The Land Before Time - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Land Before Time Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
July 29, 2002
| Original Score: 1/5
Mark R. Leeper
January 1, 2000
The characters are not well-developed.
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
November 24, 2009
What charmed me when I first saw it as a six-year-old in theaters now strikes me as rather middling, indifferent storytelling and character development.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Variety Staff
July 6, 2010
For the most part, pic is about as engaging as what's found on Saturday morning TV.
Peter Travers
People Magazine
June 8, 2015
The animation is fine. But the Stu Krieger screenplay contains violence that might be hard on the younger ones, preachiness that's hell on adults and a never-let-up cuteness that can turn minds of all ages to mush.
Top Critic
Damon Wise
Time Out
February 9, 2006
After An American Tale, Bluth surely had the clout to make a more adventurous animated feature than this ...
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 17, 2002
| Original Score: 2/5
Emanuel Levy
August 15, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Sheila Benson
Los Angeles Times
June 8, 2015
Do dinosaurs really lend themselves to ootsie-cutesiness?
Candice Russell
South Florida Sun-Sentinel
June 8, 2015
The Land Before Time works by evoking the simple virtues of this art aimed at children, as it was in the beginning when Disney animated Mickey Mouse. This film deserves a place next to the often-revived animated classics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Common Sense Media Editors
Common Sense Media
January 1, 2011
Baby dinosaur buddy flick that started the series.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
I guess I sort of liked the film, although I wonder why it couldn't have spent more time on natural history and the sense of discovery, and less time on tragedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
August 2, 2002
A very good animated film, but nothe where near intriguing enough to inspire copious sequels.
| Original Score: 4/5
Scott Weinberg
July 27, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
Bob Grimm
Las Vegas Mercury
July 26, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
July 1, 2013
Maintains a genuine sense of beauty to it that will appeal to its young audience.
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
August 9, 2002
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
June 8, 2015
It looks and sounds as if it came out of the Disney Studios of the '40s or '50s. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing -- that's as much a compliment (in terms of the quality of animation) as it is a criticism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
April 2, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
Edward Havens
June 26, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2