Lawless Heart - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lawless Heart Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 27, 2015
its not a strong sexuality movie from the play movie trailer below
February 6, 2013
Interesting interweaving of love and relationships with some mildly funny moments, but a bit slow and not exactly terribly exciting.
½ December 5, 2012
I really like these kind of movies which every character has a story and we see the relationship between them from different point of views. Lawless Heart has a tripartite narrative structure and in each we undrestand more about the details of the whole story. This movie shows the relationship between different people and ofcourse the role of heart, lawless heart. Hollander,Hershall & Nighy are great. I really enjoyed this pleasant comedy/drama & I loved the ending.
Oh I forgot the music score is fantastic and I'm Looking for it right now.
½ November 26, 2012
Of all of the intertwining stories modern movies try to tell, few have their bases together like 'Lawless Heart.' Every line and every person matters. It's all very small but quite affecting.
Super Reviewer
September 18, 2011
After a man's funeral, three stories featuring friends and relatives of the deceased are interwoven.
I really enjoyed this film's concept. When the first story ends and the film focuses on another character, the film becomes a kind of mystery as we try to figure out what all the incidental details of the story mean. It's creative and original without being flashy like a bad Tarantino imitation.
Strong, understated performances by the three leading men, Douglas Henshall, Tom Hollander, and the incomparable Bill Nighy, and Josephine Butler are helped by intelligent dialogue.
However, I did think that each story ended too soon, which originally added to the film's suspense, and when I still wanted more answers by the end of the film, I felt like I had been cheated. What happens with Dan's marriage? What is Nick's response to Tim's final question? I think the film was trying to be subtle, but this element didn't play.
Overall, Lawless Heart -- I have no idea why that title fits -- is a creatively constructed film and worth the time.
March 31, 2011
good rainy nite flick
Super Reviewer
May 30, 2010
Okay. What more is there to say.
March 10, 2010
had potential in terms of how the storyline was developed but the writing went south quickly and the movie was extremely slow. Overall just "blah."
October 5, 2009
perhana tamahan oli hyva. joskus elokuussa nakojaan olin digiboxille tallentanut. mainio draama jossa kerrotaan kolmen ihmisen tarina heihin erillalailla vaikuttaneiden hautajaisten jalkeen. Englantilaista laatu tyota. suosittelen kaikille
½ September 27, 2009
Subtle in its use of cause and effect, Lawless Heart is a light-hearted study of relationships and regret, of last chances and lessons in love.
½ September 13, 2009
Somehow too complicated for my taste.
June 17, 2009
Three stories told - very nicely intertwined.
May 1, 2009
Good acting,great cast BUT it was like This Years Love but boring. A big thumbs down from me.
April 30, 2009
The film cleverly interlinks several personal stories following a funeral and it can be a joy to watch this jigsaw piece come together. However the stories themselves are shallow and ultimately unsatisfying as none ever reach a conclusion.
April 30, 2009
wow umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a pretty kewl movie 2 watch...its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie..i think that bill nighy, david coffey, dominic hall, josephine butler, ellie haddington, douglas henshall, neil hollander, sturat laing, sukie smith play good roles/parts throughout this movie...i think that the director of this drama movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie its a great movie 2 watch with a good cast throguhout this movie
January 26, 2009
Interesting to watch, but it didn't stay with me. There's a point where twentysomething angst gets a little old. My favorite segment was the relationship between the grieving lover and Charlie. I'll agree with others that the title is terrible. It's a much better movie than appearances suggest.
January 10, 2009
This movie is so small in its gestures that you need to watch it completely through to understand what it means to you. I can easily believe that each viewer will come away with a different impression.
Purposely understated, the fine acting of the ensemble cast allows a simple story to resonate with the complex emotions of love, love lost, and love buried by the weight of time.
This is a movie about real romance, the kind that lasts a lifetime.
½ October 5, 2008
A terrible title and a dvd cover that misrepresents the film - it's a sad look inside cheating vs. love in an English village. I noticed 2 thumbs up on the cover so I took a chance for $3. and I wasn't disappointed. All the actors are very good with some insight into homosexual relationships, extra-marital affairs and casual hookups. The message delivered is that love wins out regardless of the amount of hurt and forgiveness being dished out. The deeper feelings and connections survive the human trauma and drama. A bit of a plodding pace accentuated by the downbeat strings soundtrack. Misses on using a repeating story arc three times, from different perspectives.
May 18, 2008
Everything's "technically" sound, but there's no chemistry between the actors. Individually each is great, but they just don't connect with one another. A real pity, because it has great potentials.
March 28, 2008
This is the one of my all time favourite films !! Stunning - you must see it !!
Page 1 of 2