Kôkaku kidôtai 2.0 (Ghost in the Shell 2.0) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Kôkaku kidôtai 2.0 (Ghost in the Shell 2.0) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ October 27, 2015
Un grandioso visionado del cyberpunk que debe verse sí o sí.
Pero la calidad 2.0 es relativamente buena pero no la mejor.
Robert B.
Super Reviewer
October 1, 2015
As someone who has not seen the original GITS in years and generally dislikes the way CG is done, I still rate GITS 2.0 five stars. The negative reviews have a point but I hardly find the film to lose /that/ much (one star?). I also disliked many of the changes to the original Star Wars but still rate the re-release version five stars also. The original animation from GITS has a lot of "soul" in it and this is a classic anime. Definitely recommended to fans of cyberpunk, Blade Runner.
½ May 15, 2015
This time around the 3D effects were too jarring and pulled me out of the immersion. This remaster is still the exact same story with largely the same visuals, but the original is recommended over this version for first-time viewers.
½ July 27, 2014
Eminently suitable to be set out as an intermezzo during creatives pool debate on skeuomorphism vs. flat design :))
October 21, 2013
like the remastered version a lot
September 15, 2013
This Remastered Cult Classic, Still Remains An Excellent Piece Of Cinema And Is Probably The Best Remastering/Re-Booted/Re-Tooling Ever Made & One That Won't Be Beaten For A Long Long Time.
½ August 31, 2013
Not a sequel, just a modified version of the original, and amazing, GitS. The original cell animation will always hold up, and looks great in HD.
November 20, 2012
Passi il rifacimento audio-video ed il ridoppiaggio piů conforme all'originale, ma le seguenze in cgi aggiunte al film in questa riedizione sono inguardabili. Lasciate perdere e guardatevi il capolavoro originale del 1995.
October 20, 2012
Ghost in the Shell 2 es una obra cumbre de animacion, cuyo poder de cautivar e impresionar dificilmente tiene igual, en un mundo tan fascinante que no tiene tanta ficcion como podriamos llegar a pensar, aunque le falta la trascendencia de la primera parte.
½ July 28, 2012
Some much needed CG is added, along with other visual fixes. Sadly, the lip sync is often bad and there are still some framerate issues. That aside, it's a "visually arresting work" for the most part. A slow, yet captivating piece that has got me interested in the 2005 OVA "The Laughing Man".
July 8, 2012
One of the few movies that puts as much into not only the Visual aspects of the movie, but also redefines the audio aspects. Though not an actual remake of the original version, this version made sure that visual aspect was kept up to speed with the times and technology of the time. Everything is still absolute perfection in ever aspect otherwise.
June 27, 2012
Not too sure if this is better or not.
June 20, 2012
While some of the additional CGI was an OK addition, I didn't feel it added anything to the classic that is "Ghost in the Shell". In fact, it almost felt like a George Lucas / "Star Wars" move: take an awesome movie and add in CGI many years later just so you can make more money.
½ May 26, 2012
Perhaps more of a cultural touchstone than anything else, Ghost In The Shell is a classic love it or hate it flick. The original film is considered part of the essential anime film trilogy (along with Akira and Ninja Scroll). This remake is a worthy one, in that the vast majority of changes are improvements; dirty cells and voice clips have been cleaned up, making for an overall more pleasant package (which is saying a lot considering how amazing the film already looked). Whilst it is true that some of the new CGI sequences clash with the traditional animation, this is easily the better version of this animated classic.
½ May 12, 2012
Yeah, the digital sucks, the transitions back into anime are confusing and badly placed. To hell with this version, get the original, its got coherence on its side
April 26, 2012
Amazing updating of a classic watershed moment in Anime. You will either love it or hate it.. I happen to love this stuff.
½ February 24, 2012
The films content is obviously well-presented, but the images lack the poignancy of the original's painted quality. Worth seeing for the tech-advances, sure, but if i were to convert someone i would do it with the original!!
February 2, 2012
This movie made me reconsider our attitude toward Internet and Computer, the world in the future.
January 9, 2012
Amazing look at what the future could hold in the world of Cyber Punk Tokyo :).
½ December 31, 2011
Even sixteen years after the original release Ghost in The Shell remains an utterly essential piece of cinema. Even though for this high definition re release director Mamoru Oshii has seemingly done a George Lucas and made changes for changes sake.

Set around the fictional city within a futuristic take on Hong Kong named Newport, Ghost in The Shell concerns the militaristic and political machinations of a special police task group named section 9, and their enigmatic squad commander known mostly as "The Major." The storyline is exactly the same as it was in 1995, borrowing a little from the original manga novel, though noticeably not as heavily based upon it as the spin off Stand Alone Complex television series.

Visually the most notable updates are the new CGI scenes, which seem not to have the budget of the more recent sequel in the franchise, and end up looking a touch out of place. Mercifully however they are used rather sparingly. The problem being though when scenes interchange between 2D and 3D and back again, it takes some time to get used to. I will admit to liking the newly cleaned up 2D visuals though, the new colour palette that brings things more into line with the sequel, and the higher resolution looks stunning on Blu Ray, just like the recently re released Akira.

To see just how big the difference is between the 1995 original and the remake, Manga video nicely bunged the original cut on the disc too, though I suspect the transfer there is a bit pathetic, as the movie looks absolutely atrocious, cynically I would say to make 2.0 look even better.

Despite the reservations over the change in style and the 3D scenes, Ghost In The Shell remains a simply enthralling piece of cinema, a landmark product that still proves to be inspirational for film-makers the world over. Wether people will remember the original cut or this 2.0 version though remains to be seen.
Page 1 of 4