Labyrinth of Passion - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Labyrinth of Passion Reviews

Page 2 of 5
March 9, 2010
½ January 30, 2010
Erotiskt laddad film kompliserade relationer
kanske måste ses flera ggr innan den sätter sig
regi Pedro Almodovar
Synopsis: Sexilia (Cecilia Roth), en punksångerska, nymfoman och dotter till en berömd gynekolog träffar under en rockkonsert Riza (Imanol Arias), son till ledaren av det fiktiva landet Tiran (som ska ligga i mellanöstern) som rymt till Madrid för att ha sex med andra män. Sexilia och Riza blir kära i varandra och deras kärlek förblir (till skillnad från en hel del andra av filmens konstellationer) platonisk tills slutscenen. Dessutom är några terrorister ute efter Riza, och en av dem blir kär i Riza (till en början utan att veta om hans rätta identitet).
December 29, 2009
A lot of non-PC stories get intervowen in this very colourful (in evey sense of the word) movie.
Super Reviewer
December 19, 2009
A camp melodrama/comedy about Sexilia (a nymphomaniac), Sadec (a gay Islamic terrorist), Riza Niro (the son of the emperor of Tiran), and Queti (the daughter of a dry-cleaner). When Riza Niro discovers that Sadec and his colleagues are after him, he disguises himself as a punk rocker, and falls in love with the stunning Sexilia, his first straight relationship. Meanwhile Queti, Sexilia's "biggest fan", helps Sexilia come to terms with her new life-style.
½ November 14, 2009
Do Flixster users rate this movie 3.5 stars average? I don't believe it!
After watching this movie I came to the conclusion that Pedro Almodůvar must be one of the globe's worst directors/story writers. He has made several (rather tasteless) movies about homosexuality but this one is the worst by far. Almodůvar portraits gay men as hairy, ugly, unatractive men with high female voices and ugly large white knickers with an unhealthy portion of flamboyance, let's say the tasteless version of Freddie Mercury in his I want to break free video clip. No wonder heterosexuals do have prejudices against the gay if they are shown like this.
I went aggressive after seeing this movie and I deliberately missed the last thirty minutes. I am not the type of viewer who normally switches off a movie before the end but tonight I thought "To hell with this crap Almodůvar!". Thank goodness he made Hable con ella many years after this movie. That was when he received my respect.
Skip this crap! You are warned!
October 21, 2009
bizarre images with an amazing freudian plot. delicious!
½ September 1, 2009
Muchos Locos, so funny and a little bit fucked up... Madrid, early 80's and everyone is funky cool and all shagging each other. The plot kept me interested. Camp as Christmas!
July 26, 2009
La movida! Funny but twisted. The appearance of Almodóvar in the role of a travestite rock-star is also very amusing. Had to see it in order to have the full picture.
½ July 22, 2009
labirint strasti - nije mogao bolje nazvati film, netko nadje put van ... a netko uvijek ostane unutra. najcesce tamo zavrsavamo zbog necega sto se dogodilo i sto odredjuje nase lutanje, ili traganje za izlazom. no postoje i oni koji tamo zavrsavaju samo da bi upotpunili svoj zivot tim kratkotrajnim smislom, ali svaki put ..postaju sve gladniji i zele vise ... gdje je kraj ... nema ga...takvi ostaju unutra...namjerno se necu doticati scena incestuoznih odnosa oca i kceri, homoseksualnih odnosa, odnosa vise ljudi istovremeno, i svih mogucih seksualnih odnosa... jer na neki nacin sve je to sranje ... prije ili kasnije to shvatimo. u cemu je fora onda? fora je u razbijanju tabu tema, u otkrivanju covjeka bez maske, covjeka bez cenzure drustva, i mozda najbitnije - trazenju izlaza iz labirinta... samo, nije jos svatko spreman suociti se sam sa sobom. priznati da luta. priznati da nezna sto radi. lakse je igrati ulogu nekoga tko nisi nego uistinu znati tko si. ali to je samo zamjena za pravu stvar, dio onoga sto mozes biti, zato ti uvijek nesto fali i nisi zadovoljan. sto onda napraviti. odgovor je jednostavan, nadji izlazak iz labirinta.
June 20, 2009
I only gave it such a high rating because it was so funny. Low budget and if I think about it, it is kind of offensive. But it 's really funny and Almodovar was once a genius before his popularity made him creatively lazy for about a decade
March 22, 2009
i didnt think pedro almodovar would go there but he did! i can't put my finger on it whether i liked it or not, but it did make me laugh! haha
March 21, 2009
"labyrinth" of passion! oh boy oh boy! what a movie! Pedro Almodovar as always! Man, I just love him!
February 23, 2009
I...don't understand why this is a 'modern classic'. Lots of blow-jobs, lots of full frontal nudity, lots of rape, lots of incest. And quite suddenly, the film is over.

But well...this celebration of excess and glorification of sex perhaps best conveys the feeling of jubilation and liberation in Spain's post-Franco era? (I honestly don't know...)

And...while all that porno sex can be shocking/offensive, perhaps it succeeded in tickling our 'moral sensitivities' imposed on us by 'civilisation' but which in fact goes against all human nature/instincts? This is perhaps what the movie is about - the protagonists, with their inner urges suppressed, dreamed away their lives like zombies; but with their desires fulfilled, they found their voice again. So perhaps the movie is not just about the 'liberation' of its protagonists, but also the (hoped) 'liberation' of its audience upon seeing the film.

(Why am I defending Almodovar? Whatever I say, my mom would still think he's totally perverted. Well, maybe this is just a porno in the disguise of arthouse)

Oh and I love Almodovar's cameo! Little fat guy in tight leather dress. Adorable :)
½ February 10, 2009
This is a great movie! I love the randomness of the scenary, and Antonio Banderas is great (even though he only had a small part in this movie)!
½ January 31, 2009
It's simply a "XXX" movie. Maybe coz I have far more less life experience than Almodovar, my mouth always keeps open whenever I watch his movies. I'm not some kind of psychologist / scholar, and I couldnt figure out what is missing in Almodovar's childhood or whatever which directs him to produce movies in such a way. Maybe it's kinda process to know more abt oneself and it's as simple as it's. This movie was made in 1982 and now it's already 2009. Time flies and human becomes mature. The Almodovar in 1982 is quite different from that in 2009, though sth left behind is still the same. To anyone who wanna watch but hvnt watched this film yet, pls pay attention to the disco singing part, you'll see Almodovar on stage.
January 24, 2009
una pelŪcula de amor de lo mas disparatada, cada oveja con su pareja o uno contra todos, o todos contra uno o mejor aun todos contra todos?
½ January 19, 2009
the lousy plot is like the local Cantonese HK Wong Jing movie with people chasing around and misses. I thought it was a post hippy era but the idea of a fulfiled childhood loss with sexual theme, gay kissing, incest, plastic surgery and sex, libido flush are quite new at that time, even now. It is not cheap sex movie but a kaleidoscope of human sexuality. Bravo to Almodovar.
January 18, 2009
A very ludicrous movie...
January 18, 2009
Now I see why some indie gay films think they can get away with weak plots and characters if they just camp it with posing, pouting actors.
January 17, 2009
hilarious yet ridiculous. If you are the fan of Almodovar, you won't be disappointed.
Page 2 of 5