The Last Dinosaur (Kyokutei tankensen Pora-Bora) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Dinosaur (Kyokutei tankensen Pora-Bora) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 2, 2013
A Must See, Claymation Dinosaur by Rankin Bass, ie..Rudolp Rednosed Raindeer and Mad Monster Party...
½ January 18, 2013
More like the last ninja dinosaur.
½ March 18, 2012
Silly and cheesy, but fun. The dinosaurs look hilarious but the story is actually pretty decent and the characters are alright. It's not a great film, but I do like it and wouldn't mind seeing it again.
½ March 27, 2011
The Rankin/Bass people along with Japan's Tsuburaya Productions co-produced this cheesy, fun, 70s flick about a billionare big game hunter who's discovered a lost world filled with dinosaurs in a volcano basin at the North Pole. Richard Boone acts as if he played the entire part drunk as Masten Thrust (great porn name!) the great white hunter who uses his company's resources to go after the biggest game trophy of all, a Tyrannosaurus Rex. What ensues is 90 minutes of campy fun as Thrust and his team encounter dinosaurs played by men in rubber suits and cave people played by Japanese extras. Extra kudos to Joan Van Ark for wearing mom jeans and a knit hat on an expedition to a lost world. If that's not enough the "Last Dinosaur" lounge style theme song should have you in tears... of laughter. Fun, fun fun.
½ December 26, 2010
Classic dinosaur romp with the late, great Richard Boone, Joan Van Ark and the late Steven Keats. Loved this film as a child. Love it even more as an adult. This film needs a proper release on dvd and/or blu-ray in the U.S. ASAP. I am aware of the region 2 dvd; might have to import it.
Keiko A. --Samurai--
Super Reviewer
½ November 24, 2010
Directed by Alexander Grasshoff/Shusei Kotani and staring Richard Boone, Joan Van Ark, Masumi Sekiya, Tetsu Nakamura,

Eirin Rating PG-12

Both joint Japanese's/American production that has its flaws but I really did like it. To me it's slightly underrated that's needs more then what it has. I also watched another movie like this called The land unknown witch is very similar.

Science has announced the discovery of a lost land hidden inside the warm pocket of a dormant volcano under the polar ice cap. Masten Thrust, a billionaire oil tycoon and big-game hunter, is recruited to lead a team there to study the last living dinosaurs. Upon arriving, Thrust and his team find that the hidden world is populated with both dinosaurs and prehistoric humans. While the humans give the explorers a fair bit of trouble, the real danger is the hungry tyrannosaur intent on making lunch out of the Great White Hunter and his crew.

75% for storey like I said it has some flaws but I liked it.

70% for acting I think both Japanese's and Americans are good despite some errors. The subtitles are okay there hard to see though.

60% for special effects, Stop motion is old today but it looked fantastic in the 70s and before but in this they went with the Godzilla approach with men in dinosaur suits. Looked good in Carnosaur but that was also made up of other things.

70% for characters, there is some things on them but enough.

80% for everything else still looks good and this was one of the first to be shot in a 90mm camera to get the wide shots.

Anyone who likes dinosaur films like me see it.

Keiko's score 74-100
½ June 30, 2010
Entertaining for it's camp value, but gets boring after a while. There really isn't much this film has that a lot of other B-movies don't have.
April 10, 2010
Cheezy but memorable 70s dinosaur flick with Godzillaish effects, gotta love the rubber suit monster flicks.
Page 1 of 1