L'Iceberg - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

L'Iceberg Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ May 3, 2013
One of the most bizarre movies I have ever seen, and a plot that is even crazy. The comedy sketches in this are both weird, funny, and creepy, but the fun wears out after a while, and you most likely will fall asleep long before the movie even finishes...
½ October 1, 2012
Didn't even make it through it. Guess I rely on dialog too much.
Super Reviewer
½ August 8, 2012
I didn't enjoy this movie as much as I did The Fairy. That's not to say it isn't very funny and clever, because it is. It's pretty much the same format as the Fairy, just a lot of visual comedy with even LESS dialogue than The Fairy. I think the great thing about this film is that despite its VERY minimal dialogue there's actually a great story to the film. You know what's going on and why it's happening, and at its heart it is quite a charming love story. And the movie is still very funny and the cast is, of course, tremendous. Fiona Gordon is hilarious quite frankly. Really not much to say, again didn't find it as funny as I'd have expected, but I still very much enjoyed it and would watch it again in a heartbeat.
½ April 2, 2012
Quirky, surreal, beautifully shot Belgian comedy. Minimal dialogue gives it an almost silent-film like feeling. Fun little film.
December 20, 2011
Quirky Belgian movie. Had me cracking up. Beautiful scenery. Hardly any dialogue. A sweet little movie.
July 26, 2011
NOW FOR SOME THING DIFFERENT. usually don't like french comedies filled with sight gags and slap stick but this film was special. minimalist, with little dialogue and often you could see the gag coming but she was endearing - looks like a blend of Buster Keaton and Tilda Swinton. watch for this little film, streaming on netflix, but don't expect a lot of plot, but laughs.
August 15, 2010
Another wonderful couple.
August 4, 2010
As Aldous Snow would say, awful bloody film! Every single scene is drawn out so that the artistic integrity diminishes. There was one funny part, and that was when he tried to kill the man with the anchor but it doesn't reach. There, I saved you the hour and 20 minutes, plus whatever time it takes to get it. The characters are not likable, and I don't pity the people that get stuck in their lives the way they did. I understand that this is most likely a fantasy of the woman about getting out of her life where everything is just the same over and over again, but I still hate the fact that she leaves her husband and kids when getting there in the first place is her fault. I ended up having to fast forward the last 20 minutes because I just couldn't take it anymore. Minimalist films can be great like those put out by Gus Van Sant. Some scenes are long, not every single scene, but also the story has some place it's going and somehow makes us care about every minute detail. Not this one. L'Iceberg is a waste of time.
April 29, 2010
Very weird and offbeat. I do like that but this is SO beyond weird. I stuck with it and actually ended up enjoying it.
Super Reviewer
½ April 15, 2010
A thoroughly enjoyable, if bizarre, bare-bones story provides the backdrop for this cinematic performance art. Almost surreal in its depiction of a woman who becomes restless after finding out she is not quite indispensable to her family and sets out on an ultimately successful quest. Minimal dialog interferes with the visual feast that awaits the rare viewer who does not need a compelling story line to keep one's interest. Fiona Gordon wrote, directed, and starred in this piece and it is her vision that makes it all work. Her beauty, muted as it is, grew on this viewer as the film progressed. She may not be what one would call a traditional beauty, but there is something about her quiet dignity and determination that caused one to be captured by her performance. There are sight gags galore from the opening scene to the very end. "Brava!" Ms Gordon!
½ November 30, 2009
Ridiculous physical comedy, ridiculous characters, ridiculously fun! Little to no dialogue, sweet story, beautiful scenery... recommended if you can handle no dialogue and almost painful repetitive physical humor. Not for everyone, but was for me!
Super Reviewer
August 18, 2009
"When Fiona, who manages a fast-food restaurant, accidentally locks herself in the restaurant's walk-in freezer overnight, she realizes how pointless her life has become and runs away; to seek happiness, put her life right again and perhaps to visit the icebergs with which she begins an obsession."
Even before you start watching this unknown little gem of a film you know it's going to be bizarre. Directors and stars Dominique Abel, Fiona Gordon and Bruno Romy use sparse dialogue, deadpan humour, quirky characters and Tati-esque gags to create an original and charming experience. Totally different from comedies coming from Hollywood today, to sum up just a generally fun film.
August 11, 2009
hoy agarré un pedacito en Europa Europa y dije "los de rumba!!!"
½ March 6, 2009
bizarre Belgian comedy drama
½ January 23, 2009
This is a very quirky, very funny, wonderful film. I recommend it!
January 23, 2009
There's probably nothing more tedious in the world of cultural production than a non-narrative feature length film that completely fails to charm or enlighten. That's what you'll get here: calculated quirkiness straining to seem oddly affecting.
½ January 23, 2009
Didn't even make it through it. Guess I rely on dialog too much.
½ January 23, 2009
I cannot stress how refreshing it is to see a comedy that's extremely minimalist, simplistic, and charmingly slapstick in the 21st century. You see, "slapstick" now means "Epic Movie", and minimalist tends to refer to the brains of the writers who pen the scripts. "L'Iceberg", however, is a throwback to old silent films. It's wacky and extremely physical comedy with a pace that feels more "skit to skit" rather than a polished whole. It's certainly one of the more strange films i've ever seen, and that is quite a compliment. So often you feel like you can't be offered anything new, and then you pop in a film like "L'Iceberg" into the DVD player. Sure, sometimes this is more weird than funny, and more charming than entertaining... but, it's irresistible and a treat to watch if you have the patience to stand it.

