Kong: Skull Island Reviews

Page 1 of 14
October 10, 2019
Where [Jordan] Vogt-Roberts excels is in selling the tactility of the world to us, shooting on location in Vietnam, Hawaii and Australia. It makes all the difference, the island given an otherworldly, yet irresistibly grounded feel throughout.
September 6, 2019
It's well directed by Vogt-Roberts, well scripted and shot.
September 1, 2019
Setting the benchmark for 2017's blockbusters, Kong: Skull Island is visually stunning, thrilling from start to finish and a triumphant big screen return for King Kong. Be sure to stay after the credits!
August 26, 2019
Wasn't even close to a home run for me, but still plenty going on for most audiences to sink their rainy day teeth into.
August 16, 2019
An exhausting journey without dramatic impact, neither in the beliefs of its heroes nor in the apparitions of the protagonist animal. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 12, 2019
I suspect we will have two factions - the 2005 version of King Kong fans and the Skull Island King Kong version fans. Regardless, the movie is entertaining and has a lot going for it.
July 17, 2019
This is franchise filmmaking at its least fussy. Legendary Pictures has a sandbox full of iconic monsters to play with, so they're going to fill that box up with sharp performers and talented helmers to make violent merriment for a couple of hours...
June 25, 2019
Watching Skull Island is like eating a buffet of great individual dishes that never comes together into one coherent meal.
May 22, 2019
Longtime fans of Kong will find a lot to love here.
April 23, 2019
The monster stuff was great and the human stuff was just good enough for me to not jump off board with the movie.
March 7, 2019
A reboot with refinement, this is exactly the story (and movie) Kong needed to break out of the celluloid cage he's been kept in.
February 26, 2019
Kong has never had such a big entrance. Cotton characters are not enough to make me frown at stupid decisions. What a fun movie. [Full review in Spanish]
February 12, 2019
This offering is monster magic; it's essentially a B-movie made with an A-plus budget. It is big and broad, filled with huge action set pieces and moments of humor and surprising pathos.
January 30, 2019
Grab your popcorn and just enjoy yourself.
January 30, 2019
Jordan Vogt-Roberts exhibits a deft directorial hand, balancing different interests, different styles, different tones.
December 8, 2018
While he doesn't carry the pathos ... (of) Caesar of the Planet of the Apes films, ... Kong's a full on action hero here, laying the smack down in ways that make you cheer.
December 7, 2018
Director Jordan Vogt-Roberts sets a tone that balances between visual awe, and dry humour... all while having fun with tropes and a none-too-subtle homage to Apocalypse Now.
December 4, 2018
Although Kong: Skull Island doesn't even pass the Bechdel Test, it's a relief to watch a silly action romp without overt misogyny or cringeworthy racism.
November 5, 2018
'Kong' is king-sized entertainment, a riveting spectacle showcase that races from dizzying set piece to set piece, fastened by standout technical work across the board.
November 4, 2018
I just couldn't shake the feeling that I would've enjoyed this even more if it really was just a guy in a dumpy gorilla suit stomping around on miniature sets.
Page 1 of 14