Kissing Jessica Stein - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kissing Jessica Stein Reviews

Page 1 of 6
April 7, 2002
The only time the writers deviated from the formula is when they replaced Troubled, Handsome Beau with Troubled, Pretty Lesbian.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 22, 2002
It frustrates me that this writing team would be so satisfied with just another humdrum New York romancer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
March 17, 2002
...a lazy girl-on-girl courtship comedy that never accomplishes the daring commentary it only flirts at with benign, banal results. Atmospheric and excursively derivative, Kissing keeps one's lips sealed without much forethought
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 29, 2009
I was very angry with the ending of this film.
March 29, 2002
It wants to be thought of as a subversive little indie film, but it has all the qualities of a modern situation comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 10, 2003
I'd be interested to see these women star in another movie, but I'm not crossing my fingers that they write another one.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
August 27, 2002
...the movie invests the ordinary with such uncommon charm and grace, I should imagine it would easily win over all but the most reluctant audience. Call me reluctant.
Read More | Original Score: 6/10
July 25, 2003
Esta baboseira com pretensões intelectuais possui um roteiro (escrito pelas duas protagonistas) cheio de absurdos e um vocabulário rebuscado que denuncia sua própria arrogância.
| Original Score: 2/5
March 13, 2002
... amusing but extremely derivative ...
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 14, 2002
Where Jessica Stein could have been brave and daring, it's instead cowardly.
March 10, 2003
An indie romantic comedy that never makes it past first base.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 25, 2002
A soft little romantic comedy, nothing very special.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
March 13, 2002
A trite and forgettable comedic parable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 22, 2002
Herman-Wurmfeld's film poses all of these questions with insight and humor but suffers from the disappointing feeling that it could have been so much better.
March 22, 2002
Everything is pegged into the groove of a New York dating comedy with 'issues' to simplify.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 24, 2002
It all works on the level of a sprightly sitcom: lesbianism for the Lucy-and-Ethel crowd.
April 5, 2002
It's pretty lightweight fare that doesn't really resonate or linger in the memory, and its ending is entirely too predictable for its own good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 5, 2002
It wouldn't be out of place on television, where its cultural stereotypes and comfortable humor belong.
Top Critic
February 9, 2006
Westfeldt and Juergensen's wordy script tries for both mainstream and offbeat, but gets lost in between.
January 2, 2011
Sweet comedy about when a girl meets girl.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 6