Dominique Abel, Fiona Gordon, and Bruno Romy collectively wrote the script for and directed "L'Iceberg" (simply meaning "The Iceberg" in English). The three have a history in both theater and the circus, and meant on a theater tour in the 90's. This is the first feature film by the three artists, and they claim to have shared all the efforts of writing and directing equally. They say that the aim for a "physical comedy", and their influences are credited as the eccentric actor/directors of the silent era. Certainly the oddball humor and long sequences with a stagnant camera will remind anyone of a film with someone like Charlie Chaplin, but this is a modern and very quirky take on the genre.

Co-writer/director Fiona Gordon plays Fiona, a fast-food restaurant manager. One night, after work, she walks into the walk-in freezer when her scarf catches on the handle and the door slams shut. Thus begins the physical comedy - she tears and stretches the scarf to the other side of the freezer, and eventually is discovered in the morning shroud in bags and sitting in a cardboard box. The next morning she comes home and greets her husband, Julien (Dominique Abel), and her two sons who didn't even realize she was gone. Fiona is frustrated and unsatisfied with the home life, and begins dreaming of an iceberg. She lays in bed and contorts her sheets to resemble towering icebergs, and comes to admire the freezer.

Finally, Fiona decides to get out of the house and head off to find an iceberg. Eventually, she finds her way to a sailor, René (Philippe Martz), who has a boat dubbed "Le Titanique". Fiona catches a ride aboard the boat of René, who she comes to discover is both deaf and a mute, and they set sail to an iceberg. Meanwhile, however, Julien does begin to worry and actually take notice of his wife's absence. He follows Fiona and the sailor out to sea and tries to win her heart, although Fiona seems more infatuated with the sailor himself.

The charm of this film is in it's low budget goodness. Take, for instance, the scenes at sea. Many of the times, it's clearly obvious to the viewer that they're looking at a boat in the middle of some studio with a projection of the sea behind them. This is amplified when buckets of water are tossed onto the boat to resemble the waves. None of it looks at all convincing, and that's what makes it so cute... in a way, I was reminded of the works of Michel Gondry. While Gondry certainly has a lot more to work with financially, the team behind "L'Iceberg" shares very similar visions and imagination.

The film seems rather pointless and just a collection of sketches, but at it's heart it's a film about seemingly unconquerable obstacles and reaching your dreams. The entire film, Fiona is clawing and scratching to get at the iceberg, while Julien desperately tries to win her back. At the end of the film, when the iceberg melts after she's reached it, we see that she's content and now accepting of her husband who she's been in a loveless marriage with. It's a very cute film that tells you that there's no mountain (or iceberg) too high.

The problem with "L'Iceberg" is that it's charm wears out about an hour into the film. I was highly amused with a lot of the comedy and thought it was a really refreshing watch, but after awhile I felt as though I was watching the same things over and over. It's irresistibly cute and certainly a film I really enjoyed, but even at a short 84 minutes it does begin to wear out it's welcome.

A Belgian film in French that aspires to be a Charlie Chaplin film is not something your typical American audience is going to go out to see. However, if you're in the mood for something extremely different, this may be an enjoyable viewing for you. At times it's more strange than entertaining, but I found it to be worthwhile.
January 23, 2009
Deliciously quirky Belgian comedy that deserves attention. With very little dialogue and an even smaller budget, the three creators managed to pull off a charming, thoughtful and (ironically) warm-hearted feature that is definitely worth a look.
January 23, 2009
Mon Oncle + Safe - everything that made those two movies wonderful. It was visually pleasing at times, though. Pretty colors, nice geometry.
Page 1 of 4