The Lazarus Project - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Lazarus Project Reviews

Page 1 of 22
½ February 29, 2016
Its good maybe 2/3rd of the way thru but the last act kind of messed up its momentum and the ending was so sappy that it just completely fucks up the tone of the entire film.
½ January 23, 2016
Interesting in a twisted kind of way. Keeps you wondering and wanting to know more and to understand.
January 19, 2016
It was actually a really good film with Paul walker i didn't see the ending coming!!!
January 15, 2016
are you kidding me?!? ok this movie actually pissed me off, its one thing for all genres like horror movies to be all the same (mostly) but to completely copy a book (which then later became a movie) is just ridiculous I guess its not as bad since Shutter Island wasnt made into a movie until 2010 yet the book came out 5 years before this movie but so many things are the same in this movie, minus the good acting, good directing and the suspense. Not to mention I was so bored I almost turned it off
July 31, 2015
This was released under the radar in 2008 and no wonder if people missed it, but it's no worse than a lot of the dreck that hits the theaters and IMO it's actually pretty good sci-fi with perhaps one too many plot twists. But it effectively builds the suspense (well, the first 20 min are slow but don't give up on it).
What I especially liked is that the creepy scenes had some nuance to them, with understated acting and a potent musical score. The final resolution smacks of feel-good. But overall there is at least some level of artistry in the movie lifting it above a lowest-common-denominator creep show.
June 12, 2015
Poor script, not very good acting, and not good enough explanation of the background of the Project.
June 10, 2015
Slow movie but overall entertaining. Didn't know much about the movie so there wasn't much for me to be disappointed with.
March 29, 2015
The movie looks good and is fairly well acted (makes one miss Paul Walker), in addition the blend of mystery and creepiness is impeccable. The one mark against is the slight "made for TV feel" which permeates.
February 19, 2015
This was a movie so awful that, by the time it was finished, I had no idea how to review it because there's almost nothing that could describe a movie so tragically terrible. Right from the start, the movie left a distinctly foul taste in my mouth with its cheap-looking production values. I wouldn't be surprised if this was made for a direct-to-DVD release, and that kind of movie is usually so bad it shouldn't even be on TV, but somehow, there's a TV channel out there with a poor taste in films. The story tries to be like one of those complex thrillers that engages the mind, but fails in every area because the movie is so boring that it makes the plot extremely hard to follow. As an added insult, performances are all hackneyed and terrible, and there's not even so much as a glimmer of enthusiasm or talent. This is the kind of movie that, as soon as you look at it, you know you're in for a bad experience, and once you've seen it, all you can do is warn other people of how terrible it is. My only advice is this - stay away from this horrible movie!
January 18, 2015
At a slow pace but well paced, great acting, great story, and a well crafted plot with plenty of twists and turns. And my overall interest was never swayed.
January 17, 2015
WOW......WOW.....WOW.....SO SO SO SO SO BAD......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH.......WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS IT IS THAT BAD.....JUST DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IT IS SO AWFUL.......ITS GOT A GOOD SOUNDTRACK THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.....BUT MAN THIS MOVIE IS SO SO SO AWFUL 2 WATCH....
January 5, 2015
Weak plot with a number of areas beyond believability. Not great
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
A rather good drama thriller in a mysterious story. Paul Walker have the main role playing a former criminal ending up with a new chance / life where there is some strange things going on.. Some twists along the way aswell and i like these type of movies alot so i can warmly recommend it.
½ October 19, 2014
The Lazarus Project est un thriller sans prétention réalisé par le rookie John Glenn, qui se sort plutôt bien d'une intrigue un peu tarabiscotée mais passionnante grâce à une mise en scène plutôt habile, entre visions du protagoniste principal joué par l'excellent Paul Walker (jamais meilleur que lorsqu'il joue un personnage torturé) et séquences inquiétantes dans un asile de fous. Le supporting cast est très bon, que ce soit Bob Gunton, Malcolm Goodwin ou Shawn Hatosy. Rien d'inoubliable ni de génial, mais The Lazarus Project passe agréablement le temps.
½ September 29, 2014
An alright thriller with a decent cast but an ultimately predictable turn out.
½ July 20, 2014
Really suspenseful flick that keeps you guessing. Loved the erie music too.
January 29, 2014
With parole almost behind him, Ben (Paul Walker) can't believe how much he has to be thankful for: a beautiful wife, an adorable little girl and a steady paycheck. Life is good. But when he unexpectedly loses his job, Ben foolishly turns back to crime, joining his ex-con brother (Shawn Hatosy) in a robbery with deadly consequences.

Suddenly facing a lethal injection, Ben must say goodbye to his family and prepare himself for the worst. But when he regains consciousness near an eerie psychiatric ward, believing himself to be the new grounds keeper, Ben is haunted by images of his old life and questions if his death sentence was really what it seems...

With the state of his soul in question, and the love for his wife Lisa (Piper Perabo) and daughter Katie all the more real and powerful, Ben must figure out if he's truly cheated death, or if he's become part of something far more
sinister.

also stars Lambert Wilson, Linda Cardellini, Malcolm Goodwin, Brooklyn Proulx, Tony Curran and Bob Gunton.

directed by John Glenn.
½ January 14, 2014
Not impressed with this at all. A good idea that was just too boring for words.
January 8, 2014
A underated film that had a great plot!
December 7, 2013
After seeing Paul Walker died last Sunday i thought i would find a film to watch with him in on the same day. I came across the lazarus project on netflix knowing nothing about it. Paul walker plays a ex con who is making a living in a brewery and hoping for promotion. His world soon comes crashing down when he loses his job and reverts back to cracking safes. When caught and sentenced to death he finds himself becoming a caretaker at a mental home thinking he is dreaming or in another mans body. After a hour of the film things take a strange turn and leaves you a bit confused but then all becomes apparent further down the line and is an enjoyable film which people will enjoy
Page 1 of 22