Knowing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Knowing Reviews

Page 1 of 10
March 12, 2016
The impressively grim finale ensures that Knowing ultimately ends on a decidedly memorable note...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 24, 2011
A damned entertaining movie despite the fact that it stars Nicholas Cage.
October 27, 2010
Knowing is about faith; the belief that one day the mysteries of the universe will be explained to us, and the knowledge that anything is possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 30, 2009
Pay attention to Mr. Proyas' lighting and set design as well as the intense disaster sequences that dot Knowing: As with the rest of his oeuvre, the movie looks great.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 14, 2009
Knowing feels like a bunch of cool ideas that were strewn about a table, picked up, shoved together, tied up with duct tape and, somehow, managed to stay working for the ride.
Read More | Original Score: B
August 1, 2009
Knowing is a bit of a revelation. Against all odds, it's not actually half bad.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 22, 2009
Excessive finale aside, its novel concept makes for a mental and action package worth seeing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 11, 2009
Presságio é o que Sinais e Os Esquecidos tentaram desesperadamente ser.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 3, 2009
The movie has all the thematic depth of a really great arthouse film wrapped in the action and excitement of a first-rate Hollywood action picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 3, 2009
If... you want your 'sense of wonder' piqued, and are willing to contemplate some big and possibly alien concepts, this takes you to some unexpected places.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 3, 2009
The final message may be trite, even saccharine, but Knowing would be pretty well unbearable without it. Proyas has made a truly haunting and terrifying film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2009
I'm a bit on the fence with Knowing. It is well made, and bleak as hell, but just has a little too much going on for me to recommend it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 2, 2009
A mind-blowing blend of apocalyptic imagery and metaphysical discussion that is easily the best film of its type since "Southland Tales" (and I should stress that I mean that as a compliment).
March 31, 2009
It's intriguing B-feature apocalypse, determinism versus free-will stuff.
March 31, 2009
It has a wicked premise and many fascinating themes but, overall, it becomes a little bit silly towards the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 30, 2009
I like the sheer quantity of ideas in this film, but I am not sure that they all fit so nicely together. I expect with some thought the flaws will seem less important and the audacity of the plot will win out.
Full Review| Original Score: 8/10
March 28, 2009
It predicts a future when people act courageously and selflessly to preserve their families and the future of mankind. I can get behind that.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 28, 2009
It probably helps that the trailer flatlined our expectations, but the engaging, unconventional Knowing certainly qualifies as a pleasant surprise.
| Original Score: 3/5
March 28, 2009
An earnest Cage lends some gravitas to a film of amazing coincidences and less than amazing special effects that sci-fi fans will embrace until something better comes along.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 27, 2009
Less mysticism or numerology, than really frightening spookonometry, and craftsmanship teeming with nightmarish imagery that takes your breath away, even with all sorts of outlandish premises afoot. ET, or rather EE with rabbits and a hearing aid.
Page 1 of 10