Knowing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Knowing Reviews

Page 2 of 9
Clay Cane
BET.com
June 10, 2009
Knowing that 'Knowing' is not worth your money is probably your best bet in movies to not pay for this weekend.
Full Review | Original Score: D
May 31, 2009
Some producers sat in a screening room and thought, "Wow, this is gonna be great!" I give the filmmakers kudos for fully committing to an ending that others might have tried to mitigate or avert. They also fully committed to the immensely stupid surprise
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
May 25, 2009
while the film deals with disaster, it's not quite the cinematic disaster that many were expecting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
May 14, 2009
click for full review
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
The plot, too, is a sham (shades of Signs and Close Encounters), and Proyas's slick visuals do little to dress it up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
April 20, 2009
... the movie features huge gaps in logic, and human behavior that can't even begin to be justified.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
April 11, 2009
Presságio é o que Sinais e Os Esquecidos tentaram desesperadamente ser.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey Bloomer
Paste Magazine
April 7, 2009
Trades occasional moments of inspiration for obvious allegory and second-hand action sequences that shoot for stark seriousness but can barely pass for pop spectacle.
Full Review | Original Score: 35/100
Renie Scolaro Mora
PopMatters
April 7, 2009
Knowing's premise is intriguing, even if it ends up being a familiar race-against-time-disaster-movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
April 3, 2009
The movie has all the thematic depth of a really great arthouse film wrapped in the action and excitement of a first-rate Hollywood action picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
April 3, 2009
If... you want your 'sense of wonder' piqued, and are willing to contemplate some big and possibly alien concepts, this takes you to some unexpected places.
| Original Score: 3/4
Sandra Hall
Sydney Morning Herald
April 3, 2009
Rather like watching an intricately arranged set of dominos starting to topple. That's neat. I didn't see that one coming, you think, as yet another train carriage joins the pile-up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Evan Williams
The Australian
April 3, 2009
The final message may be trite, even saccharine, but Knowing would be pretty well unbearable without it. Proyas has made a truly haunting and terrifying film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Julian Roman
MovieWeb
April 2, 2009
I'm a bit on the fence with Knowing. It is well made, and bleak as hell, but just has a little too much going on for me to recommend it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
April 2, 2009
A mind-blowing blend of apocalyptic imagery and metaphysical discussion that is easily the best film of its type since "Southland Tales" (and I should stress that I mean that as a compliment).
Tony Medley
tonymedley.com
March 31, 2009
Well done for 100 minutes; then it completely falls apart.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Edward Porter
Times (UK)
March 31, 2009
As well as being perversely pessimistic for a blockbuster, it's rendered tedious by a dense plot and lifeless characters. Even M Night Shyamalan would have done a better job. How dare such an empty film ask us to endure many realistic scenes of carnage?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Philip French
Observer (UK)
March 31, 2009
It's intriguing B-feature apocalypse, determinism versus free-will stuff.

Sunday Mail [UK]
March 31, 2009
It has a wicked premise and many fascinating themes but, overall, it becomes a little bit silly towards the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews
March 30, 2009
I like the sheer quantity of ideas in this film, but I am not sure that they all fit so nicely together. I expect with some thought the flaws will seem less important and the audacity of the plot will win out.
Full Review| Original Score: 8/10
Page 2 of 9