Knocked Up - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Knocked Up Reviews

Page 1 of 13
August 22, 2017
It might look slightly risqué but the message remains the same: get married, stay married and buy lots of stuff.
May 10, 2008
Apatow's talent for accurately portraying his generation at their most self-absorbed doesn't quite go as far at justifying the script's patchy, haphazard conflicts at it does toward explaining the film's bloated running time.
May 31, 2007
Knocked Up positions itself as this summer's 40 Year Old Virgin. But it's actually this summer's Jersey Girl, a tone-deaf skip down parenthood lane for a generation that grew up on bong hits, blogging and supposedly safe sex.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 15, 2007
Maybe I'm being a little harsh on this movie, because there are a couple of funny scenes here and there, but they are so outweighed by the ones that bored me silly, they're not the ones that I remember.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 2, 2009
Knocked Up is like a Hallmark Greeting Card with crude verse. It's is an uneasy mix of ethnic humor, slacker humor, and human drama -- some is amusing, some is indulgent, and some is strained.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
September 15, 2007
If Judd Apatow is going to set the gold standard for American screen comedy, it's only natural to start expecting more.
May 10, 2008
For all its avowed interest in life -- as in, you know, the biological imperatives of our existence -- its characters seem acquainted only with television.
May 31, 2007
Like most of Apatow's work, Knocked Up walks a perilous line between sarcasm and sentimentality, and though it's extremely funny in bursts, the movie flirts once too often with schmaltz before toppling into melodrama in its third act.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 1, 2007
[C]elebrat[es] as charming and inevitable and amusing and sweet what anyone who is that apparently rare specimen -- an actual, genuine grownup -- should be decrying as deplorable.
September 15, 2007
Apatow's hardly the first filmmaker to go all gooshy on the subject of kids after becoming a father himself, but with his comic talent and flair for character, you'd think his movie would be more insightful about impending parenthood.
September 15, 2007
This feels like the world's longest pregnancy or comedy, with a running time of 129 minutes. Knocked Up is like a helium balloon with a slow leak that quits hugging the ceiling and starts sliding down the wall the longer it goes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 31, 2007
Has some sporadic laughs, but Ben and especially his roommates are just too gross to be the kind of charming free spirits Apatow thinks they are.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
May 31, 2007
It's not that Knocked Up is misogynistic -- if anything, Apatow is uxorious to a fault, scrupulously respectful of chicks and the chick stuff they do. He just doesn't seem to get exactly what that stuff is.
June 1, 2007
This film is every man's wet dream. What woman wouldn't want to have a one night stand with a drunken, fat, vulgar, irresponsible, dirty looking slob?
Full Review | Original Score: D
June 6, 2007
The film simply can't and doesn't live up to the lofty expectations created by its "Virgin" predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
May 31, 2007
Knocked Up is so enamored of Ben and his insouciant charm that it fails to wonder what it must feel like for the girl.
September 15, 2007
Given that I like everyone involved, it is puzzling to me that I did not enjoy it, but such is life.
June 1, 2007
Funny? Sometimes. Hilarious? Not so much. It's a druggie comedy that plays like the bloated brother of the crisper and cuter The 40 Year Old Virgin.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 3, 2007
There's no doubt director/writer Apatow is supplying a national service by allowing the inept to feel adequate about themselves.
April 20, 2007
Though some, including the filmmakers, might find this sort of material smart and real, others might consider it middlebrow and not particularly representative of the complex and interesting people they know, some of whom are even men.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 13