Left Behind - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Left Behind Reviews

Page 1 of 4
September 20, 2017
Overt Christian messages and Cage's omnipresence are not the only reasons why Left Behind is a terrible movie. And yes, it's indeed terrible-god-awful, a less interesting, more convoluted version of the original Left Behind.
August 10, 2017
This new film is a watered-down and somewhat changed version of the earlier movie with a bigger budget and not much else. There is barely enough undercooked scriptural theology to critique in the vacuous writing and painful acting.
August 28, 2018
Left Behind is essentially a bad disaster movie, but I swear to God I've seen worse movies this year, and worse Nicolas Cage movies at that. I can't in good faith tell you to see it, but I'd be lying if I told you I didn't enjoy it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 13, 2017
The basic premise of the film could have made for an engaging and far-out watch. The very concept of the Rapture could have been depicted with power and mystery, but instead the opposite is achieved in a film that just looks slapdash.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 13, 2015
I never thought I'd write this, but Kirk Cameron's Left Behind, flawed as it is, looks and sounds better in almost every single way.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
September 20, 2016
There's no drama. No suspense. No real stakes, even, because most of the movie takes place after the Rapture already happened.
March 26, 2015
Ostensibly an exploration of biblical themes, Left Behind avoids any theological debate to revel unsuccessfully in the mass-hysteria created by God's Rapture.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 2, 2014
Left Behind seriously could have used some divine intervention.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 2, 2014
At best, Left Behind is shoddily made sensationalist propaganda-with atrocious acting-that barely registers as entertainment. At worst, it's profoundly moronic.
Full Review | Original Score: F
October 9, 2014
Unfortunately, even after the rapture starts, Left Behind never picks up steam.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
October 3, 2014
Left Behind is one of those films so deeply, fundamentally terrible that it feels unwittingly high-concept.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
October 3, 2014
It's bad alright, but not so bad it's good. It's just so bad it's bad. And that's too bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
October 3, 2014
Left Behind is a generic plane crash into oblivion with Nicolas Cage at the wheel that attempts to shove its heartwarming ideals down your throat.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
October 9, 2014
The movie unravels in its own destruction. Every effort to milk the tragedy of the apocalypse is met with terrible music, acting and effects that soak (and drown) the pathos in camp fare.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/10
Top Critic
October 2, 2014
This Left Behind may be worse than the last Left Behind, but it's much less boring, thanks in part to the commitment of its star, who plays the often ludicrous material with the straightest of faces. The Cage works in mysterious ways.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
October 17, 2014
I am now relatively certain there is a Hell and it is a darkened theater with no doors showing Left Behind on a loop for eternity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
October 2, 2014
Not very good, but not the utter embarrassment some seem to have expected.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 3, 2014
Not only is this an amateurish travesty combining fundamentalist Christian eschatology with disaster movie b.s., but it's plodding and tedious.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
October 5, 2014
"Left Behind" is being marketed as Christian entertainment, but it does not qualify in either category.
Full Review | Original Score: D
October 20, 2014
The first movie made from this material was all about the Anti-Christ taking over the UN. This one's about landing a plane.
Page 1 of 4