The Lake House - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Lake House Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Fernando F. Croce
August 30, 2009
A satisfyingly sarcasm-free ode to the flickering absurdity of romance
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
November 24, 2006
I can't believe that even the most rabid chick-flick masochists wouldn't gag on it.
| Original Score: 1/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
September 27, 2006
Maybe I'm just overly romantic or sentimental or just plain naive, but I probably liked The Lake House more than I should have.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Michael Szymanski
Sci-Fi Weekly
August 23, 2006
Time-travel films often bring up a lot of questions, and they often fall apart with thoughtful scrutiny, but that's part of the fun. However, one shouldn't be wondering that the only benefit these two have with this magical mailbox connection is that they
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
August 21, 2006
A little under water, but it still floats.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
August 14, 2006
Endless implausibility, cheesy dialogue, and the inert personalities of its charisma-zapped leads conspire to doom this chilly magical mailbox love sham. Nice soundtrack, though.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
August 2, 2006
Like all good romantic movies there's a beautiful house on the lake and a cuddly dog. Good dialogue, great direction, sweet cinematography and good acting -- even by Keanu.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Michael Clawson
West Valley View
July 27, 2006
Phantom mail ... a postal carrier's worst nightmare ...
Full Review| Original Score: 2/5
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
July 25, 2006
An intriguing idea. Too bad the asteroid sized temporal paradox ruins the end of the flm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
July 20, 2006
Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock bring their respective talents to this badly fumbled attempt at a supernatural romantic comedy.
Collin Souter
July 11, 2006
It refreshingly becomes less about time travel and more about the choices we make and the chances we miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Luis Martinez
July 10, 2006
Reeves y Bullock no interpretan el papel de su vida, sin embargo cumplen con las expectativas del público en un producto ligero de fin de semana.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Larry Ratliff
San Antonio Express-News
July 10, 2006
Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves, two actors with talent I admire, launched their careers (at least as movie stars) on a runaway bus (Speed) in 1994. They appear to be throwing themselves under one here.
| Original Score: 2/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
July 6, 2006
Agresti has effectively skirted around hard logic with his velvety presentation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Film Threat
July 4, 2006
While it's not the worst entry from either actor, it's certainly another lame-brained blemish in their careers.
| Original Score: 2/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
July 1, 2006
You know the picture is in trouble when the best actor is the dog and the dog isn't even named Lassie.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Matthew Leyland
July 1, 2006
Bullock holds her half of the movie up well, proving that she can do subdued just as well as sunny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Joe Utichi
July 1, 2006
Just when we think we've come to terms with its brand of poorly-plotted silliness it ups the ante once more.
| Original Score: 2/5
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
June 29, 2006
Considered as a vehicle for what I was looking for, (namely these two stars) a success. As a critic, some things you forgive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
June 29, 2006
Despite the conventions, and a time travel gimmick that winds up being an utter mess, there's something worth appreciating here which makes it certainly worth a look
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 8