The Land Before Time - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Land Before Time Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 29, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
The characters are not well-developed.
November 24, 2009
What charmed me when I first saw it as a six-year-old in theaters now strikes me as rather middling, indifferent storytelling and character development.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
July 6, 2010
For the most part, pic is about as engaging as what's found on Saturday morning TV.
June 8, 2015
The animation is fine. But the Stu Krieger screenplay contains violence that might be hard on the younger ones, preachiness that's hell on adults and a never-let-up cuteness that can turn minds of all ages to mush.
February 9, 2006
After An American Tale, Bluth surely had the clout to make a more adventurous animated feature than this ...
December 17, 2002
| Original Score: 2/5
August 15, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
June 8, 2015
Do dinosaurs really lend themselves to ootsie-cutesiness?
June 8, 2015
The Land Before Time works by evoking the simple virtues of this art aimed at children, as it was in the beginning when Disney animated Mickey Mouse. This film deserves a place next to the often-revived animated classics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2011
Baby dinosaur buddy flick that started the series.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
I guess I sort of liked the film, although I wonder why it couldn't have spent more time on natural history and the sense of discovery, and less time on tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 2, 2002
A very good animated film, but nothe where near intriguing enough to inspire copious sequels.
| Original Score: 4/5
July 27, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
July 26, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
July 1, 2013
Maintains a genuine sense of beauty to it that will appeal to its young audience.
August 9, 2002
| Original Score: 4/5
June 8, 2015
It looks and sounds as if it came out of the Disney Studios of the '40s or '50s. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing -- that's as much a compliment (in terms of the quality of animation) as it is a criticism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 26, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2