The Lake House - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Lake House Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Fernando F. Croce
August 30, 2009
A satisfyingly sarcasm-free ode to the flickering absurdity of romance
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
| Original Score: 3/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
September 27, 2006
Maybe I'm just overly romantic or sentimental or just plain naive, but I probably liked The Lake House more than I should have.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
August 21, 2006
A little under water, but it still floats.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
August 2, 2006
Like all good romantic movies there's a beautiful house on the lake and a cuddly dog. Good dialogue, great direction, sweet cinematography and good acting -- even by Keanu.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
July 25, 2006
An intriguing idea. Too bad the asteroid sized temporal paradox ruins the end of the flm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Collin Souter
July 11, 2006
It refreshingly becomes less about time travel and more about the choices we make and the chances we miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
July 6, 2006
Agresti has effectively skirted around hard logic with his velvety presentation.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matthew Leyland
July 1, 2006
Bullock holds her half of the movie up well, proving that she can do subdued just as well as sunny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
June 29, 2006
Considered as a vehicle for what I was looking for, (namely these two stars) a success. As a critic, some things you forgive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
June 28, 2006
I have always felt that both Ms. Bullock's patented expressions of anguish and Mr. Reeves' stoical minimalism have been somewhat underrated.
Jackie K. Cooper
June 24, 2006
The most romantic movie since 'Somewhere In Time'
Full Review| Original Score: 7/11
Top Critic
Anna Smith
Time Out
June 24, 2006
The Lake House demands a serious suspension of disbelief, but if you accept it as a romantic bit of nonsense, it has its pleasures.
Ian Freer
Empire Magazine
June 24, 2006
A compelling idea delicately handled and neatly played, especially by Bullock. It just lacks the emotional directness to turn the good into the great.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
June 24, 2006 effective romance...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Matthew Turner
June 24, 2006
If you're not sucked in by the romance of the story, there's a chance you'll find it laughably awful, thanks to poorly written lines and Keanu's delivery of the world's least convincing sneeze.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
June 21, 2006
Good, but put simply, any romance that doesn't make at least one successful major assault on your tear ducts is one handkerchief shy of great romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
June 20, 2006
The entire concept sounds like something Tony Leung dreamed up on a bender during 2046. Sure, it's complete nonsense... but what lush, irresistibly entertaining nonsense.
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
June 19, 2006
Reeves and Bullock bring the right balance of emotions to their roles. They give The Lake House its humor, its drama, and its undeniable romantic spirit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
June 19, 2006
Those wishing to suppress real-life traumas may submit to the deliriously stupid romantic time-travel drama The Lake House -- I did and had a jolly time.
Page 1 of 8