Laurel Canyon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Laurel Canyon Reviews

Page 1 of 6
August 11, 2011
It's a story about how people get seduced by Los Angeles. That still happens, you know.
April 21, 2011
As a follow up to High Art, this melodrama is not as good or provocative as Cholodenko's debut. Even so, the film deals with female (lesbian) sexuality and as such deserves recognition.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 24, 2007
It pulled me in with its friendly, inclusive, nonjudgmental appraisal of human nature.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 30, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 26, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 22, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
November 11, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 24, 2003
Frances McDormand lets loose in a terrific new role as record producer, mother, and corrupter of curious girls.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 4, 2003
'Laurel Canyon' is a little dangerous, a bit unconventional and very seductive.
July 20, 2003
...essentially worth checking out if only for the performances and Cholodenko's admittedly steady directorial hand.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 3, 2003
Real people, real situations. "Laurel Canyon" is a keeper.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 4, 2003
From the choice of L.A.'s musical bohemia to finding the right tension in each scene, director Lisa Cholodenko has hit another home run.
May 23, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 21, 2003
Interesting and distinctive but held back from greatness by forcing complex characters through tidy character arcs.
May 6, 2003
An enjoyable little film about fidelity and intimacy among different generations. Worth seeing just for McDormand's performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 5, 2003
Laurel Canyon telegraphs far too much of its unoriginal story to genuinely hold our interest. We find ourselves wishing we could leave these characters nattering in the living room and wander around the house looking at the souvenirs and photographs. We'r
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: B-
April 28, 2003
It's nice, but truthfully it never pulled me in.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 25, 2003
McDormand plays the exact opposite of her role in Almost Famous, and darned if she isn't just as terrific.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 25, 2003
An immediate guilty pleasure.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 25, 2003
It's an earnest, grown-up drama with some strong points, and it's extraordinarily well-acted.
Page 1 of 6