Left Behind - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Left Behind Reviews

Page 1 of 4
October 2, 2014
A Great Cast Delivers High Drama in This Action-Thriler
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 28, 2018
Left Behind is essentially a bad disaster movie, but I swear to God I've seen worse movies this year, and worse Nicolas Cage movies at that. I can't in good faith tell you to see it, but I'd be lying if I told you I didn't enjoy it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 13, 2017
The basic premise of the film could have made for an engaging and far-out watch. The very concept of the Rapture could have been depicted with power and mystery, but instead the opposite is achieved in a film that just looks slapdash.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 20, 2017
Overt Christian messages and Cage's omnipresence are not the only reasons why Left Behind is a terrible movie. And yes, it's indeed terrible-god-awful, a less interesting, more convoluted version of the original Left Behind.
August 10, 2017
This new film is a watered-down and somewhat changed version of the earlier movie with a bigger budget and not much else. There is barely enough undercooked scriptural theology to critique in the vacuous writing and painful acting.
September 20, 2016
There's no drama. No suspense. No real stakes, even, because most of the movie takes place after the Rapture already happened.
May 30, 2016
The effects are hilarious, the sets are rinky-dink, and the character names are funnier than a full season of 'Big Bang Theory,' and the "narrative arc" of our heroine is laughably predictable.
May 12, 2015
The only prayers Left Behind inspires are for Nicolas Cage's career.
March 26, 2015
Ostensibly an exploration of biblical themes, Left Behind avoids any theological debate to revel unsuccessfully in the mass-hysteria created by God's Rapture.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 13, 2015
I never thought I'd write this, but Kirk Cameron's Left Behind, flawed as it is, looks and sounds better in almost every single way.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
November 9, 2014
Outlandishly inept in every way, 'Left Behind' is easily one of the worst movies of 2014.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
October 31, 2014
My goodness, what on earth is Nicolas Cage doing in this movie?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 25, 2014
A very circumscribed, boring thriller that director Vic Armstrong hobbles with a very quiet, non-urgent tone throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
October 20, 2014
The first movie made from this material was all about the Anti-Christ taking over the UN. This one's about landing a plane.
October 17, 2014
I am now relatively certain there is a Hell and it is a darkened theater with no doors showing Left Behind on a loop for eternity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
October 9, 2014
Faith-driven audiences deserve better...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
October 9, 2014
The movie unravels in its own destruction. Every effort to milk the tragedy of the apocalypse is met with terrible music, acting and effects that soak (and drown) the pathos in camp fare.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/10
October 9, 2014
Unfortunately, even after the rapture starts, Left Behind never picks up steam.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
October 8, 2014
...may be one of the most inept films to ever see a wide theatrical release.
October 5, 2014
"Left Behind" is being marketed as Christian entertainment, but it does not qualify in either category.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Page 1 of 4