Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return Reviews

Page 1 of 23
½ January 17, 2016
Underneath this isn't actually a bad movie. Unfortunately, it is totally wrecked by lacklustre songs, exceptionally poor animation that seems to lack any kind of depth, and a cast fighting with a script that could have done with one more rewrite, which is even more annoying as the actual design is pretty good as is most of the underlying story.
December 17, 2015
My son loves this movie! Very colorful with great animation! He tries to sing along with all the songs. It keeps him entertained! Great buy!!!!!
November 27, 2015
There's trouble in Oz.

Dorothy wakes up in her house fresh off the legendary tale from the Wizard of Oz. Her house has been destroyed and some realeastate developers quickly move in to force her family out of the area. Dorothy stands by her family until she is contacted by Oz and asked to return and save them. Dorothy may need to save her world and Oz.

"No good can come from the reign of a fool."

Will Finn (Home on the Range) and Daniel St. Pierre (Everyone's Hero) collaborate to deliver Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return. The storyline for this picture is just okay and only so interesting; however, the portrayal of some of the legendary characters was fun and the animation style was very well done. The voices fit the characters well.

"They were real people..."

I was excited to see this with my daughter when the trailers first aired when it was in theatres; however, we just recently got around to watching it off Netflix. It was very average and a bit disappointing. It reminded me of Hoodwinked in a way (from a quality and feel standpoint). This is worth watching once with your child but may not be worth adding to your DVD collection.

"There will always be a rainbow when you need one."

Grade: C+
November 22, 2015
This is some of the most garish animation I've ever seen, and the more than qualified cast deserves so much better. The movie gets creepier the more you think about it. The bland Bryan Adams songs don't help either.
October 7, 2015
I think it's totally fair to compare this movie with the 1939 classic, since it's almost a direct sequel in every way, picking up not long after Dorothy left Oz the first time. In that light, this is a noisy and convoluted excuse for a child's fantasy-adventure. Dorothy is considered a hero, but does NOTHING heroic! It's a pure bastardization of a classic story that reads like the worst Shrek movie ever.
½ August 12, 2015
A well intentioned yet frustratingly bland unofficial sequel to the legendary classic. Legend of Oz is a dully animated and sometimes creepy animation that feels like a missed opportunity.
½ August 7, 2015
This is supposably based after the sequel of The Wizard of Oz, but it seems more like a cash grab. The story in this movie is so rushed and has so much plot holes and so much things that don't make sense, like they needed to keep the story going so Dorothy can get home by the 1 hr 20 min mark. The writing is horrifyingly bad, with stupid jokes that are just not funny and like I said, plot holes and conveniences that pop out of nowhere. The animation looks like it should have belong in a tv series or a straight to DVD movie, which makes sense because the makers of this film also make the Tinker Bell movies. However it looks nice and seems to belong in the world of Oz, but you barely see any of it. The characters have the personalities of cardboard cutouts, especially the returning characters, and the new characters have little to no personality as well. Somehow they messed up the classic songs of the original Wizard of Oz by giving it an unneeded pop song feel, and the original songs are so predictable you can pretty much label them with a "Hello, my name is" tag, like the "Hello, my name is the romance song" or "Hello, my name is the candy song." If you are looking for a good Wizard of Oz sequel, watch Return To Oz, which has charming characters, great effects, and a dark undertone that works because the characters are so relatable and nice that you want them to get through the dark and scary stuff. This movie is nothing like that however.
½ July 31, 2015
With the world of Oz existing in public domain its easy for anyone to make crap set in the wonderful land of Oz. This attempted follow up to the Wizard of Oz is creatively bankrupt, boring, and lacking all the magic better Oz movies have had. Its a cash in on nostalgia for the classic movie and novels and isn't worth your time
July 31, 2015
Xyjkkklnxxxx uk,oh umiak lkl
L
Ll







K
June 27, 2015
It looks dumb and I already know I will hate this movie. Is it a musical? I really don't want to know. This movie will suck. I will try and avoid it at all costs!
June 12, 2015
While this may be enjoyable for really young children, there certainly isn't much for to keep adults interested as well. Despite having a respectable voice cast, this movie just did not work for me.
June 9, 2015
Why would you even want to watch this it's ridiculous is completely ruins the Wizard of Oz just an overall bad predation of the Wizard of Oz in an animated version
May 19, 2015
Despite being back in the magical land of Oz, Dorothy's Return still leaves one feeling homesick. The animation is colorful, but the songs are forgettable, and the dialogue falls flat like yellow bricks.
½ May 18, 2015
OK FOR KIDS AND FAMILY TO WATCH TOGETHER
April 30, 2015
Like most sequels, this one was just a rehash of its predecessor. Not only that, but the animation was straight-to-DVD quality, the editing was awful, and the movie fails to suck you in.
April 23, 2015
Clarius Entertainment's first plunge into feature animation is a breath of fresh air to the current state of animated family films. Nowadays, family animated films seem to be ashamed of being categorized as "kids movies," and artificially compensate this shame by disguising itself in layers of pointless adult humor and pop cultural gags. "Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return" is pure, wholesome entertainment in its simplest form, a film aimed for kids (and kids at heart,) and is proud to serve this specific demographic. Nowhere in this film will you find pointless innuendos, rude sarcasm, and excessive violence. It tells a simple story for the sake of telling a story; while the end product does not tread any new ground, I enjoyed the ride tremendously and feel incredibly disheartened when it mis-performed at the North American box office last year. "Legends" misfire is a real shame, as the animation industry needs more films focused on story and charm, not these loud speedballs full of bells and whistles (*cough* *cough* Cars 2, Madagascar, Big Hero 6 *cough*.)

