Komodo vs. Cobra - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Komodo vs. Cobra Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ April 20, 2016
Komodo vs Cobra starts off fast, and then slows down way too much. The characters aren't interesting enough to follow, and the plot isn't too realistic. The CGI is bad, even for TV standards. Cheap-scare ending that either makes you laugh or shake your head in pity. The ultimate fight between the giant reptiles is hardly exciting.
½ December 4, 2014
As a fan of Syfy movies, I know how poor the effects and acting can be. This however didn't even reach those lofty standards. The Komodo dragon is my favorite animal. This CGI monstrosity merely resembled the beautiful creature. And you would think with a title containing the word vs that the two giants would have an epic battle. Well, that would involve thinking, and there was surely none of that going on when this was made. Half star goes to Michelle Borth for being the best effect in the entire movie.
½ February 1, 2014
Terrible acting, writing and CGI to be expected, you watch this movie for the fights. And while there is satisfactory isolated Komodo and Cobra action, the Komodo vs. Cobra fight is like, 3 minutes long. A much larger portion of the movie than should be is drama and not fun boom boom chomp chomp kill a creature material you pay to see. SyFy is better at this then Lionsgate, that's for sure.
PantaOz
Super Reviewer
½ August 10, 2013
This television film is directed by Jim Wynorski, and it's a sequel to his 2004 film Curse of the Komodo, with several similar elements : experiment gone wrong, father-daughter team, government attempt to bomb things, the ending, komodo's behaviours, etc. The lame story starts when a team of environmentalists, including a reporter, her camera man, and an environmentalist's famous girlfriend charter a boat and with the captain, sail to a military island. They suspect the island is a place for US government illegal experiments. Upon arrival, however, they find no one but they finally find Dr. Susan Richardson, who tells them that everyone on the island is dead, including her father. Richardson's team were working on a compound that could make edible plants grow to super size, however the military intervened with plans of their own. They wanted to test the compound's effects on animals, and proceeded to feed it to several komodo dragons and cobras.

This is just a bad B movie - from screenplay, through directing, special effects, and especially acting! Michael Paré as Mike A. Stoddard, Ryan McTavish as Jerry Ryanm, Renee Talbert as Carrie, Jerri Manthey as Sandra, Michelle Borth as Dr. Susan Richardson, Ted Monte as Ted, Glori-Anne Gilbert as Darla. Rene Rivera as Dirk, Jay Richardson as Dr. Richardson, Rod McCary as General Bradley, Roark Critchlow as Major Garber and Paul Logan as Major Frank had no idea what were they doing! So many names without a real actor being between them... unbelievably untalented bunch! Everything in this movie could be described with one word: pathetic.

Please, don't waste time on this, not worth a minute of your time.
½ August 4, 2013
Unquestionably the worst movie ive ever seen. Granted i rented this at around age 10 and even then found it utter garbage. The only reason im reviewing it at all is to rid of the pain this movie caused me
ScoopOnline
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2013
I am actually not "Gigantic and Mutates" Movie Fan but this was very interesting. My fav bit was the very last Scene.
September 26, 2012
Not as good as Boa vs. Python, but it's still not bad.
February 17, 2012
Komodo vs. Cobra was on yesterday. This film was possibly shot real fast and quick without a lot of effort. The CGI reptiles run amok a secret island where a group of survivors are wondering around like zombies. I managed to catch the last ten minutes of the films on a Spanish channel. The title is not really something to boast, for we do not really see these beasts fight until the last five minutes. The creatures do not look too bad in technical CGI terms and they look 100% better than the b-movie monsters that plagued the 50s. However, the script and plot is junk and logic is pretty much missing throughout the entire film. The same goes for intelligence. The creatures do not really look horrifying or nasty when the camera zooms up to the mouth of the reptile. I would say my recommendation is to go to YouTube and watch monitor lizard vs. cobra which is intense even for a few minutes and does not subject us to mind numbing piece of junk.
October 28, 2011
"Truly, a syfy, classic!" Everytime someone swore, there was an annoying dragon-like screetch but it added to the enjoyment of the film.
½ March 8, 2011
Effects and plot that makes most films from before the 60's look space age. Not even that good for a laugh.
Super Reviewer
January 10, 2011
From the director of Busty Cops goto Hawaii
September 9, 2010
He didn?t make it

A group of nature activist has heard rumors of an island in the Pacific Ocean where the government has been conducting genetic experiments. They charter a boat to the island only to discover that the island is abandoned. As they investigate the island, they uncover humongous man-eating reptiles. The activists will need to quickly obtain their proof of the island?s experiments and safely return to the boat without becoming dinner.

