King Dinosaur - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

King Dinosaur Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 17, 2016
Spectacularly awful, completely dishonest and hilariously, dumfoundingly idiotic, KING DINOSAUR is worthless trash, and represents the very worst of the ignorance and simplicity of America in the 1950's. There aren't even any dinosaurs in this horrendous scam of a film; most of this infuriating movie is comprised of stock footage.
Super Reviewer
½ August 19, 2015
The dinosaurs are actually just (obviously) lizards.
½ September 14, 2014
Its comforting to know what all it takes to land on a planet and take of our helmets is just run a few tests.
January 25, 2013
It's a movie filled with stock footage. Think "The Starfighters" but with a little more plot, a lot less in-air refueling, and Joe the kinkajou. It's a short movie at 1 hour in length---which earned this film an extra half-star (from 0.5 to 1.0). God forbid if such a train wreck lasted 90 minutes.
½ November 6, 2012
King Dinosaur is, by and large, one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life. It's another in a long line of films about people being marooned in unknown territory and being attacked by creatures of some sort. In this instance, it's about a group of scientists who take a rocketship to another planet and discover "dinosaurs" on it. The thing is though that these are giant bees, gila monsters and crocodiles, so nothing spectacular like stop motion animation or anything. It has many jump cuts, blank frames, horrible acting and an absolutely boring pace, not to mention a cliche'd and sub-standard story. It's just altogether not good, but at least it was featured on an episode of Mystery Science Theater 3000, so there is that.
½ August 14, 2012
Awful B-movie that uses a ton of stocky footage and once again shows lizards as dinosaurs. The characters are pretty dull and the acting isn't much better, the story is pretty typical for this time of film and there are so many flaws. It makes a pretty fun MST3K episode however.
½ July 14, 2012
Dinosaur? It's just a lizard!
April 28, 2012
Producer Robert Lippert plus director Bert I. Gordon together make a truly cheap sci-fi film, where the effects are cheap, the acting is bad, the science is implausible, and yet the make-up and hair seem to be perfectly set. Don't believe the title, you will not see any dinosaurs in this film. You will see a planet of creatures that look like lizards and other reptiles zoomed in close. Oh but it's so silly you'll laugh especially at the misogyny towards the ladies in the film. Hey, it's 1955! What else to expect?
Keiko A. --Samurai--
Super Reviewer
November 26, 2010
Crap is truly the only thing that will sum this review up. There is nothing good about this movie NOTHING.

So a new planet called Nova is moving into the solar system and our governments decide to take a look. On this planet there is nothing but some dinosaurs and Most of all KING DINOSAUR.

Everything about the movie is bad Acting, Story, Special effects, Music, Settings, ETC. The only good part is some entertaining lizard fights but that's it. Most of the dinosaur footage is just stock from another film.

Don't see this movie only do if you are a die hard fan of all this stuff.

Keiko's score 9-100
½ January 8, 2010
Bad, lame and boring. Even the MS3K version takes a few extra redbulls. Do not watch alone. You may lose all sanity and will to live. In case of singular exposure please watch favorite sci-fi flick with in 2 hours to avoid prolonged Bertigordon Tendonitious.
½ October 31, 2009
here is a simple b-grade 1950s sci fi movie formula 1. use a bunch of stock fottage 2. hire crap actors and 3. use animals that are so common but enlarge them to sacr movie audiance or more to the truth make them laght so hard. In King Dinosaur all of this b grade charm is found plus calling an iguana a t rex and having a random pet lemer with two love struck couple to keep the bullshit plot ticking over. the sad thng about this film is that it acutaly has animals harm ie grabbing the lemar by its tail and holding it upside down plus kill a baby allagator in combat with a iguana. the only thing i found intersting about this film is that it had decent cinemaphotography and it was shot with in three days impressive but the entire film is just one big steaming atomic turd of a movie 3/ 10
September 27, 2009
Strom Thurmond's moniker?
December 15, 2008
Quite impressive, innovative use of optical effects for a low-budget 1955 trash film. And the most hilariously poor science of any science fiction film. Yes, even dumber than ARMAGEDDON.
½ December 6, 2008
This terrible film, hastily assembled from nature photography, stock-footage and four actors running around a national park, gets an extra star for some great unintentional humor and laughter-inducing special effects (especially when they attempt to pass off an iguana, a baby alligator and a gila monster as dinosaurs). However the charm of the film dies when the animals are forced by the filmmakers to attack each other. Waste of time, watch it in its Mystery Science Theater 3000 incarnation instead.
½ March 9, 2008
Dinosaurs lizard style...
½ February 28, 2008
ok so you know how at the end of movies when they say "no animals were harmed during the filming of this movie" well this movie definitely couldn't say that. They had a giant iguana and a crocodile or something tearing each other apart. I hate animal freaks but this movie went too far for me even.
½ February 8, 2008
A simple film with an important message: NUKE ALL DINOSAURS!
½ November 23, 2007
Probably the very worst movie I have ever seen. Worse than Manos. To compare the two would be a gross insult to Manos, which was, at least, hilarious. This movie, meanwhile, has literally no value of any kind.
So, we've sent four of our finest scientists to another world, two of whom happen to be beutiful women. Fair enough, but why do the two smartest women in the world spend all their time cooing over kinkajous, shrieking at the sight of anything, and insisting that they are scared? It looks more like a particularly malicious NASA decided to deport some football players and their cheerleader girlfriends into space. Also, there are no dinosaurs in this movie. Despite the poster and title, the primary antagonist is an iguana, accused of being a space tyrannosaur by our heroes, who then proceed to nuke his island into oblivion, even after they've escaped. You heard me.
Page 1 of 2