Lajja - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lajja Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 21, 2015
Amazingly invested in highlighting the ways in which women are in a Catch 22 around the globe...the musical numbers are quite good, with the opening number featuring 7 costume changes for the singer. The tone shifts quite abruptly from section to section, but it is still worth the multiple moods it evokes in the viewer.
May 19, 2011
LAJJA (2001) - multiple stories revolving around womens empowerment (or the lack thereof) in a male dominated society. Pretty heavy handed and preachy at times. Some interesting performances. A lot of familiar faces - Anil Kapoor, Ajay Devgan, Jackie Shroff, Rekha and of course fabulous dancing by Madhuri Dixit. Yay, even a bonus of SRK (as they watched one of his movies).
½ December 29, 2010
Good songs, actors; hopefully the movie will be good!
The13xxx
Super Reviewer
June 2, 2010
The movie show us the brutality and sexism of women in India, starting from marriage, having baby, freedom and being independent. It is one of rare screenplay I've ever come across while watching Indian films, it may have some plot holes and cliche written all over it, but again an interesting look on how women are treated in India (or maybe in other country in the world?). Great performances too by none other than; Rekha, Madhuri Dixit, Mahima Chaudry and Manisha Koirala.

6/10.
½ May 18, 2010
Manisha Koirala is a great actress and i have liked her in many movies, she was great in this one, Lajja that is a movie expressing women's rights Bollywood style.
October 26, 2009
Madhuri is such a beauty
½ May 15, 2009
A movie about female empowerment with an item number, a knight in shining armor, and a sperhero?

Madhuri Dixit's performance and the re-write of the Ramayana almost saved this movie (which should have ended three characters earlier than it did).

Heavyhanded dialogue, a ridiculous plotline, waaaaay too many characters, and DULL direction drag down good work by Mads and Rekha.
Most infuriatingly, it continues to promote gender roles; women are the keepers of parampara and the izzat of the family, and of course they can't be happy unless they're happily married.
iLeo
Super Reviewer
March 29, 2009
Here's an interesting insight into the lives and plight of four strong, hard-working women. It remarkably details their stories and the accounts of experience that they each have endured. The common encounters are reflected in a neglected, jilted wife whose desires for love in a good marriage is less-existent; the obedient daughter-bride that is willing to marry to appease her family, and the honor of her father; a young, beautiful woman whose lover believes the lies of others and abruptly leaves her with child; and lastly, the mother whose heart is so wide open that her compassion for her fellow gender is expressed within her every action. Great cast- Manisha Koirala, Jackie Shroff, Anil Kapoor, Madhuri Dixit, Ajay Devgan, Rekha, Mahima Chaudhry, and Sonali Bendre. Worth seeing!
½ January 22, 2009
after reading the story, took a wrong decision...you know what?? i started watching this movie and wasted 3 hours....dont do that mistake..
June 22, 2008
Good prolife, feminist movie. And of course, there's Anil Kapoor. But again, the portrayal of NRI or American born Indians bites
½ May 22, 2008
My one and only interest was to get my Madhuri fix, which I did. And even though I like Manisha and Jackie Shroff, it was not up to my expectations. The message is pretty much: it sucks to be a woman. I am glad there are movies like Lajja to denounce it, but it had potential for a better movie. Ah yes, Rekha was really good, what a powerful woman she is!
March 16, 2008
shows dominancy of men in indian society......... n how few women try to fight their way out from it
January 29, 2008
iv seen it a good social drama movie
January 14, 2008
Phillumy style with a mixed message. The story of four Indian women who need a wake-up call to stand up for themselves and fight against male-dominated tyranny. Koirala is a weak actor and juxtaposed against the likes of Rekha and Dixit, the difference is even more telling.
I have always thought Bollywood capable of doing more with its 3-hour stories than present love-triangles or run-around trees. This movie is an example of that. It is a happy medium between the typical over-the-top melodrama common to Bollywood with its song and dance numbers and the message movies that were often given "tax-free" status by the Indian government to encourage viewer-ship (this never worked).
The main story is that of Vaidehi (Koirala) who in her journey to escape her husband comes across four other oppressed women. The film has a happy ending but not before it lambasts a religious epic and its god-hero and rails at society. All a bit over-the-top, especially as Koirala also turns sappy and forgives her mean husband who goes from conscienceless to loving in a quite implausible turn. Still, movies like this should be made more often heroine role-models are few and far-between in Indian cinema.
January 9, 2008
i'ma see it on my tv right now!!!!!
January 7, 2008
shows great examples of (Indian)women overcomming obstacles set forth by 'men' & our 'society'. The media has a strong impact on its consumers and I think this movie sent strong & positive message regarding women, men, socitey, gender roles, & responsiblities of the changes and improvements that need to be carried out. Rajkumar Santoshi did a outstanding job!!! This movie is a must see/highly recommended!!!
November 9, 2007
Very nice movie...a must see for all women especially!!...very different from typical Indian movies
October 28, 2007
This tells the story of the true power of women. Please watch this movie and tell your family and friends to watch it, too.
October 24, 2007
the movie could have been better..so could the acting. really liked madhuri in it and with madhuri and manisha side to side one sees how good the first one is and how bad the latter.
October 22, 2007
I gotta admit this was an impressive film. A great message to the world with awesome performances from Manisha, Madhuri and Rekha. Mahima was okay but her story was the weakest. Anil was a happiest thing about this with Jackie being pure evil and Ajay Devgan putting in a fine, aggresive performance.
Page 1 of 2