?The monstrous behemoths you have seen on this tape are not the effects of Hollywood effects wizards.?

Jim Wynorski, director of Bone Eater, House on Hooter Hill, The Witches of Breastwick 1 & 2, Sub Zero, Busty Cops 1 & 2, and The Bare Wench Project, delivers Komodo versus Cobra. The storyline for this picture is classic science fiction. The special effects were awful and were worse than the graphics you may find in current video games. The acting was mediocre to poor as the cast includes Michael Pare, Michelle Borth, Renee Talbert, and Jerri Manthey.

?I don?t think this is a good idea. Do you think we can trust this guy??

I happened to come across this film on Showtime while flicking through the channels on Labor Day. You would think with Wynorski?s directorial history, and the impressively attractive cast, that this film would be soft porn mixed with giant monsters; unfortunately, the film did not even have soft porn going for it. This film was awful with mediocre special effects and awful acting. I recommend skipping this movie.

Grade: F
August 26, 2010
Acting was ok but the CGI was hideous is every way,they looked like gor for saken TOYS dammit!!! I just watched it expecting an ok movie but I come across a horrible syfy made MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!! never watching it again.
½ August 20, 2010
This movie is really bad,it has nothing to justify it.I wonder if anyone likes this movie.The people who survive at the end are really hatable characters and you want them to die right away,and there wasn't a real fight,the komodo and cobra just hissed at each other.This is just awful,please don't watch it.
August 14, 2010
It was a copy off jurassic park except with komodos and cobras and it was ok just not great.
July 23, 2010
OH YEEAHH! Trashy B-Movie at its best, although nowhere near as good as "Loch Ness Terror" this film has its moments - Crazy genetic experiments, evil army general etc. The acting is atrocious, but I would be ashamed if they did this for money.

Turn off the brain and have a laugh at the crappy CGI!
½ July 15, 2010
Why do low budget B-movie film makers think that by merely making any animal 'massive' that they have a film on their hands. Shoddy CG, dodgy acting and a blonde with large breasts wearing a tight white top do not a movie make.
July 7, 2010
The SyFy Channel is notorious for making ultra low budget monster films that are usually entertaining in a so bad it's good kind of way, unfortunately for us though Komodo Vs Cobra turns out to be a so bad it's an unbearable film with nothing at all going for it bar the odd bit of creature action. Everything about the films production is amateurish at best and downright awful at worst. Even the films plot, which is usually quite interesting when dealing with SyFy originals, is laughably bad with countless plot holes and ludicrous situations.

The story follows a group of nature activists who are traveling to a South Pacific Island in order to blow the whistle on a military project called "Project Carnivore". What they didn't count on was the project going horrendously wrong and creating a number of extremely large Komodo dragons and Cobras who are intent on chomping their way through any humans they encounter. The group, along with their chartered boat captain and one of the project scientists, must avoid the creatures and escape the island before the military blows it to hell.

The plot would have been ok if there was even the slightest bit of background story relating to the project. Instead we are told that the project was to create larger crops and animals to end world hunger and that's it. You have to wonder what they were expecting to happen! Anybody who watches this film only wants one thing; some decent creature action. Unfortunately the only thing we get is a couple of people being eaten by the creatures, who all look absolutely terrible due to woeful CGI. The acting is the worst I have ever seen, as is the direction. Sub plots are touched upon and then left alone, the characters are incredibly stupid, the military seem to be bloodthirsty killers, the climax is laughable and someone should point out to the group that their guns don't work!

Komodo Vs Cobra is the worst SyFy feature that I have ever seen and that is some feat. Nothing about it is worth watching and it is in no way entertaining and at no point does the Komodo ever fight the Cobra!
½ July 1, 2010
I wasn't suprized at all to see this movie on scifi.
½ May 11, 2010
There is just so much wrong with this movie. No recoil on the guns, they have seemingly infinite ammunition in their pistols, the characters are dry after getting out of the water, horrible special effects, I could go on for days. This movie could be fun to watch with some friends simply to laugh at.
Page 1 of 5