Knowing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Knowing Reviews

Page 2 of 9
June 10, 2009
Knowing that 'Knowing' is not worth your money is probably your best bet in movies to not pay for this weekend.
Full Review | Original Score: D
May 31, 2009
Some producers sat in a screening room and thought, "Wow, this is gonna be great!" I give the filmmakers kudos for fully committing to an ending that others might have tried to mitigate or avert. They also fully committed to the immensely stupid surprise
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 25, 2009
while the film deals with disaster, it's not quite the cinematic disaster that many were expecting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 14, 2009
click for full review
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 23, 2009
The plot, too, is a sham (shades of Signs and Close Encounters), and Proyas's slick visuals do little to dress it up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 20, 2009
... the movie features huge gaps in logic, and human behavior that can't even begin to be justified.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 11, 2009
Presságio é o que Sinais e Os Esquecidos tentaram desesperadamente ser.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 7, 2009
Trades occasional moments of inspiration for obvious allegory and second-hand action sequences that shoot for stark seriousness but can barely pass for pop spectacle.
Full Review | Original Score: 35/100
April 7, 2009
Knowing's premise is intriguing, even if it ends up being a familiar race-against-time-disaster-movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
April 3, 2009
The movie has all the thematic depth of a really great arthouse film wrapped in the action and excitement of a first-rate Hollywood action picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 3, 2009
If... you want your 'sense of wonder' piqued, and are willing to contemplate some big and possibly alien concepts, this takes you to some unexpected places.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 3, 2009
Rather like watching an intricately arranged set of dominos starting to topple. That's neat. I didn't see that one coming, you think, as yet another train carriage joins the pile-up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 3, 2009
The final message may be trite, even saccharine, but Knowing would be pretty well unbearable without it. Proyas has made a truly haunting and terrifying film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2009
I'm a bit on the fence with Knowing. It is well made, and bleak as hell, but just has a little too much going on for me to recommend it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 2, 2009
A mind-blowing blend of apocalyptic imagery and metaphysical discussion that is easily the best film of its type since "Southland Tales" (and I should stress that I mean that as a compliment).
March 31, 2009
Well done for 100 minutes; then it completely falls apart.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 31, 2009
As well as being perversely pessimistic for a blockbuster, it's rendered tedious by a dense plot and lifeless characters. Even M Night Shyamalan would have done a better job. How dare such an empty film ask us to endure many realistic scenes of carnage?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 31, 2009
It's intriguing B-feature apocalypse, determinism versus free-will stuff.
March 31, 2009
It has a wicked premise and many fascinating themes but, overall, it becomes a little bit silly towards the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 30, 2009
I like the sheer quantity of ideas in this film, but I am not sure that they all fit so nicely together. I expect with some thought the flaws will seem less important and the audacity of the plot will win out.
Full Review| Original Score: 8/10
Page 2 of 9