked body, but I'd prefer it if it were more relevant to the story (*cough* Boogie Nights.....)
May 5, 2013
This is by the director of Farewell My Concubine???
March 20, 2013
Nearly like a soft pornography movie. No story worth to notice.
December 30, 2012
Aparte del glorioso cuerpo de Heather Graham, no hay absolutamente nada que ver aqui salvo un ejemplo de como desperdiciar actores y ciertas posibilidades en un desatino continuo de dialogos y guion con risible desarrollo y final.
December 23, 2012
The first minutes are really intense and create a very interesting situation, but the second part is not so good, and become too much ossessive without any apparent reason. The tension is palpable, in this the director has been good, but the problem is that you can't really see why this situation is full of tension. And then, the end is just silly and too fast in the developing.
PS: Heather Graham's boobs are good enough for a three star review, though.
Page 1 of 21