Leave No Trace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Leave No Trace Reviews

Page 1 of 10
August 24, 2018
Beautifully written and powerfully performed by the two leads, Debra Granik's Leave No Trace is a subtle moving story with complexity and heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 26, 2018
Leave No Trace, in the biggest of ironies, leaves the greatest of traces upon us.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 23, 2018
I was completely immersed in Leave No Trace. The pacing is perfect and while I tend to believe that 2 hours is too long for most films, this one never dragged.
August 22, 2018
With genuine performances and artistically skilled direction and cinematography, we are brought into their world, experiencing their every thought and emotion and ultimately leaving us breathless and awestruck.
August 22, 2018
It is a testament to Granik's storytelling prowess that she sees no need to ratchet up the tension when the going gets tough for Will and Tom, and the film is stronger because of it.
August 30, 2018
My favorite movie of the summer is the quiet masterpiece Leave No Trace, directed by Debra Granik.
June 28, 2018
[Thomasin McKenzie's] acting, like Foster's, is flawless, and their father-daughter rapport rings true from the film's first moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 1, 2018
Ben Foster and Thomasin McKenzie are sublimely cast, creating nuanced and indelible characters that will leave you in suspense about how they can come to terms with the world without breaking each other's hearts.
April 10, 2018
A profound story about love, family, loyalty, understanding, and compassion.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
July 6, 2018
Shot on location in the Pacific Northwest ... Leave No Trace contrasts, in gorgeously evocative visuals, the green lushness of nature with the withered barrens of Will's soul.
August 16, 2018
There are few, if any, villains in Leave No Trace. There are no definitive bad or good guys -- just real people with real-world problems trying really hard to stay out of trouble and stay alive.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 2, 2018
Foster and McKenzie spark the same chemistry through their combined acting talents, an achievement made more remarkable given how little dialogue there is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 3, 2018
A quiet movie filled with heart and hope. Will Debra Granik make us wait another eight years for her next narrative film? I certainly hope not.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
September 10, 2018
This is a real, beautiful, quiet movie.
July 10, 2018
In a year full of films that explore the precious nature of father-daughter dynamics, Granik's feature is a standout.
July 2, 2018
Debra Granik's third narrative feature, Leave No Trace, is a emotionally powerful film with a breakout performance from actress Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie.
July 18, 2018
This is a family drama, not a Social Studies discourse, and in that respect, it succeeds with quiet grace.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 22, 2018
The film captures the universal dynamic between teens and their parents, but the stakes are unfamiliar. Yet, Foster and McKenzie present a level of humanity that is timelessly authentic.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 11, 2018
With top-tier performances by Ben Foster and newcomer Thomasin McKenzie, director Debra Granik has captured an authentic dynamic between two characters who find themselves at an impasse.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 20, 2018
Its tender portrait of the relationship between father and daughter defamiliarises our fixed, often one-way understandings of care.
Page 1 of 10