Lemming - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lemming Reviews

Page 1 of 11
May 22, 2015
Alternates between being interesting and oddly dull. This experiment in metaphor and surrealism never really works.
½ May 1, 2013
I don't speak French, yet I feel this film would make more sense without subtitles... It's interesting and has a creeping tension that's never over the top but it's stuck in the all-too-familiar realm of mixing reality with illusion to a frustrating and headache inducing extent. it simply isn't necessary to be this oblique- there's time spent creating an unease within normality and when it all stops being normal the unease becomes confusion and then disinterest.

The performances are strong- I'm personally a big fan of Gainsbourg and she gives a typically good performance here. It doesn't change the fact that this is a slow frenzy of a film though- a strange beast that spends most of its time lying down instead of roaring around. It's fun to observe for a while but as it goes on the spectacle lessens.

There's still much to see here- it's constantly intriguing and most scenes would work very well as stand-alone devices but the experience overall is no where near as smart. If ever there was a film a film that wasn't the sum of its parts, its this one.
February 17, 2013
Splendid work by all four leads plus a squeaking role for the lemming.
Super Reviewer
January 6, 2013
A French thriller, starring one of my favorite actresses, Charlotte Gainsbourg, as Bendicte, the wife of Alain (Laurent Lucas), who has moved to a new town for his job. He is befriended by his boss, Richard (Andre Dussollier) along with Richard's wife, Alice (Charlotte Rampling). The friendship quickly becomes a nightmare scenario because of the mental instability of Alice. I had trouble connecting to this, as it tended to rely on what appears to be the supernatural for its logical structure. A lot of strange things happen that seem to have no relation to each other, except in the most superficial way and I just felt like the attempt to bring them all together lacked finesse. The tension depends on trying to figure out whether the events were actually happening as Alain experienced them, or were the product of a psychotic break or a lingering effect from an traffic accident he winds up having. All in all, more than a tad unsatisfying. I'm still not sure what the lemming was supposed to signify. Alain finds one in their kitchen sink drain early on and it shows up in several scenes after that, but it seemed not to serve any purpose other than to lend its name to the film!
½ December 15, 2012
The first half of this film is an absolute joy. As the underlying tension builds and the plot establishes itself I was gripped as I had no idea what was coming next.

Once it gets a bit weirder it somehow loses that initial momentum but it is still an extremely satisfying film which comes across like a dialled down version of David Lynch circa Lost Highway.
November 10, 2012
An entertaining thriller which an be looked upon with a dark sense of humour too !
October 6, 2012
What a strange film. I stay up until 3:30am to watch it on TV, because both Charlottes are fascinating to watch. But I must say I should have gone to bed. The film is exhausting and it takes you no where. The first dinner scene caught my attention and then the rest is lost.
½ September 8, 2012
A supernatural tale of possession or a surreal nightmarish psychological thriller??
The fascinating part is you can put it into either category as there's no definite answer at the end. With the usual flavor of a dark French thriller, director Dominik Moll's earlier hit WITH A FRIEND LIKE HARRY was more of a homage to Hitchcock but in Lemming, there's clear Lynchian influence as the line between dream and reality gradually vanishes and what appear to be supernatural occurrences could be explained as the product of guilt or shattered trust of a seemingly normal conjugal life.
The well known few faces of modern French cinema convincingly shines in their respective roles in this beautifully plotted 2 hour long gripping thriller; surely a definite watch for lovers of twisted dark thriller.
½ September 2, 2012
another tension racked film from dominik moll.you'll need time and patience though, worth it.
September 1, 2012
It's really a good movie,one of my favorites,the dosage and acceleration of tension seemed to me almost perfect during the film and the idea of using 'lemmings' into a film such in that way is really wisely.I'm not usually satisfied with the ends of movies and so with this,but it's ok anyway.
June 6, 2012
Même si les critiques étaient littéralement atroces à propos du dernier film de Moll, je m'y lançais les yeux fermés, sans même me douter de la tournure que prendrait la dite histoire. Tandis que le scénario progressait lentement - mais sûrement - je me retrouvais vite sur le cul au tournant de l'élément déclencheur.

Moi qui m'apprêtais à me lancer dans la candeur du cinéma français, je me retrouve avec un thriller à la Lost Highway! En fait, ce serait faux d'associer automatiquement le genre à David Lynch, mais c'est le meilleur exemple possible pour exprimer ce que j'ai ressenti devant l'écoute de Lemming. Mais... Suffirait-il donc de réaliser un film où le spectateur se doit lui-même de se livrer à certaines interprétations personnelles pour que le film ne me plaise? Suis-je aussi facile à contenter?

J'espère que non, parce que c'est tout de même évident de constater que les éléments que Moll a voulu apporter concernant le lemming n'ont pas trop bien cliqués et que ça a apporté un petit peu de confusion inutile.

Pour faire court, le lemming était peut-être de trop.

Et ça tombe mal, puisque c'est le sujet du film.
½ May 20, 2012
Quite a grim and, at times, surreal marital drama with twist.
December 12, 2011
The film studies the limits of matrimonial freedom - what is allowed, and what's not - in a family. A young family of a company's promising employee gets stocked by the frivolous CEO of the company and his flirting wife. The latter kills herself in the young family's house and her spirit inhabits the wife's body just to see her husband die. Clear work by actors and the director, that is, if you only like near-horror movies with a touch of mystic madness.
½ October 31, 2011
Charlottes Rampling and Gainsbourg are both spectacularly reliable actresses, both in their talent and their role choices. âLemmingâ? is on the outside a cheap supernatural thriller that wouldnâ(TM)t deserve the honor of its leading ladies. However, there is more to the film than odd plotting and random storytelling. A chaotic horror tale of body snatching houses some interesting drama with psychological depth. The execution is also packed with vision and originality. Somewhat uneven and very campy in many ways, this oddity is still something different.
½ February 26, 2011
Intriguing piece of ambiguous French cinema, reminiscent of Lynch minus his surreal nightmarish visions. Delicious choice of music at the very end but this still lacks any real impact. However, it is always a great pleasure to watch Charlotte Gainsbourg at work.
February 23, 2011
Cautionary tale of what happens when your boss invites himself to dinner and then you find a suicidal Scandinavian mammal in your u-bend. From the man who brought you "Harry, He Is Here To Help", and starring the same worried-looking Laurent Lucas
½ February 11, 2011
Different, absorbing, funny and disturbing. Not many films can fill into those catagory. A hate or love movie.
January 19, 2011
Saw this as cinema release and then again recently on DVD and it held up very well the second time. There are some great moments, especially with Charlotte Rampling, but it does lose its way a bit at times, and is probably 10-15 minutes too long. It is a film that genuinely remains surprising throughout, with the deadpan voiceover narrative at the beginning and especially at the end counterpointing this very effectively. "And then life went on," says Laurent Lucas essentially. His poker face and stoicism amid all the chaos is darkly funny and Charlotte Gainsbourg shows great promise. (She is certainly very brave, judging by later performances, AntiChrist especially).
½ November 24, 2010
Possibly one of the strangest attempts at psychological thriller.
October 7, 2010
prepare to jump from your seat. gainsbourg is very talented
Page 1 of 11