The Last Shot - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Last Shot Reviews

Page 2 of 6
February 26, 2010
Based on an unbelievable true story (FBI tries Mob sting by means of setting up a film production, unbeknownst to the film's director who believes he's making a real film). Its a shame the idea wasn't developed fully. Instead we're served a mish-mash of oddball humour and famous faces, some of whom really should have known better. The film is average, diverting, but doesn't really go anywhere. It could have been another 'Get Shorty'; instead its more 'Get Lost'. Toni Collette's worth watching, Broderick less so.
September 25, 2009
The Last Shot is a film you've never heard of, but one you must see! An all star comedy, based on a true story, that's hilarious, unique, and a little bizarre. Filled with fantastic one-liners...
"welcome to providence the arizona of the east."
"I see you noticed my face. My wife set me on fire. Six months later, our marriage fell apart."
"Your dog is dead. She killed herself."
August 30, 2009
wierd wierd movie, but a few really funny lines in it.
June 16, 2009
Inspirada en una operación real del F.B.I., Alec Baldwin interpreta a Joe Devine un agente del F.B.I. que para poder detener a una banda de mafiosos chantajistas con ramificaciones en varias ciudades, que se encargan de controlar a los sindicatos de camioneros necesarios cuando se va a rodar una película, debe fingirse un productor de Hollywood y buscar a algún guionista y director para que crea que está rodando la cinta, poder infiltrarse entre los mafiosos y detenerles. Alec vive a la sombra de su hermano (Ray Liotta), que encima es su superior y quien ha de encargarse de darle el tan ansiado ascenso que no llega.

De este modo, en Hollywood conoce a Steven Schats (Matthew Broderick), un taquillero de cine que escribió hace unos años junto con su hermano, el guión de 'Arizona', la búsqueda de su "fallecida hermana" Charlotte por el desierto de Arizona de un santuario de los indios Hoppi para intentar sanar su cáncer, sin conseguir curarse al final. Haciéndose pasar por productor, convence a Steven y a su mujer (Calista Flockhart) de que va a producir la película y comienzan los preparativos con un presupuesto limitado y trasladándose a la fría Providence, donde están los mafiosos, a rodar.

El rodaje se complica porque la noticia se filtra a la prensa, se enteran en el pueblo y Emily French (Toni Collette), una actriz que estuvo nominada a los Oscar y que estaba de retiro tras caer en las drogas, aparece como por arte de magia para el papel protagonista, al igual que Pat Norita (el Sr. Miyagi de 'Karate Kid') por lo que la película comienza a coger demasiada forma para lo que inicialmente se pensaba en el plan. Al mismo tiempo, Joe se emociona con su recién descubierta vocación de productor y lucha más por la película en sí que por la operación.

Todo se truncará cuando se descubra la verdad y aparezca el hermano del agente del F.B.I. para adelantar acontecimientos.

A pesar de querer ser una comedia, la película es más bien aburrida, con algunas secuencias levemente graciosas, pero sin matarse. Un forma de perder 90 minutos un tanto desaprovechada.
½ April 22, 2009
funny movie based on a true story. as a comedy you know it will be funny when Alec Baldwin is involved. there is actually some pretty hilarious scenes in this one.
Super Reviewer
½ March 14, 2009
Really funny and silly.
½ February 18, 2009
Quite funny at times. Pretty generic comedy though. Nothing special but passed the time.
February 8, 2009
I actually found this movie pretty entertaining at times, but it has a lot of holes. The chemistry and acting of Baldwin and Broderick really made up for the lacking in direction.
February 2, 2009
Had huge potential, but ends up just OK. Pretty funny in a few parts - and Baldwin is almost like his Jack Donaghy-best and Broderick's good, but it's just not too exciting, considering what an interesting idea the story is.
shesdownbytheriver
Super Reviewer
January 10, 2009
No thankyou - Not interested.
December 1, 2008
Fun, cute, entertaining. I love watching Alec Baldwin act, especially when he's channeling (here, his soon-to-be) 30 Rock persona. Joan Cusack was off-the-hook hilarious!
November 17, 2008
Matthew Broderick is perfect as the pathetically desperate aspiring director, and Alec Baldwin is equally hilarious. The movie paints in broad strokes, but that turns out to be a good thing here.
½ September 19, 2008
I feel sorry for the guy who thinks he's got a his shot at making his prized script into a movie. to have the rug pulled out from under you like that would be heart breaking. and kudo's to the FBI for thinking this up, brilliant
August 30, 2008
Kind of funny. A man is forced to make a fake movie to catch the mob.
August 14, 2008
wow i have just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch....this has got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie...i think that Matthew Broderick plays a good part throughout this movie...this is a good Mystery & Suspense, Comedy movie 2 watch because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie...its enjoyable n i was shocked 2 learn that this is a true story but its still good
August 12, 2008
such a let down. i don't understand why the actors signed up for this film - the script is soooo bad even if its based on a true story
½ August 12, 2008
Some hilarious moments. Quite liked Calista Flockhart.
August 11, 2008
A comedy with Aaron Pierce in it (Glenn Morshower). What more do you want?
½ June 24, 2008
Not a bad movie. Some of the moments were a little dragging, and the movie lacks during the middlend. Toni Collette is pretty funny in this movie. And the movie script is ridiculous, and it just keeps getting more ridiculous.
June 17, 2008
Not bad, i liked it.
Page 2 of 6