The Concert (Le concert) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Concert (Le concert) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 13, 2010
Milhaileanu has attempted%u2014and, I think, fairly successfully%u2014to turn Tchaikovsky into something slicker, more lustrous, and scintillating than his music is or ought to be experienced as.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 6, 2010
The Concert was so unfunny, I had to consult IMDB.com to make sure that it was indeed listed as a comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 5, 2010
Enjoy laughing uproariously at cartoonish Russian stereotypes?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 18, 2010
Like an overanxious cymbal player, crashing out of control throughout the symphony, there's so much peripheral noise that we can barely hear the music of the piece. But please ... don't play it again, Samski.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
July 20, 2010
If you played classical music to your unborn child in the hopes of spawning a genius, this one's for you.
October 1, 2010
I was annoyed by the thickness with which it layers on the schmaltz and the obviousness with which it tells its jokes.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
October 8, 2010
Benefits from clever editing and a credible cinematic representation of the ineffable power of music to ignite the human spirit. Sadly, the magic is way too long in the making.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 15, 2010
What a hopeless stinker we've got here. Unfunny, crushingly stupid, borderline racist -- and yet I still didn't go for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 30, 2010
An art-house trap, the cinematic equivalent of one of those salads that turns out to have more calories than a Big Mac.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 25, 2010
French farce doesn't come more sentimentally skewed than in co-writer/director Radu Mihaileanu's musically bound European dramedy.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 30, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 29, 2010
As the film's fairy-tale story is stretched beyond its means, disbelief - at first suspended with pleasure - is restored in increments, and mild resentment sets in.
July 15, 2010
In which we learn, once more, that you can take utter tosh, douse it in classical music and -- voilà! -- you've got classy tosh masquerading as something meaningful.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 30, 2010
The film slavishly trades on ethnic stereotypes from the mild, Russians stewed in vodka, to the wince-producing, the ever-resourceful merry band of Gypsies.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 30, 2010
A messy, comedic sprawl that leaks at the seams.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 7, 2010
The story regurgitates the usual trappings of underdog tales, milking stereotypes as well as tear ducts.
July 15, 2010
It's overlong, often gratingly cacophonous, and sentimentally hacks Tchaikovsky about as if slicing onions under your nose.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 27, 2010
Beyond fans of Mélanie Laurent, The Concert may appeal to those who delight in stereotypes.
July 19, 2010
Director Radu Mihaileanu exploits this heavy-duty historical context to try and wrench some pathos out of his otherwise predictable triumph-over-adversity tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 5, 2010
[The final sequence] very nearly redeems the movie's previous mishandling of characters and missteps in tone.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 4