Ladder 49 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ladder 49 Reviews

Page 2 of 493
July 9, 2014
This movie had a little bit of everything and everyone should see it..... the cast put on award winning performances and the plot was good..great job and thanks to all the players for making this a heart warming and real life drama...
½ July 2, 2014
If you liked Backdraft, you'll like this. Good firehouse drama where you know how things will turn out but have to keep watching to see how it happens.
June 18, 2014
This is about the life and career of jack Morrison the fire fighter. As he faces the worst fire of his career and other fire fighters doing their best to rescue him he reminisces his start when he was a rookie, to him getting married and having kids, and him and his wife arguing about the dangers of his job and also the time he became a hero. There is a great cast including joaquin phoenix who did a tremendous job as jack, john travolta who was the cheif and did a remarkable job as well. Robert patrick who I always enjoy did great and was even funny at times, and morris chestnut was good too. The movie was so good. It tells a great story and was acted out so well with a outstanding cast. It's a mixture of sadness and yet a very entertaining and exciting plot. The last great fire fighter movie was backdraft but move over because now there is another.
April 22, 2014
this is a sad movie i cry all the time
March 21, 2014
"Ladder 49" is by no means a bad movie and as a matter of fact, it's a professionally made production, with some good actors in it, but it's just that everything in the movie is very formulaic and all the typical clichés you could expect in a movie about firefighters are present here. The movie has no real surprises in it and because of that none of the emotions come over as real. Also compared to "Backdraft", this movie is totally obsolete. It adds nothing to the firefighter movie genre ( if that even is a genre). "Ladder 49" and "Backdraft" are two similar movies in several ways but "Backdraft" is the better one simply because it has better emotions, character building and sequences featuring fire. It however is of course not fair to compare this two movie just simply because they both are about firefighters. I understand that "Ladder 49" and "Backdraft" are two different movie made with different intentions. However "Ladder 49" is self to blame for this constant comparisons. It copies elements and scene's from "Backdraft" and obviously tries to top the movie in every way possible. Mission failed though...
March 8, 2014
a great firefighter movie! I respect firefighters for what they do through this movie. :)
March 1, 2014
I'm a firefighter myself and this is a true insight into the fire service and closest to the actual fire service
February 22, 2014
sad movie they risk everything to go rescue other ppl
January 27, 2014
Phoenix gives a great performance in a film that idolizes firefighting. It may be a bit over the top, but the story displays, at an extreme measure, what the men go through on and off the job well with lots of drama and heart.
January 14, 2014
absolutely love this movie!!!
January 4, 2014
Great cast, emotional story!
December 31, 2013
Another fireman movie with John Travolta & Joaquin Phoenix both excellent as always in the part of two firemen facing the danger and reality of a consuming job.
½ December 22, 2013
Among many of my complaints about this movie is that besides Travolta, nobody really ages at all, never mind 10 years plus. Also movies or tv shows about fire fighters just can't compare to Rescue Me, at all.
November 18, 2013
i can't believe i never saw this
November 14, 2013
My Favorite Action Film Is 1988's Die Hard.
November 12, 2013
absolutely moving, joaquin's performance is absolutely incredible.
November 9, 2013
In this kind of world, this kind of dangerous job, death is not one thing to be afraid of. This one's awesome.
October 25, 2013
Action and effects are fine, the photography is excellent considering the dark spaces the camera had to look into and keep a visual. The story is interesting although the script lets down the actors at times, by becoming rather predictable; this is overcome by the teaching moments but, should have been spotted in the writing. Nibbles: Spotted Dick and Custard.
October 7, 2013
This is a excellent movie from start to finish. Outstanding performances from Joaquin Phoenix and John Travolta. Mind-blowing score and very powerful special effect. The directing from Jay Russell is really good! This is a good movie with a lot of action in it. This is a movie that is a must see for sure.
Super Reviewer
½ September 20, 2013
A straightforward ode to firefighters and the American way of life. When it comes to the characters' habits, aspirations, interpretation of duty to oneself and one's profession and especially your pals (playing pranks is a very important part of male bonding) the film is a sheer tour de force of American clichees and I felt like being constantly beaten over the head with shiny high school yearbooks celebrating the glorious unity of 'the lads'. All in all, I still enjoyed the film, because - after all - it is a positive message, albeit as far removed from reality as could possibly be and while I would not entertain the notion of venturing that far into a negative interpretation of the film, some might even call it a bit too much white suburban propagandha, but then again, aren't most US-American mainstream movies ? What saved the day were the strong lead performances by Phoenix and Travolta, the later being especially believable and oozing with jolly neighbour charisma. Phoenix is as brooding as ever, and while he might not be the most flexible of actors, he retains his strong screen presence. Dont worry if you miss this one, it is something to watch while flipping through a magazine or having your afternoon tea on a rainy sunday, but unless you are a Phoenix, Travolta or firefighter fanboy, this won't hit the tune for you.
Page 2 of 493