Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return Reviews

Page 1 of 23
June 25, 2017
This is a really fun movie for all ages! It picks up where the Wizard of Oz left off. The music is beautiful and has a great plot.
½ June 23, 2017
This is a HORRIBLE movie
May 26, 2017
As a sequel to the 1939 Wizard Of Oz, Legends Of Oz: Dorothy's Return destroys everything that made the original classic so good!
½ May 21, 2017
While Lea Michele's voice is wonderful as always, the animation is lacking and the plot and the rest of the cast serve as a cheap grab at a few extra bucks while absolutely desecrating a classic fairy tale. My five year-old is lucky I love her and this makes me question how much I do, because I've had to sit through this film countless times, and even the first time was torture.
April 29, 2017
I love the modern spin on the story and the stile darkness.
April 29, 2017
I knew this was gonna be bad before it released. I just felt it. I was half right. Bad with critics, good with audiences
December 2, 2016
Haha I knew this movie would be bad and forgotten haha.
½ January 17, 2016
Underneath this isn't actually a bad movie. Unfortunately, it is totally wrecked by lacklustre songs, exceptionally poor animation that seems to lack any kind of depth, and a cast fighting with a script that could have done with one more rewrite, which is even more annoying as the actual design is pretty good as is most of the underlying story.
December 17, 2015
My son loves this movie! Very colorful with great animation! He tries to sing along with all the songs. It keeps him entertained! Great buy!!!!!
November 27, 2015
There's trouble in Oz.

Dorothy wakes up in her house fresh off the legendary tale from the Wizard of Oz. Her house has been destroyed and some realeastate developers quickly move in to force her family out of the area. Dorothy stands by her family until she is contacted by Oz and asked to return and save them. Dorothy may need to save her world and Oz.

"No good can come from the reign of a fool."

Will Finn (Home on the Range) and Daniel St. Pierre (Everyone's Hero) collaborate to deliver Legends of Oz: Dorothy's Return. The storyline for this picture is just okay and only so interesting; however, the portrayal of some of the legendary characters was fun and the animation style was very well done. The voices fit the characters well.

"They were real people..."

I was excited to see this with my daughter when the trailers first aired when it was in theatres; however, we just recently got around to watching it off Netflix. It was very average and a bit disappointing. It reminded me of Hoodwinked in a way (from a quality and feel standpoint). This is worth watching once with your child but may not be worth adding to your DVD collection.

"There will always be a rainbow when you need one."

Grade: C+
November 22, 2015
This is some of the most garish animation I've ever seen, and the more than qualified cast deserves so much better. The movie gets creepier the more you think about it. The bland Bryan Adams songs don't help either.
October 7, 2015
I think it's totally fair to compare this movie with the 1939 classic, since it's almost a direct sequel in every way, picking up not long after Dorothy left Oz the first time. In that light, this is a noisy and convoluted excuse for a child's fantasy-adventure. Dorothy is considered a hero, but does NOTHING heroic! It's a pure bastardization of a classic story that reads like the worst Shrek movie ever.
½ August 12, 2015
A well intentioned yet frustratingly bland unofficial sequel to the legendary classic. Legend of Oz is a dully animated and sometimes creepy animation that feels like a missed opportunity.
½ August 7, 2015
This is supposably based after the sequel of The Wizard of Oz, but it seems more like a cash grab. The story in this movie is so rushed and has so much plot holes and so much things that don't make sense, like they needed to keep the story going so Dorothy can get home by the 1 hr 20 min mark. The writing is horrifyingly bad, with stupid jokes that are just not funny and like I said, plot holes and conveniences that pop out of nowhere. The animation looks like it should have belong in a tv series or a straight to DVD movie, which makes sense because the makers of this film also make the Tinker Bell movies. However it looks nice and seems to belong in the world of Oz, but you barely see any of it. The characters have the personalities of cardboard cutouts, especially the returning characters, and the new characters have little to no personality as well. Somehow they messed up the classic songs of the original Wizard of Oz by giving it an unneeded pop song feel, and the original songs are so predictable you can pretty much label them with a "Hello, my name is" tag, like the "Hello, my name is the romance song" or "Hello, my name is the candy song." If you are looking for a good Wizard of Oz sequel, watch Return To Oz, which has charming characters, great effects, and a dark undertone that works because the characters are so relatable and nice that you want them to get through the dark and scary stuff. This movie is nothing like that however.
½ July 31, 2015
With the world of Oz existing in public domain its easy for anyone to make crap set in the wonderful land of Oz. This attempted follow up to the Wizard of Oz is creatively bankrupt, boring, and lacking all the magic better Oz movies have had. Its a cash in on nostalgia for the classic movie and novels and isn't worth your time
July 31, 2015
Xyjkkklnxxxx uk,oh umiak lkl
L
Ll







K
June 27, 2015
It looks dumb and I already know I will hate this movie. Is it a musical? I really don't want to know. This movie will suck. I will try and avoid it at all costs!
June 12, 2015
While this may be enjoyable for really young children, there certainly isn't much for to keep adults interested as well. Despite having a respectable voice cast, this movie just did not work for me.
June 9, 2015
Why would you even want to watch this it's ridiculous is completely ruins the Wizard of Oz just an overall bad predation of the Wizard of Oz in an animated version
May 19, 2015
Despite being back in the magical land of Oz, Dorothy's Return still leaves one feeling homesick. The animation is colorful, but the songs are forgettable, and the dialogue falls flat like yellow bricks.
Page 1 of 23