The charm and satisfying nature about "Legends of Oz" hinges on three factors: 1) the characters 2) the tone and 3) the music. First, the characters were magical extensions of their 1939 MGM counterparts; Wizard of Oz is the type of story so well-suited for animation, I find it puzzling that studios haven't ventured into L. Frank Baum's world more often. Scarecrow, (who is now a genius with a straw head full of Einsteinium equations) is my favorite, and is appropriately voiced by Dan Ackroyd. I especially have respect for the character designs and voice-work of Tin Man (who falls to pieces and is at times emotional,) Lion (now fearless,) and Glenda (big-headed, wasp-waisted, and has a "wicked" sense of humor to rival her former sisters.) I found Dorothy to be an extremely sympathetic, girl-next-door-type, and filmmakers' decision to cast the melodious "Glee" star Lea Michelle was the best bit of voice casting for an animated film this of 2014. Dorothy never falls back into submission to men like so many Disney Princesses before her; the finale of "Legends of Oz" finds our plucky heroine as the strongest individual to confront the evil Jester. She does it alone. Speaking of the Jester, Martin Short seemed born to play this part. He was able to be villainous without conforming to a "Wicked Witch"-brand of evil; he still has time to juggle balls and ride a unicycle on top of everything else he does.
The film's tone, as mentioned before, is the second factor contributing to "Legends" enjoyability. It refreshingly tells a story right without overly resorting to sarcasm and wisecracks. Its humor is comparatively simple, compared to those recent Pixar-Disney offering, which shout from the rooftops their cleverness and talk viewers to death with a million words per minute. While "Legends of Oz" does get chatty at times, (especially scenes where Wiser the Owl is present,) most of the dialogue is purposefully directed and is delivered with simplicity and concise articulation to appeal to its young 21st Century audience.

The last outstanding aspect about this film is its soundtrack. And that's saying quite a bit, as this film was released mere months after the new benchmark in animated musicals, "Frozen," was unleashed onto the world. While "Legends" does not soar to the lofty heights of "Frozen," the songs (many which were composed by Bryan Adams,) are quite good. Just the fact that this is a musical is commendable in itself, as the current animation industry is still characterized by a plethora of non-musical buddy comedies. "When the World" is the highlight, and is every bit as catchy and memorable as "Frozen's" "Let it Go." The song is sung during Dorothy's depressed attempt to pick up the pieces to her broken life; yet, the there is also a sense of hopefulness to this song. The duet "Even Now," between Hugh Dancy's Marshall Mallow and Megan Hilty's China Princess, was surprisingly touching, considering the fact that the song was, basically, a giant marshmallow serenading a broken piece of porcelain. I would buy this soundtrack if I could find it.

Now on downside, the film does show some cracks, (like China doll after her accident,) particularly the usual rookie first-time effort mistakes like pacing, transitions from scene to scene, and most noticeably, the ending. Ohhh, that ending... After Dorothy defeats the Jester, Glenda is freed and what she says is basically this: "Good job, Dorothy, now get out and go back home." This was incredibly rushed, and longed to see more time dedicated to showing Oz return to its former glory. Also, I did not buy into the evil investor guy paralleling the Jester in modern day Kansas. I almost wanted to see this character left out entirely, just to see Dorothy and her neighbors work together for a common purpose; this would make the song "Work With Me" all the more important and the pinnacle to the film's theme.

While "The Lego Movie" was the most visually appealing and funniest animated of 2014, "How to Train Your Dragon 2" was the most dramatic and blockbuster-y of 2014, I will always remember "Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return" as the most pleasant and, overall, enjoyable animated film of that year.
March 28, 2015
Why do we even need this!?
½ March 20, 2015
One of the worst films I've ever seen. The animation is uneven and isn't as competent as other cheaper animated movies, the musical numbers are unnecessary, the script and slapstick are awful, the 'emotional' scenes are compromised, and the film ignores rules of its predecessor as well as adding rules from Narnia and the like. L. Frank Baum is rolling in his grave, and as a moviegoer who has had The Wizard of Oz stick with me since childhood, Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return is a massive gut punch. You owe it to yourself to avoid this. Verdict: F
March 10, 2015
I wanted it to be good....it was just bad
March 8, 2015
Loved it. Cute characters, unique designs, and references galore for those fans of the Oz books. Funny, too! Not bad for a new face in the animated movie scene. The shadow of MGM still looms over the Oz scene.
I do wish that Lion, Scarecrow and Nick had more screen time, and the ending was rather anticlimactic but it was still good.
Give it a chance, and don't let the AstroTurf fool you ;)
Page 1 of 23