The Last Shot - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Shot Reviews

Page 1 of 6
½ July 29, 2015
A little bit of everything is mixed into this flavorful stew of a comedy-drama and it's quite tasty indeed.
½ March 27, 2015
another pic about the workings of tinseltown
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2014
Based on a true story, The Last Shot is a fun, satirical comedy that's full of laughs. In an attempt to bring down a mob boss the FBI sets up an elaborate sting operation posing as movie producers, but before long the fake movie they're making starts to take on a life of its own. The writing is pretty good and includes some interesting commentary about Hollywood and the tactics used by the FBI. Matthew Broderick, Alec Baldwin, Tony Shalhoub, and Calista Flockhart lead the cast and deliver some impressive performances. But, the character development is weak and there are some extraneous subplots that don't payoff. Yet, The Last Shot overcomes its script issues and delivers an entertaining film that tells an unusual tale of life and art blurring together.
½ April 10, 2014
Joe Devine: Delores, I have these presents I wanna give to Sasha. Where is she?
Delores: I'm sorry, sir. Your dog is dead. She killed herself.
Joe Devine: What?
Delores: The Jacuzzi. She threw herself into the Jacuzzi. I tried to find you. It was horrible.
Joe Devine: Oh, no. Maybe she fell in.
Delores: Oh, there was a witness. Alejandro, the gardener's son. It was suicide.
Joe Devine: Suicide?
Delores: She was lonely. She couldn't stand it any more.
Joe Devine: Then why the f*** didn't you go outside and play with her? Throw the little red ball with her?
Delores: I'm sorry, Mr Devine. I know you loved that dog. On Tuesday, she dug up all the flowers and then took a dump in the kitchen. I believe that was her note.

In 1985, a big mafia boss named Paul Castenello was murdered in front of Sparks Steakhouse in Manhattan.
March 31, 2014
Loved it! Hilarious! A satire comedy on everyone's fascination with and dreams about the movies. A great cast and script. Even the opening titles were good. Fun movie.
December 10, 2013
A fine cast and an interesting idea do not a movie make. The end credits rolled while I was still scratching my head waiting to laugh at something. Anything.
½ August 6, 2013
This didn't start out very promising but it actually got quite good. Toni Collette was fabulous.
November 13, 2012
Pretty cheesy. Just can't take Broderick seriously anymore.
August 12, 2012
Boring balls. Balls of condensed boredom, thrown at your face for 90 minutes.
May 6, 2012
the one joke premise becomes terribly boring after a while. the film promises a lot with the cast of interesting actors but sadly they can't save this one.
November 29, 2011
Alec Baldwin and Matthew Broderick are fantastic in this movie. The movie as a whole was alright; had some pretty funny lines. But the story was kind of blah to me, which is surprising because I love true stories. Just a one-time watch for me.
Super Reviewer
October 7, 2011
I'm a sucker for movies about making movies. This one is decent with some nice in-jokes. Nothing special, but better than critics said.
August 25, 2011
The Last Shot is a fun movie that didn't make much of a splash.
March 23, 2011
Not much in movies is more annoying than one that could have been so much better than it actually is, and The Last Shot, which retells the true events of a struggling filmmaker who gets his first film greenlighted only to discover he's a pawn in a mob sting orchestrated by the FBI, is a prime example. Matthew Broderick is said stooge, Alec Baldwin is the fed, and a cast of great actors round things out, including Tony Shalhoub, Buck Henry and Calista Flockhart. Unfortunately the only laughs to be found come from a potty-mouthed Joan Cusack and Toni Collette as a movie diva. Writer-director Jeff Nathanson's (Catch Me If You Can, Rush Hour) script, but it lacks any sort of...anything. It's dead on arrival.
½ December 25, 2010
This film is unbelievably funny. And for some reason, I had no idea it existed. And you don't understand what that means. I know every movie ever made. This is the only one that slipped through the cracks. Everyone in it is perfect (especially an uncredited Joan Cusack). In fact, if it wasn't for Rolfe Kent's HORRIBLE music, this would be perfect. Seriously, someone needs to rip the music out and re-score this.
September 27, 2010
Very creative beginning, you get the feeling this is going to be a special kind of comedy... well it sure is! Set in 1985, everything is slightly different and aged,mostly noticable by how the FBI works, due to a mob killing you see old monitors, classic intervention and dated clothes aswell. All the characters, which consist of a gigantic cast of famous actors and actresses, seem to have this peculier fact to them. Some you find out later which then turns out to be a dubbel scam of some caliber... that's what the movie tels you, a huge hilarious FBI scam of making a movie to catch a mobster. Each action adds to more hope in a real movie for Steven but also more weird situations. Like the casting of Emily French, hilarious! It must have been weird directing this one, the irony. There's more moviemaking than catching mobsters. It's just a suprb blend of the two along with staggering performances of Broderick and Baldwin and actually everyone else! Terrificaction-comedy!
September 5, 2010
The FBI makes a movie! Funny.
½ July 15, 2010
As a movie, it's not good, it's not bad, it's just kind of there
½ June 11, 2010
Jälleen väsynyttä komediadraamaa elokuvan tekemisestä. Agentti pyrkii pääsemään mafian jäljille soluttautumalla elokuvatuottajaksi, mutta ohjaajan unelman romuttajaksi hänestä ei ole. Voi se mikropizzakin joskus maistua.
½ March 28, 2010
Sad, but you can enjoy it
Page 1 of 6